World Duty Free Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly environment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leeds And Bradford10 January 2018
My experience within my working period with world duty free, was a different but enjoyable time. With friendly co workers, understanding management and happy passenger. The day there are actual really fun but also hard . You work quite long hours but your not stuck doing the same thing for all the hours, so you don't get bored. There is always something to do, so that your not stud around. The co workers are all a laugh and you will have fun working with them. This job gives you great experience in customer service and retail, which will help you in your future careers. If i ever got the chance i would go back working for them.
Pros
friendly co workers
Cons
Far to travel to if you live a bit away
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail assistant and replenishment
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Manchester Airport, Greater Manchester28 December 2017
Everyday was different in the airport as the replenishment team we had to stock the shelves in the beauty area. Perfumes, aftershaves, make up and creams were all to be put in place and we had to make sure the shelves were clean. Once the last flight had departed i had to cash up all the tills including the duty free outlets. After cashing up i would offer my colleagues help in the luxury area. Once everything is clean and in place and shelves were stacked up neatly i had to welcome early passengers which would be around 4am. Greeting people from across the world was the best experience. Towards the end of the shift i had to monitor the alcohol and cigarettes section and explain to passengers about the policies of taking these items abroad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a nice place to work
Replenishment assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh10 December 2017
Manager rude dictative swears.
Shouts at people on shop floor has tbem in tears.
Horrible culture ..people lie and try to get you in trouble for things you havnt done.
Very high turnover of staff due to poor management lazy csls
Backstabbing ..all the time
Unhelpful with holidays hrs etc
Takes 4 mths to approve holidays or reject
Overall morale low
Wouldnt recommend to worst enemy
Pros
Discount
Cons
Low morale backstabbing manager aweful
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liars and backstabbing
Part Time Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh Airport4 December 2017
I worked for this company for 12 weeks having given up another job. First 6 weeks not 1 problem then switched supervisors and got hauled in the office every shift for either talking to a colleague about a Work issue or not talking to colleagues and causing a atmosphere!!! She even got a pal of hers to report a blatant lie about me and got the ball rolling for me not to pass my review. Disputed it all the way but no management cared. Worked my backside off every night for nothing just so there pals could keep there jobs utter joke AVOID at all costs.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Management and clique staff/liars
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic airport retail group
Operations and Store Manager (Former Employee) –  London / Gatwick Airport13 November 2017
Highly dynamic airport customer service and retail group that is incredibly successful at maximising and utilising its assets at all locations that it functions in, very driven to provide for the customer experience and maximise its financial benefit impact.
Pros
Airport working
Cons
Senior business management ethos and conduct
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly people
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Stansted, Essex4 November 2017
its very well organised workplace. i have enjoyed my work placement there. other team members and friendly and approachable. experiencing different culture and knowing different kind of race.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
standing for too long
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One extreme to the other
Warehouseman (Former Employee) –  Birmingham / Airport29 October 2017
Can be very boring when quiet a lot of down time but then when busy can become very hard and stressful management decide to go into hiding and sit around winding people up when already stressed as it is
Pros
Getting to finish early
Cons
Shift work working weekends way to much
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok in some areas but company needs improvement
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  London / Gatwick Airport, West Sussex30 September 2017
To start off with my job as a customer service assistant wasn't too bad but I very quickly realised this company has problems…

Management staff seemed more interested in gossiping than they did actually working!

Not surprised to read the company has a high staff turnover as staff have a low chance of progression and I got the impression that staff were overworked all the time.

The majority of the staff there were definitely older then I'd anticipated they would be. Company does always seem to be recruiting staff which is a rather worrying sign!

I was recruited as a Customer Service Assistant (CSA) but actually ended up being put on the night replenishment team!

Wouldn't recommend working for this company
Pros
Airport Environment
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely colleagues, no advancement
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Folkestone25 September 2017
The people I worked with were all lovely and friendly, however there was no room to advance in the company.
Can be boring when its not busy; wondering around the shop floor and tidying up.
Pros
Entitled to amazing discounted luxury items
Cons
awkward early hours. Not enough hours. Unvaried role
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for and some brilliant people
Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Heathrow, Greater London20 September 2017
As a company driver I was required to take company employees to various locations throughout the UK, The most difficult part of the job was travelling to locations within central London and the East end particularly.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Night Operations
Night Replenishment Administration Leader (Current Employee) –  Terminal 515 August 2017
12 hour night shift shifts 3 day on 3 days off, busy fast paced environment.,
work place culture service service service, operations rarely recognized.
hardest part of the job is the 3 on 3 off nights
enjoyable part of the job, amazing night team and close support network between terminals. lead
Pros
autonomy to work with own initiative, excellent discounts
Cons
12 hour night shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World Duty Free
Retail Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Heathrow Terminals 1, 2 & 3 Station8 August 2017
I liked working there but the hardest part of the job is remembering where the products are and remembering all the promotions. Staff are really friendly.
Pros
Helpful Management
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Duty Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham27 July 2017
Spent 14 years working for this company, and progressed from working as a storeroom assistant to duty manager in that time. I found my place of work to be so interesting where no two days were the same offering regular challenges on a daily basis.
Cons
12 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham / Airport25 July 2017
Enjoyable and fast paced. The hours unfortunately can be challenging with 3am starts and if you are on a later shift you will be asked to stay until last delayed flight.
Pros
Great company benefits
Cons
Time of Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Services Assistant
Customer Services Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham / Airport13 July 2017
Great company to work for but the management team are very unprofessional. They do not appreciate there staff and the lack of communication between managers and employees is very limited. Do not get recognised for all the hard work one does. It's all about meeting company needs. There is no flexibility, and management only think about the job in hand. There is too much favouritism within the company.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Management, flexibility, salary and respect
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job will drain you
Customer Service Associate` (Former Employee) –  London / Gatwick Airport11 July 2017
While it can be fun to work here if you're in the right state of mind, the attitudes of the customers can quickly get to you. Management is helpful, and the other staff are (almost) always there for you. It's hard to explain in a review, so if you really thing airport retail could be your thing, give it a try.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great place to work
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bristol11 July 2017
world duty free is a great place to meet a new people and work in a team, I have learnt how to work in each department by having the knowledge of the products, promotions and procedures in store
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable environment to work in.
Online Merchandising Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bedfont, Greater London6 July 2017
Work environment at WDFG was enjoyable to work in with very friendly staff and challenges to meet and learn from everyday.

What I have Learnt:
• Vast experience in online retail product merchandising.
• Expertise in site usability and consumer buying behaviours and trends.
• Profound knowledge of marketing fundamentals, content creation and integration, E-Commerce, marketing promotion and campaign developments.
• Strong understanding of brand building and value.
• Excellent time-management and organisational skills.
• Proficiency with desktop applications and Windows-based programs.
Pros
Good Work Timings
Cons
Unstable website
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid, its not a good place to work.
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  London2 July 2017
When i started working here it was great. But thats mainly due to me not knowing the whole politic side of the business.

Management is absolute rubbish. They lie to prove you wrong. They judge you like little kids. Once i was a minute early clocking out ane i got a negative feedback from a leader.

They have a very high staff turnover with someone leaving almost everyday. You either have new people or very very old people.

I would highly recommend skipping this business. Its not worth it. I wouldnt call this a proper job. Its not a place to progress. There are people working here for 20+ years doing the same role as they did when they started. Its verh depressing.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 24NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management and recruitment needs to improve
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands27 June 2017
Poor management and unsociable hours. As well as this, The World Duty Free Group have a high staff turnover and there's is no job security. Pay is poor too working night shifts you get paid standard minimum wage.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Bad Managment and Poor Pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport