Wm Morrisons Supermarkets Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Ealing/Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ealing13 November 2017
Had a great experience. my main duties was the stores appearance so i did : cleaning the floors, checking fresh food nearing sell by date and reduce them.
Pros
discount on food
Cons
bad area (undesirable customers)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hinckley13 November 2017
The workplace was great, the staff and employers were great, the management was great and helped wherever they could. The pay was great and the hours were ok at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good job
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boroughbridge11 November 2017
Management sometimes out of touch, but relationships between colleagues at lower levels are always very friendly and supportive. Good money for not a lot of physical effort.
Pros
Store discounts
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good starter job
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. Andrews11 November 2017
this is a good job to gain skills that you will use throughout life such as communication and customer service a lot of jobs look for friendly approachable people and this job will set you up for these skills
Pros
discount
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging role with unsociable hours and unpleasant conditions.
Stock management (Former Employee) –  Weymouth8 November 2017
Restocking the shelves at night to ensure full stock for customers.

The management were demanding and unreasonable towards staff.

The workplace culture was lacking and staff didn't really socialise or communicate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to meet new people
Checkout Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Wakefield6 November 2017
Working at Morrison's was good for many years, just ashame they move there management about and don't look after loyal and hard working staff more. Plenty of different job opportunities available
Pros
Discount
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working there
Checkout operator (Former Employee) –  Yorkshire5 November 2017
I felt that I got on well with all the staff. Enjoyed meeting and talking to all the customers. I enjoyed the job and was sorry to leave but moved out of area
Pros
staff discount
Cons
none really liked the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work in a busy place
Cafe Assistant (Former Employee) –  Weston-super-Mare3 November 2017
the cafe was always very busy especially over the weekend, with not enough staff out front. this would lead to complaints from angry customers, about nowhere to sit as all tables were full etc
Cons
very tiring
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Delicatessen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Livingston, West Lothian2 November 2017
I am currently unemployed , I was an assisistant in the delicatessent , I also worked for the council cleaning the school , I also worked ask and escort for the disabled children to and from school
Pros
being able to work as a team and be able to work on your also
Cons
the breaks were not consistent .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One Team working
People Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Norfolk2 November 2017
A "one Team working" practise working together to achieve the end goal of keeping our customers loyal and confident in shopping with us.
My customers being the staff - therefore keeping them happy leads to a happy work place. This comes from getting their schedules in advance so that they can plan their social/private lives. Ensuring their wages are correct each month. Giving them the correct training to meet their role and the right tools to do their job.
It is great when a student progresses through to achieve the role of Team Manager and then on to running their own store.
Pros
Staff discount, subsidised canteen, pension, share save, free uniforms, full traiing
Cons
every day can be varied this can be turned into a positive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy fun enviroment to work in gained a lot of experience working in different departments
staff canteen and in the bakery (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester2 November 2017
A challenging place to work adapting to customer needs particularly in the bakery as goods need to be on the shopfloor within a certain time frame.
Giving good customer service and getting positive feedback.
Pros
subsidised canteen
Cons
constant promo changes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked my department
Butcher (Former Employee) –  Grays1 November 2017
I worked here as a butcher 5 years i liked my dept work was good hours long always expected to stay longer money was good for the time skilled trade 8.50 as of march 2011 when i left store management not that great nice to face an all that but always got my breaks which is good
Pros
Pay fot my breaks
Cons
Everything else management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stacking Shelf's
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Verwood28 October 2017
Simple job stacking shelf's for the supermarket. Good organisation with management in timing hour sheets and knowing all the staff. Had the main role of getting the food out and stacked in a short time frame, mostly in the fruit and veg ale.
Pros
good pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  sheffield27 October 2017
I did work 2 weeks work experience there, which I had to do. You get a free lunch of like £3, but will not be paid. The work was nothing too difficult for new people to learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awfull
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Tiverton, Devon24 October 2017
Management didn’t give a s£@! Awful company to work for. A lot of bullying. Refuse to up contracted hours. Can’t live on what hours they give you. Would rather have a lot of workers on very low hours than a few workers in better higher hours. If you apply you will be lucky to get more than 12 hours per week.
Pros
Very few
Cons
Upper management don’t care about you
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to meet new people
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire24 October 2017
While the benefits of having Christmas bonus and shares are good at this place your chance of progressing and doing something new is subject to how well you get on with certain manager's.
Pros
Christmas bonus and company perks
Cons
Not the family friendly company it used yo be!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Make agreements that cannot be delivered
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Swadlincote, Derbyshire24 October 2017
poor management, no support, rotas and holidays are unfair and no notice given for working hours. Expected to work hours not agreed to.
No uniform or PPE provided after 6 weeks of being recruited.
Pros
Staff canteen
Cons
no notice with unfair hours, poor holiday processing
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good place to work. Great staff and management
Checkout operator (Former Employee) –  Bolton23 October 2017
working as a checkout operator was one of the best jobs Ive had. Mixing with lots of different people and keeping busy is what I loved about this job.
Pros
Great staff and loved helping others
Cons
working over christmas even though understandable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive night shift
Assistant Night Manager (Former Employee) –  Rhyl22 October 2017
we had a great night manager who i benefited greatly from he showed me things i,d never ever thought of before things which i took with me as i advanced my career.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely people, straight forward work, management is a disgrace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes20 October 2017
It was good money working at Morrisons, the hours were nice, but the management didn’t have an actual clue to what was going on, different managers always gave the same jobs to one another
Pros
Money, people
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wm Morrisons Supermarkets. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,987 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3