The Salvation Army Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente lavorativo magnifico
Cassiere (Former Employee) –  Bournemouth-Regno Unito18 February 2018
In questo lavoro ho potuto migliorare le mie competenze comunicative e gestionali, relazionandomi molto con i clienti
Pros
flessibilità
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Helper (Former Employee) –  Gosport, Hampshire12 February 2018
A typical day is that you are always welcome to the church and to the Sunday school with the kids and to the youth club with the kids which always to turn out quite fun.

What i learnt was that you have to treat the kids and the adults with respect as you are taking the responsibilities of those kids into your hands.

The management there are really nice and that you can get along with them so quickly and become friends with them

The workplace culture is amazing there is an amazing atmosphere around with the kids and the other workers.

The hardest part of the job was nothing as there wasn't anything hard with the job

The most enjoyable part of the job was when it came to Christmas and Easter time where the staff gave out Christmas presents at Christmas time and Easter eggs out at Easter time
Pros
Everything
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at
Volunteer Worker (Current Employee) –  Great Yarmouth7 February 2018
what ive learned since volunteer work there is how to work the till which is a new skill to me.What i normally do is sometimes i work on the till serving customers and sometimes im at the back sorting through clothes and tagging them and sometimes stream the clothes which then the manager puts the price on and then it goes out to the shop floor. The manager is a great laugh and she is the best person ever. The most enjoyable part of the job is having a laugh with the other volunteer workers and making tea for everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
volentry work
STORE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Dudley, West Midlands1 February 2018
was a great environment to work in very pleasant and self-satisfaction with helping out a charity and helping other people was good hours as well, recommended
Pros
helping people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Bourne, Lincolnshire26 January 2018
very good liked a lot very interesting awesome cool people dull job s but good skills developed and experienced earned very glad I did it much appreciation
Pros
cool
Cons
pop
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, Lovely staff, friendly working enviroment
Trainee Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Alnwick24 January 2018
overall great experience working there, lovely staff i received alot of support during the early days of the job. There was always someone with some great advice and help.
Pros
good lunch break, loads of support
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Staff and Interesting Working Environment
Volunteer Worker (Former Employee) –  Wigan, Greater Manchester24 January 2018
I enjoyed my time at the shop and it was fun to learn how a working environment like a charity shop flows. He workers were very welcoming towards me as it was my first time in a job location.
Pros
Friendly Workers
Cons
Repetative Work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
drivers mate
volunteer (Former Employee) –  Norwich, Norfolk23 January 2018
I got this job to start me of in getting back to work as I just passed my driving licence and wanted to experience working on the road delivering and collecting stuff for the charity
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  West Midlands21 January 2018
working at the salvation army was brilliant working with amazing customers and also having the opportunity to work with my team mates aswell. Great company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming and educational
Volunteer Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ellesmere Port, Cheshire18 January 2018
During my short time volunteering here I was given the responsibilities of sorting through donations and evaluating whether it was shop worthy by adhering to the instructions given by management. I also steam-cleaned clothing, sorted and hung them depending on size and helped maintain the shop floor and displays
The staff here were lovely and I would recommend this place highly for those who are looking for a calm work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A positve please to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sunderland, Tyne and Wear14 January 2018
I found working there to be a postive experience and the reason for that is that you know that each item it sold helps some one less fortunate and that find that a great thing when it comes to been a motivation
Pros
Knowing you are making a difference in peoples lives
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Administrator / Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside14 January 2018
Each day varied but was usually quite relaxed. Training was a must and was provided. Management was supportive. Generally a great place to work with a friendly atmosphere. The hardest part of the job was maybe challenging behaviour from service users. Flexibility, communicative and understanding all round made the job most enjoyable
Pros
Flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Actually great.
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Durham13 January 2018
May be charity work but okay why not sign up and try to have a good time today with giving back to the community and also helping the elderly in the store and out!
Pros
Friends
Cons
Steaming clothes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Salvation Army - Exciting and enjoyable environment and workplace
Volunteer Worker (Former Employee) –  Bo'ness10 January 2018
Great opportunity to help other people and teach them new things and make friends. Enjoyable environment with friendly people including other staff. Definitely would recommend as a great workplace and opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Southampton, Hampshire8 January 2018
Fun and happy work place filled so much positive all the staff wear happy and all ways happy to help one another and work in a team. Me and all the other staff did all we were able to make sure the customers were happy
Pros
Good team work
Cons
Un
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and productive workplace
PROGRAMME CO-ORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Glasgow6 January 2018
Each day is well planned and everyone is aware of their tasks and responsibilities. Regular meetings and briefings keep all staff well uptodate with changes.
Pros
Good and happy environment
Cons
To many inspections
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productiveness and caring place
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire3 January 2018
Had a warm welcome when I first arrived, and was taught all the skills to aspire as a customer service retailer. Volunteering there really built my confidence.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Such a lovely place to work
Barista and Waitress (Former Employee) –  Oldham, Greater Manchester1 January 2018
This was a volunteer job and they took me on so i would gain experience as a barista. The owners are lovely and hosted a weekly kids crafting club and the kids loved it. i learned how to make a variety of drinks, gained customer experienced and made new friends
Pros
staff, free drinks, kids club
Cons
it was only temporary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Volunteer shop assistant (Former Employee) –  Thornton Heath, Greater London27 December 2017
very relaxing working environment
I learnt how to give my time to support the less privileged in society.
Management was fantastic and made sure all staff were comfortable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun filled work placement
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow19 December 2017
I had fun working along side the people in Salvation Army everyone was so helpful and worked very well as part of a team any help needed they would guide you in right direction so never be stuck.
Pros
No free lunch good break time
Cons
Normal hours 9-5
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Salvation Army. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 7,553 reviews
53.3K
42K
31.4K
2420
1392

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture