Wincanton Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many happy days
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  Snodland, Kent8 November 2017
Worked for the company for 28yrs and have had some goood memories from the time that I started with them. Only left the company due to the fact I was made redundant
Pros
Easy to get to
Cons
Lots of weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but decent place
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Rochdale, Greater Manchester29 September 2017
Training is ok, you get told what you need about the company and the job over 3 days.

Canteen, Gym, 10% off shopping at Asda, big site.

If you work hard, you get trained up on other jobs and if you don't you get told.

As warehouse jobs go, this is pretty good
Pros
Canteen, 10% off at Asda
Cons
Christmas working
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place to work could be the best
LGV C+E Driver (Current Employee) –  Cumbria15 September 2017
A very unfair place to work no work life balance .management have no influence on shifts which are dangerous considering what's caried. Training is about the only thing done right at first then left .
Pros
Pay
Cons
Shifts start times management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
HGV Driver class 1 (Former Employee) –  Aberthaw14 September 2017
MDouble standard rules for you and rules for others if you're face don't fit forget it manager had no driving experience great help from his staff who carry him area manager scruffy work mates good driver trainer a right know it all
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor shifts
hgv Class 1 Driver (Current Employee) –  Sherburn in Elmet, North Yorkshire14 September 2017
Not work/ life balanced at all, after nine years of flexibility on my part no flexibility returned. Would of stayed another 9 years had they given me a reasonable options. Saying that all the staff from the ground up are great given the environment. Very hot on health and safety. Good pension scheme and other benefits too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not work for wincanton again
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Sherburn in Elmet, North Yorkshire5 September 2017
Same rubbish day in day out management waste of time the only best bit about working for wincanton is clocking out end of shift would not work for this company again
Pros
Not bad pay
Cons
Management are useless bully you
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Driver / Installer (Former Employee) –  Greenford, Greater London5 September 2017
it was a good place to work, people ect. they were helpful and did do what they could for you. only left due to them leaveing the area. to far for me to get to for work
Pros
had good fun
Cons
nice people
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor managment
Operative (Current Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire3 September 2017
i dont have a lot of nice things to say about this company how they treat staff is very poor , too many hours the workload is too much for all staff and pay is not worth it
Cons
too long hours over contract hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet and physically demanding workplace
Food hygiene (Former Employee) –  Quedgeley, Gloucestershire30 August 2017
You tend to work alone when working with food hygiene as you based in the lorry yard. Your work day will consist of cleaning the milk sample room where milk is stored. Emptying bins and collecting litter. Cleaning the inside and outside of milk tankers. The job as a whole is quiet however it can be physically demanding.
Pros
Quiet, little stress and easy
Cons
Working outisde in all weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work is good but management is....
Warehouse Operative/Forklift Driver (Current Employee) –  Charlton, Greater London26 August 2017
Typical day in the warehouse, nothing special. picking, packing, loading trucks... and then comes the management... no idea what they are doing. Looking only at results without considering why they are low even if it is do to their fault. Place to work, nothing else.
Pros
training, crew
Cons
management, can tine- overpriced
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, hours take away any social life
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Coleshill, Warwickshire22 August 2017
The job itself was pleasant and the people you work with are all friendly staff even the management. The only thing that I disliked there was that the pay was not worth the labor they expect from you. We were put into a scenario where we had to work at least an extra weekend a month but nobody was given any incentive to do it we were just told to get on with it. If little changes were made to increase incentives for the staff then this is definitely a job I would love to go back to in time.
Pros
Friendly staff, nice work atmosphere
Cons
Long hours, no social life available, no worker incentive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's warehousing, need I say more
Warehouseman (Current Employee) –  Felixstowe, Suffolk21 August 2017
Very busy environment, very stretched at times as their is a lack of staff, I guess it's to keep operating costs down, if they can get you to do two men's work they obviously save on the wages, 48 hours per week on standard rate, no overtime till 48 hours worked
Pros
Two 45 minute breaks
Cons
Too many to mention
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We worked very hard for the customer, making sure deliveries and orders were picked and delivered correctly
Senior Compliance Clerk (Former Employee) –  Greenford18 August 2017
I enjoyed the job, it kept me busy. Kept your brain going knowing you had to be compliant at all times. Making sure Export orders were picked correctly and to make sure customer satisfaction.
Pros
To be able stay as Supervisor whilst being part-time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Distrubrution (Former Employee) –  Doncaster, South Yorkshire16 August 2017
Was a fun job I enjoyed it wish I could have carried on working for this company as it was just up the road from me there was friendly people and all different type of people there too
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst decision of my life.....
Construction Readymix Driver (HGV 1/HGV2) (Current Employee) –  West Midlands14 August 2017
You know when you hear about the "Bullying in the workplace" culture at a workplace...well that exists massively in this role.
Although you work for Wincanton you work out of a Hanson site and its fair to say the Hanson staff hate you for it. It is very much a "them and us" set up.

The Wincanton management are well aware of this but choose to ignore it, thats why this role is constantly advertised. The turnover of Wincanton drivers is unbelievable. Its "Bullying in the workplace" at its finest.
You are treated like something you have trodden in by the batcher and the vast majority of other drivers. It really was the worst 6 months of my working career.

The management support from Wincanton is non exsistant, although the job is advertised at £31.5k per year it is actually only £22.8k per year. Another lie told by Wincanton you get you there.
The job is advertised at a basic 40 hours per week you will never do less than 55. Overtime is paid at a flat hourly rate of £11 and if you have an appointment you can forget about leaving early because it just wont happen.

The only good thing throughout my time spent there was the nice new truck.
If I could make my decision again I would avoid this role at all costs...
Pros
new truck
Cons
Long hours, unpaid dinner, flat over time rate, made to feel like a peice of muck by the Hanson drivers and batchers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 44No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Larne2 August 2017
Good working environment with friendly staff. Excellent rates of pay and working hours are good, guaranteed holidays. Nice place to work and look after the staff
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Wigan, Greater Manchester22 July 2017
Got to know a few friends it was a good place to work I learned a few skills while I wax working there friendly and helpful team the hours were good it was shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A below par place to work
Werehouse operative (Current Employee) –  Adwick le Street, South Yorkshire12 July 2017
I've been working at wincanton for 9 and half years now , alough it was a fun place to work when I first started ,the moral and attitude has declined, the work patterns aren't very good for family and social life as you have to work 50% weekends and any5 shifts from 7 ,you seem to always get judge on your rate ,and communication is very limited due to all the nationalities that work there, it seems like the company always want more out off you than you have to give and the shift roata is not very good too
Pros
Get paid for your dinner break, finish an hour early with pay after you hit your rate plus 10%
Cons
Horrible rota, always on your case, your rarely praised, misrible negative atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor upper management
Colleague (Former Employee) –  Sherburn in Elmet, North Yorkshire29 June 2017
management run a culture of blame and pass the buck, HR are a joke especially the HR manager, she would be stacking shelves in any other job but she's a mate of a mate

AGM is a complete waste of time, changes the rules to suit himself

All in all a very toxic place to work
Pros
pay
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
teanm leader (Former Employee) –  Wigan, Greater Manchester12 June 2017
each day different the management are good ,hardest part of job completing plans and schedules.most rewarding when you complete your plans on time. you can learn as much as you would like always plenty training offered
Pros
promotion within company
Cons
only a number
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wincanton. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 209 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.7
Culture
2.9