Toolstation Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly regular customers, awful management
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Weymouth, Dorset5 November 2017
Ridiculous double-standard management, long 9+ Hour shifts, tedious draining jobs (straightening thousands of totes), repeatitive put-downs, constant daily pressure of management visits etc...

Average salary, great customers, but bottom line tedious.
Pros
Plenty of opportunity to work extra hours
Cons
Bad working enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid unless you want to ruin your life
Supervisor/Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  South West30 October 2017
Store manager selfish and unsupportive ( Calls out of hours meetings and threatens with disciplinary action when unable to attend)
Regional managers don't care about you but are happy to expect the world from you for such little pay. Have gone weeks trying to contact but has avoided me and not given one second to listen to me.
Competitive with screwfix on product pricing but not salary!
GREAT PLACE TO WORK GREAT PLACE TO BUY
This new logo was released to stores but since then have yet to be given an example of why its a great place to work.
Poor working hours all to accommodate customers and get as much money out of them as possible. Vicious pressure to get more and more SALES! I'm all for growth but tactics employed cause stress to staff and given zero support in doing so plus no reward if targets are met!
Training poor! CSRs start and left to fend for self. Only myself out of 4 managers offer support to those struggling.
When concerns are raised to manager they get brushed under carpet
Then as already said when going to regional manager for additional support you'll be lucky to hear from them!
Get used to hearing their answer machine...
My life has been impacted massively working for this company.
Nothing but stress and hard work for poor salary and unsociable working hours. Couldn't tell you when i last had 2 days off next to each other despite it being very easy to manage!
Slave drivers.
Insult to injury the only day we close is XMAS DAY so absolutely zero time to enjoy the season with loved ones so again i'll say it no work/life balance!
Customers are rude
  more... at times and your expected to take the flak despite Toolstations outdated and cheap system.
I have many times received abuse from customers because Toolstations poor system has meant the customer has been wronged.
I have been told by customer support to go along with a lie they spun as they didn't want the customer to be aware they were at fault!! I obviously refused to go along with the lie the contact centre had told the customer.
Such a poor poor company.
Avoid at all costs. If you want a job in this sector id recommend screw fix (better pay,hours, more investment in staff, NOT STINGES LIKE TOOLSTATION!!)
  less
Pros
Like minded staff. Its better than no job (something toolstation hold over you and they know it)
Cons
Upper management, working hours, fairness, life/work balance, holiday booking, xmas hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bit chaotic
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Tottenham, Greater London11 October 2017
Toolstation is an odd place to work. Bit disorganized on the rota and when you are supposed to work. Very often under-stocked. So often have to apologize to customers for having items out of stock.

Need improving on the shelving system so many times the system sends you to a location but the item you are trying to sell has been placed somewhere else without being updated. So its like finding a needle in a haystack.

A few times you would be so understaffed that you have to work through your lunch break.
It has got some good points but it requires a lot of patience.
Pros
staff discount
Cons
understaffed, have to work through lunch breaks, unstable rotas.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable work place
Customer service assistant (Former Employee) –  Eastbourne7 October 2017
A typical day at tool station being a customer service assistant is working on the tills, keeping customers satisfied and making sure the customer area is clean and tidy.
I learned many skills at toolstation, including how to deal with delivery, dealing with customers queries and questions, learning key information about the products you are selling.
The management team are excellent, I had college whilst working for them and they were brilliant at working the rota around my time table.
I wouldn't say any part of the job was hard as it was simple as long as you knew what you were doing.
The most enjoyable part of the job was customer service and speaking to customers making people smile.
Pros
Good breaks
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?YesNo 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An okay place to work.
Stock Controller (Current Employee) –  Redditch, Worcestershire4 October 2017
After 5 years experience I know its not the worst place to work but simply wish to move on, it sometimes appears like a sinking ship with nobody knowing what they are doing. Not hugely recommended.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modern Day Mill
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  England4 October 2017
Secure employment due to success of business through low prices and great availabilty.
No life /work balance, just work
low pay for work input
little regional support
Pros
secure employment
Cons
poor renumeration, poor support
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good banter with customers
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Lanarkshire23 September 2017
Good laugh and enjoyed it for the most part too many changes in staff ruined it pay is woeful shift patterns shocking if you are 16 hours a week y 4 days at 4 hours two 8 hour shifts would be better promotions for laziest staff for some reason have to brown nose if you want to progress really a stop gap while looking for something better stay away regional managers are bad and backstabbing is rife slating other members of staff and stealing money let go
Pros
Use phone eat drink smoke whenever
Cons
Standing staring into space all day bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job i ever had
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Doncaster16 September 2017
Management are bullies. They do u on your holiday's claim that rota was messed up so save ur holiday forms or u will get done over like I was. U get disaplaned in training period what I think is wrong. How you expect people to learn when you make them feel like rubbish first week they're their simple mistake was turned into a bigger mistake due to this. I could go on but I want. Just adoid.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours
Manager (Former Employee) –  Hertfordshire9 September 2017
Typical day is greeting customers, doing stock take, and putting away deliveries.

Excellent for training sessions.

Poor or lack of adequate management.

Good teams just do not work together.

The long hours which are expected.
Pros
early finishes
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great conpany to work for
Trade Counter Assistant (Former Employee) –  Longwell Green, Bristol20 August 2017
great company to work for would say to anyone one to work for them as it great plave to work as a team .

many thanks to toolstation for having me

rosemarie slocombe
Pros
no
Cons
defopends what time that you start
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolute joke
Keyholder Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria16 August 2017
The company treats the staff with contempt......the branch I worked at was down to 50% staff......the manager was sacked and the workers had to fill in his job and stay on minimum wage. Everybody had to do extra shifts to make up for higher managers mistakes. Only receive the bare minimum wages and benefit's what law requires. Creates an atmosphere of backstabbing. Staff in the store were nice just the higher management were not.
Pros
Its a job
Cons
Terrible in general
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace/Large labour turnover
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Newbury, Berkshire9 August 2017
Its a great customer base retail, trade and DIY customers. I enjoy the Customer service aspect of the job meeting all kinds of people and personalities.
They still haven't got it quite right with Management support and consideration.
Pros
Customer base
Cons
Not enogh support
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok as a temp job
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ellesmere Port, Cheshire5 August 2017
on a 7 day job rota so cant plan any home life, learnt how to use a till point of sale chip & pin & stock control. Hardest part of the job was the early start 6;45 and 7 pm finish on a Saturday. best part of the job applying my skills
Pros
useful discount
Cons
early & late starts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's alot of pressure for very little reward and security
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Woodford Green, Greater London2 August 2017
A poor place to work. I could go on for a while but i dont think im allowed to say half the things that actually happen in there. I would just advise to find a different job and if you are in there get out as soon as possible if you want a life.
Pros
The Job itself is easy
Cons
Short Notice, Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours, terrible pay, no time for social life
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Wales1 August 2017
management are terrible, you are made to work through breaks even if not paid, expected to do excessive amounts of overtime without pay, you get abuse from both in front and behind the counter. all in all stay away, not worth the hassle and expect to feel miserable and have no social life whatsoever..
Pros
the very rare good relations with customers/ co-workers
Cons
bad pay, long hours, no consistency of shift patterns, unpaid overtime that they will not authorize.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Daventry30 July 2017
The Management was poor, the salary was very low and the team work there was not the best, a lot of people shouting and screaming all day long and very bad equipement supplied
Cons
Terrible Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Job
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Redditch12 July 2017
Overworked, Underpaid, Unappreciated, Morale is awful people who have been there over 5 years have just walked out this week with no job to go to its that bad!
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
toolstation
Retail Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Enfield10 July 2017
toolstation is pretty much very similar to screwfix, the products we sell, the customers, the work environment again, i had a good team of work colleagues
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bullying rife, no back-up from management.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow7 July 2017
do not work for this company. constant overtime due to staff ,shortages.A Bullying Supervisor, who was less qualified than most of the regular staff. and a manager who wouldn,t do anything about it. only good thing was the customers . really unhelpful staff who,s idea of customer service is to point to the catalogue and say look it up for yourself. I would recommend passing this vacancy by very quickly.
Pros
none
Cons
bullying rife and under qualified managment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive days
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  leeds6 July 2017
Simple straight forward company to work for, Very structured and you always know what your working day will consist of each week, can get very cold in the winter.
Pros
job very consistant
Cons
very cold in winter
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Toolstation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.5
Based on 156 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.4
Salary/Benefits
2.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.5
Management
2.3
Culture
2.4