WHSmith Employee Reviews

Found 974 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly Organised and Managed
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bexleyheath23 September 2017
Management are not able to organise holidays. When they do authorise holidays they do not organise cover for the days that a collleague is away for. Employees are constantly stuck doing the same duties everyday. There is no rotation of duties between staff members so that they can train in other areas of the business. The payslip system does not provide a break down of the hours you work and the hourly rate paid to you. The technology provided to assist us in our job does not work all the time.
Pros
Free cinema tickets
Cons
Very short breaks, underpaid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work
Sales Assistant (Work Experience) (Former Employee) –  Hinckley23 September 2017
the typical day at work was arriving and getting given my tasks for the day e.g i would have to reduce note books or move items to a diffirent shelf.and while doing this i would have to deal with the customers and helping them identify where a certion item is in the shop.
Pros
amazing staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a lovely safe place to work
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Weston-super-Mare, Somerset23 September 2017
On a typical day at work at WHSmith it would be 9am-6pm with around 2 breaks and half an hour lunch. What I learned is basic customer service and how to help a customer to either find soemthing or return something. The hardest part of the job was only at the start when training on where to put things and organise things and getting the transport to get there. Honestly the most enjoyable part of this job was the social interaction and how the co workers are very helpful and kind. The workplace culture is of all cultures and is welcomed at all times.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Relatively long hours not too long around 8 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Heathrow Terminals 1, 2 & 3 Station22 September 2017
it is fun working in this store, i have worked in the travel stores and experienced many new things. the most enjoyable part of the job is meeting staff members.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Straight forward work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cambridge19 September 2017
Part time sales assistant on weekends.
Taught on the day, help always at hand
Decent hours, decent pay, good management.

I guess the hardest part is having to smile the whole day while at the tills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Producrive and a busy place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire17 September 2017
The employees are a very nice they can guide you to what you need to be doing. They all have their own specific roles and they know what it is. It's nice place to work if you haven't got an extremely busy life and is not on work experience.
Pros
Good atmosphere
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad for retail
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lancaster, Lancashire16 September 2017
often a busy shop, friendly staff. Career progression limited but not impossible. for retail its not the worst place to work, friendly team of staff and mostly friendly customers.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
bank holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working there
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dalkeith, Midlothian15 September 2017
I enjoyed working there very much and discovered my love of books on a different level. The hardest part of the job was trying to get all that needed to be done in a short period of time. I learned to prioritise jobs and work load
Pros
Offers on books
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse job in Gatwick Airport!!!
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gatwick Airport Station, West Sussex14 September 2017
Simple don't bother applying. They treat you like donkeys here. And they get the bonuses. And you'll get nothing for it. While they boss you around! Joke of a company! Lovely colleagues. But managers are horrible! They honestly don't care about their employers.
Pros
Staff are nice.
Cons
Rubbish money, Rubbish Managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and busy work environment.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newbury13 September 2017
A typical day at work would include spending your day on or around the tills. You would be expected to keep the shelves at the front of the store tidy and stocked, whilst keeping an eye on the self-service checkouts and your till. You'd be expected to do this all by yourself unless it is a Saturday.
Pros
Store discount
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Improve organisation and communication skills
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cheltenham12 September 2017
Working at WHSmith was fun and developed my organisational capabilities when it comes to different and variety of items in sequences in accordance to product display and arrangement.
Pros
Discount
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace work environment
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Coventry, West Midlands12 September 2017
It is a very fast pace place to work and constantly changes due to the season, for example back to school, Christmas, Mother's Day, etc. Customer service is a priority and I've learnt through experience how to deal with different types of customers, such as elderly people, young children spending their pocket money, and serving disabled customers has taught me patience and kindness without compromising their independence. The culture of all of the staff is very relaxed and we take on various jobs such as till work, stocktaking, auditing and customer service, both face to face and on the phone.
Pros
Flexible hours, some over time. the ability to swap shifts and the 50% staff discount on cards.
Cons
Lack of breaks, poor pay. More over time would be preferred.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a new challenge
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Buckinghamshire11 September 2017
A typical day at work is busy with loads of different things to do. I have learned that it is a face paced environment with so much going on! The hardest part I find is customer complaints but it's a fun place to work if you're with the right people.
Pros
Good shifts, good discount
Cons
Rubbish pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for work experience
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London10 September 2017
worked her for a little while, everyone I worked with was great manager was great, I had fun and made some good friends.The pay could be a lot better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and not for the weak hearted
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stansted Airport10 September 2017
A typical day working at WHSmith invloved dealing with a huge influx of customers whilst attempting to ensure that all tasks were completed. It is very fast paced so is definitely not for the faint hearted. Managment was lacking in this particular area but only in some aspects including diversity and acceptance of all. On the plus side you get to meet amazing people and work hard.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
peacfull and tranquil
stock taker (Former Employee) –  Widnes, Cheshire10 September 2017
wh smith is a very peaceful and tranquil place of work if you like the more laid back relaxed work environment for people who are more relaxed and laid back.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Luck 😂
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glasgow Airport7 September 2017
Be ready to work hard, Loved actual job but the running of the company, was atrocious. Staff Training ? What staff training ?. All new starts will be given basic till training for a WHOLE day by another staff member, who themselves have probably only had the same training & started couple wks before you. Then your either be sent Airside to the main shop, where you'll be stuck on self service tills for 7hrs of your shift, or you'll be sent to one of the smaller shops to work in yourself, where you'll be expected to know how to do everything with all that training you were given !!!!.
Keep on good side of management & team leaders & you'll be fine, if not, they will all talk about you behind your back, including general staff members.
Pros
Plenty Overtime
Cons
Early starts, no staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Lively experience
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dundee City5 September 2017
My day consists of opening up the store and preparing the start of the day. After sorting out all of the newspapers and opening the doors to the public, the day begins with making sure the store is presentable and tidy. Some tasks include gathering stock in the stockroom and neatly putting it out on the store floor where there is gaps or low stock, counting all the different magazines on the store floor and stockroom, filling up juice an sweets and serving customers.

Being a key holder has given me lots of responsibility for the store as a whole. I am responsible for opening and closing the store along with access to jobs that help run the store.

The hardest part is trying to remember everything for the store so that everything runs as a whole. The most enjoyable part is building relationships with the staff and customers that come in. Helping people with their queries helps me learn and understand others and the store more.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Working full days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WH smith
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edgware4 September 2017
gets very busy and most of the time we were short stuffed. management was experienced some stuff members were hard to work with and most customers were always arguing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Chester29 August 2017
only done my work experience here about 3/4 years ago but a very friendly environment to work within, very enjoyable work place. firm when needed to be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at WHSmith. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,047 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3

CEO Approval

64%
413 ratings
Add your rating

WHSmith Reviews by Location