University of Sheffield Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Environment Bad life Balance
Intern (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire16 November 2017
Nice Environment
Bad life Balance
Multicultural Environment
High Level Research
Low Salary
Non co-operative supervision
Diverse Professionals
High Accademic level
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambente di lavoro stimolante, multiculturale
Visiting researcher (Former Employee) –  South Yorkshire6 November 2017
L'università di Sheffield è una delle migliori istituzioni a livello mondiale per accoglienza sia degli studenti che ricercatori stranieri, è un ambiente multiculturale, molto stimolante ed istruttivo
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No ability to reward talent
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sheffield25 October 2017
Fixed term contract work and fixed pay scales make for a very restrictive environment. An inability to reward talent and skills leads to these being lost to business where it can be appropriately recognised.
Pros
Relaxed 'Uni' workstyle, work on novel areas
Cons
FTC and fixed pay scales
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Kitchen porter (Former Employee) –  Sheffield10 October 2017
During my time working for this company, i learned that when everyone gets involved the work is not only more enjoyable but also more productive.Therefore it is important to work as a team.
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, but fun workplace
Clerical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sheffield28 August 2017
During my work experience at the University of Sheffield I worked in the Outreach department, this consisted of organising and helping with events.

From working at the University of Sheffield I learned more about work life, as well as what it is like to work in an office.
Pros
Everyone is friendly, outgoing and eager to help with any issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding job
Residence Mentor (Former Employee) –  Sheffield26 August 2017
A rewarding job that allowed you to push yourself into situations that you wouldn't necessarily involve yourself in normally in order to broaden your experience.

My boss was very relaxed and easy to work with.
Pros
Relatively easy work for the money
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Graduate Teaching Assistant (GTA) (Former Employee) –  Sheffield4 August 2017
I enjoyed very much interacting with undergraduate and masters student during the laboratory demonstrations. It was fun and always triggered intellectual interaction with students.

I have gained huge deal of experience during this role, such communication, presentation, and demonstrating skills. It was also challenging as you get a range of student of different knowledge and therefore variety of challenging tasks.
Pros
fun, educational, challenging
Cons
nonr
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible Experience
Orientation Assistant and Global Campus Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Sheffield3 August 2017
Working with the Orientation and Global Campus teams was an incredible experience. I learned so much about other cultures and societies, and the people who live in them. It was amazing to be given the opportunity to work with so many young people and help them to become a part of the University of Sheffield. My only criticism is that there was not the opportunity to work more hours!
Pros
great team, great environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Student Accommodation Tour Guide (Former Employee) –  Sheffield31 July 2017
It was great to work for the University, showing people around the prospective housing that was on offer. This job made me more confident in public speaking and was all in all a great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience to worn there
Lecturer (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Sheffield28 July 2017
My experience of teaching evening classes at the University of Sheffield's Institute for Lifelong Learning was highly rewarding and the experience of working for a different institution to Doncaster College was illuminating. The place was well organising and seemed to provide students with an organised and coherent approach with very good facilities and excellent technical support.
Pros
Good organisation
Cons
Classes were evening and not day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
academic
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sheffield30 June 2017
is rich in research resources. looking after students' wealth fares. providing detailed instructions to students. being friendly and polite to students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student ambassador
Student Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire28 June 2017
Easy and well paid work. Great Environment. Free food and beer. Develop you interpersonal skills, talking to perspective students. Organisation skills are useful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits but poor management
Undisclosed (Current Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire21 June 2017
There are lots of perks to working at the University; competitive salaries, annual increments, lots of holidays, good (for now) pension, internal courses. However, if you are a hard-working, efficient person who likes to get things done, you will find it frustrating to work there. The people who like to coast seem to be those that get on the best. Those who give it their all and want to innovate/provide a good service are often undervalued. Maybe that's life but it seems to be the most common complaint here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I could not skip this step so I had to write a review
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  University of Sheffield10 May 2017
My job was a casual job, pleasant experience, decent pay with great colleagues but not really a real job that would merit a review here...............
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Waiting Staff (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire11 April 2017
I learnt the following skills:
Service standards for drinks and food
Customer service skills
Counter cleaning processes
Health and safety training
Fire procedures
Stock procedures
Cleaning standards
Ability to work under pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is very high ranked University
PhD Research Student (Current Employee) –  Sheffield3 April 2017
I am doing PhD. During my study I have learned a lot and made friends from different nationalities. I was very happy during my study. I involved in teaching activities during my study.
Pros
Multicultural and interantional.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and well origanized work place with highly qualified staff members
PhD student (Current Employee) –  Sheffield7 March 2017
Very good environment and good collaboration with colleagues.
Demanding tasks but enjoyable research.
Good academic environment with many perspectives for professional and skill development.
Pros
Very pleasant environment
Cons
Unbalanced working pattern
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with the right people
Learning and Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sheffield, UK28 February 2017
I enjoy my work at the University, but that has to do with the group of people that I work with. No salary advancement, no opportunity for progression.
Pros
Nice bunch of colleagues
Cons
No progression between grades 4 and 6
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and supportive
Student Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire8 February 2017
Always interesting tasks to get involved in and very supportive staff network. Would definitely recommend for students who wish to get more involved in promoting and encouraging study at Sheffield.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the project work
Project Intern (Former Employee) –  Sheffield6 February 2017
Enjoyed working enviornment at university.. working experience with highly talented professors and lectures.. enviorment to relax like cafe and open areas..
Pros
Cafes and outside benches to relax
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Sheffield. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 59 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.5
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
4.1
Culture
4.3

University of Sheffield Reviews by Location