Thomas Cook Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to meet new people every single day as well as travel.
Cabin Crew (Current Employee) –  Manchester Airport, Greater Manchester17 September 2017
Every day is different from the people you work with, the passengers you take and the destination you travel to.We would always begin the day with a brief and end the day with a debrief. Service will follow in a routine order or less we are traveling to a shorter flight destination.
I have learnt to interact with all different kinds of people, from old to young, from experienced to new, people with different cultures, beliefs and languages as well as people with fears or disabilities.
With all the travelling I am able to quickly turn my body clock around and work long hours.
The hardest part of this job is the lack of time you are able to spend at home with friends and family as well as keeping a healthy lifestyle.
The most enjoyable part of this job is visiting so many different countries. Seeing how others live and being able to experience it. The people you get to meet are fantastic and the wage is brilliant.
Pros
Salary, Travel, Meet new people every day.
Cons
Long hours, fatigue, lack of time at home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Assistant to Cabin Crew Manager (Former Employee) –  Manchester Airport16 September 2017
Friendly staff
Good Benefits for employees
Interesting Business
Multinational and works hard to maintain that relationship

Slow decision processes with HR sometimes
Some areas seem to lose touch with others leading to poor communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Assistant Travel Agent (Former Employee) –  Largs8 September 2017
This was a work placement. it was very enjoyable and believed you were competent. Gave a lot of responsibility and freedom to learn on your own but also offered guidance where needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best airline to work for
Cabin Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester7 September 2017
I believe Thomas cook to be the best airline in the industry with regards to their staff, pay and flexibility. With a fantastic range of destinations, intensive training and crew support, I highly recommend them as an employer.
Pros
Seeing amazing places
Cons
Jet lag
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviroment
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Larbert, Falkirk7 September 2017
Loved my job at Thomas Cook. We had a strong sense of team spirit and gained close friendships.

I leaned a wide array of skills within m role involving software used and enhanced my customer service skills with the excellent training Thomas Cook offers.

management were at most times helpful and understanding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and Unpleasant place to work
Travel Consultant & FE (Former Employee) –  Scotland5 September 2017
It is far from its company mantra.

the training away from store is 5* i have no complaints

training instore is a totally different story.

if you have a family i recommend you stay away from thomas cook

Shockingly high turnover of staff
Pros
nill
Cons
Very long hours no breaks and humiliation daily.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Childrens Holiday Entertainer (Former Employee) –  abroard5 September 2017
gave me the ability to use my college skills with a non school environment
worked 3 different countries
integrated with worldwide nationality all working togetger
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 years
Business Support Manager (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, Cambridgeshire & London5 September 2017
Travel industry
Retail Foreign Exchange
Coningsby Rd
Thorpe Wood
Thomas Cook Foreign Money
Thomas Cook Travellers Cheques
Berkley St
TCFS bought by Travelex
Pros
People
Cons
Ownership changes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but rewarding
Manger (Current Employee) –  UK5 September 2017
This is a very busy enviroment. Extremely challenging however rewarding seeing Customers happy. Great people to work
with and feel supported by your staff. Good Management, long hours and challenging
Pros
Job satisfaction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to start with
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Shrewsbury3 September 2017
Selling of holidays.
The nature of the job is fun, but the fun was removed by hard targets and poor management.
The wages are poor for the job undertaken.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Team Manager (Former Employee) –  overseas, europe2 September 2017
A fast paced environment working overseas, every destination can be so different its hard to give a complete review, have an open mind and be adaptable
Pros
Fun lifestyle
Cons
Must relocate constantly (every 6 months)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Customer Relations Advisor (Current Employee) –  Scotland1 September 2017
Department Manager is disgraceful, you are treated like a child having to ask permission from your line manager to do basic parts of your job. You also have to ask if you can go on your entitled 10 min break. Work load and stats too demanding, not allowed to use aftercall at all.Very stressful, you are treated like a battery hen. A Very bad atmosphere and low moral.

Get moved to different departments totally unrelated to the job you applied for and then get penalised for not meeting targets.

Very hard to plan holidays or time off.
Pros
None
Cons
Lots
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but hard work
Cabin Manager (Current Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff30 August 2017
Have worked here for nearly ten years. Love the job, love the people but not enough job security for me here. I have worked my way to up manager but I need a job that can offer me 12 months employment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Cabin crew (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow29 August 2017
Cabin crew is not an easy job however this company ensure your roster is balanced well with days off, trips away or general every day flights. It is by far the best company in my area to work for with regards to money etc however the on downfall is that it is only seasonal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable time!
Aircraft fitter/SMW (Former Employee) –  Manchester27 August 2017
I always enjoyed working here, it was well managed and well run. I can honestly say i had no complaints in all the time i worked here. The only down side being long hours.
Pros
well run
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good fun
Manager (Former Employee) –  Woking, Surrey26 August 2017
good fun, nice people . good location.
apples, citrus fruits, parsley, capers, blueberries, green tea, soy, strawberries, tumeric, olive oil, red onion, rocket and that old health-lover’s favourite kale.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Redcar and Cleveland24 August 2017
Not enough hrs for me lost my buss pass when started working so in the end did not benefit anymore otherwise would love to go back given the option and work there again to clean
Pros
Left get on with things
Cons
Not enough hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A star
Business Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London22 August 2017
Overall a very good and supportive work place, I felt supported and was directed to opportunities for advancement in the future. staffs were friendly and I enjoyed my time with this company
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It could be better! Retail the poor relative
Asssitant Manager (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester14 August 2017
No Support from cluster management.
More and more kpi's added constantly to hit.
Low morale.
Assistant Managers are expected to manage the team, drive performance as well as a travel consultant, too.
Pros
48 hour deals.
Cons
Working on minimum staff. Low Morale. Low pay. No support.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
sale consultn (Former Employee) –  West Midlands8 August 2017
Good company to work for and any training needed they will support you. team work was also very good. Glad i got the chance to work for them. best stores are the bigger an busier ones
Pros
incentives, booking
Cons
managment in some stores
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Thomas Cook. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 763 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7

Thomas Cook Reviews by Location