Stagecoach Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i have enjoyed working on the busses but time for a change
bus driver (Current Employee) –  grimsby15 November 2017
good to work for enjoyed my time there but time for achange
and I want to do something different. as I have been dealing with the public for a long time and I like different challeng
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bus Driver review
Driver/Conductor (Former Employee) –  Basingstoke, Hampshire12 November 2017
If you like driving then this is a good job to have, as your outside and meeting different people. The hours are various as they start from 0500 till 0000.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mind numbing
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London11 November 2017
Like most jobs it has good and bad points.
Good points are:
decent enough wages,paid weekly
Your your own boss ( too a degree ) once you have got on your bus.
For some inexplicable reason you will become popular ( if your half-way polite and decent ) with a lot of the passengers.People seem to love a bus driver.Unfortunately most of these groupies are work-shy simpletons who don't know one end of a bar of soap from another.
Bad points are:
Useless management.Management are your best friends whilst your getting them out of a hole covering shifts for co-workers who have phoned in sick...they soon forget all the times you helped them when you need to have a day off.Pointless CPC courses you are obligated to attend along with a dozen other drivers who are usually the most boring people you could hope to meet.....There was always at least one annoying driver per course who just had to talk talk talk all day long.
Some shifts on your rosta could be very long with silly 2 hour breaks between driving.12/13 hour shifts but only paid for 10.5 are not cool or conducive to safe driving.
Greenroad...a stupid system supposedly meant to encourage safe driving but will instead will make your blood boil with rage as it flashes amber at you for turning the steeringwheel whilst driving at 5mph on a deserted highway thus indicating how dangerous you are.NOT
Boring fellow drivers.My word there are some boring miserable drivers out there.I can see why some passengers make complaints.
All things considered it's a decent enough job as long as you enjoy driving and can get up early.
Pros
Wage..free travel for family
Cons
long hours.Odd people
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I have ever worked
cleaner (Current Employee) –  Cantterbury10 November 2017
When I started it was fine, but in recent times it has become abhorrent , the management treat all staff with complete and utter contempt I for one, can't wait to get away from there
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to put down here
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
l work well on my own and within a team
Administration Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Walkergate8 November 2017
Overall they are a good company and the pay is good to.

I enjoyed the position and got on well with everyone, l then starting driving a bus of which was great.
Pros
l am hard working, l like to get the job done before l leave for home.
Cons
Dont mind doing overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overhaul not a bad job
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Exeter7 November 2017
there were some good peaple there had some good laugths can be long hours plus shift work and you have got to enjoy driving which i do and you are constantly dealing with the public and yes you do get hassle but you deal with it in the correct manner and also you are dealling with sometimes large sums of money when you are on town work it can be vary busy and you have to still stick to your timetable
Pros
free bus travel for your family
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place tomake new friends and travel around the City you live in.
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Exeter, Devon26 October 2017
I have worked here for 15 years,I really enjoy the people I work with,and you also get to go out and about all over the city and countryside,I like to help people and will always try my best to do just that.
I think now that I would like to have a more structured life/work bakance,as I have done shift work for so many years I would like to be able to know that I'm working the same each week.
Pros
Free travel
Cons
Long hours, sometimes working 9 or 10 days in a row
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wouldn't recommend it
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Rainham, Greater London20 October 2017
I found bus driving to be a very stressful job. The management are always on your back and we were forever being called into the office over small insignificant things.I.e not filling out paperwork properly. The hours were terrible too. As I don't own a car if I was starting very early or finishing late there would be no buses in service so I walked the 6 miles to or from work
Pros
staff pass
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoying my job
Receptionist and Administrator (Current Employee) –  United Kingdom16 October 2017
Enjoying my job. Hours are good, pay not so good but colleagues make it worthwhile. Worked at places before where it's been like a playground. Stagecoach are a good company to work for, plenty of opportunities
Pros
Job security
Cons
Wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Joke of a place
Driver (Former Employee) –  Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire13 October 2017
Dont do it absolutely shocking management all you are is a number. You cant have a life out of work due to the amount of days on you have. Timings you have to keep to is madness. But ............ drum roll ..........wage is good and the job is easy. Thats it
Pros
Free travel
Cons
Long days. Never see family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed driving but hated shifts
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen10 October 2017
after over 2 years I found that the shift pattern was not to my liking. minimum contract was for 39 hours but you could be at work for over 12 hours with only 8 hours paid!!
Pros
free bus travel
Cons
long shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Bus Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire4 October 2017
I enjoyed my time at stagecoach I was there for about 15-16 years.The management are firm but fair holidays are not set so you can take them when ever
Pros
Free bus pass
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative
Driver (Current Employee) –  Hartlepool clevelamd30 September 2017
As a pcv driver in a town like hartlepool ,running time are ridiculous , 4hr to 4hr 30mins driving ,with a 35min break, then another 4hr plus driving after break & that is from getting off one bus & getting on the next bus . All rest days are split ,until long weekend every five weeks
Pros
Free travel
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Transport Employment Opportunity
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield, Derbyshire29 September 2017
A great organisation to drive for with benefits from free Bus travel, share save options and professional training. Part of a international Public Transport Organisation so strict protocols are in place
Pros
Free Bus Travel
Cons
Unsocial Shift patterns
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not
Driver (Former Employee) –  Cambridgeshire27 September 2017
I would stay away from this company the manager don't know how to treat people I treat people like dirt and wages is ok hours is to long and vehicles is the best part of the job
Pros
None
Cons
12 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management and control are a a waste of space
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, Cambridgeshire24 September 2017
Wages were ok but all else at cambridge depot is horrible, management do not care about anyone but there self and will not help you in anyway they they can I wish stagecoach east was run by better people
Pros
Wages`
Cons
Management, Control have no clue
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall okay
Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Ayrshire19 September 2017
I have been an apprentice for stagecoach for 3 years and overall its been a good experience, the communication isnt the best and i feel i wasnt showed as much as i should have but i came out feeling that overall its not the worst place to work in
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pros and cons
PCV Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Workington, Cumbria10 September 2017
jobs ok decent wages but long hrs and the management have not got a clue when it come to treating staff with respect, the job is easy the best part of the job is getting finished and going home
Pros
decent wage
Cons
long hrs management rubbish
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stagecoach is a Hire and fire company
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Dover, Kent10 September 2017
the work life balance is very poor working 12-13 hour split shifts over a 4 day week you may start a 05:00 and finish as 17:00 and will be asked to driver for 5 hours without a break. you may finish at 21:30 at night and then be back for 06:00 start the shifts are not good you also start and finish at different locations and have to travel back to get your car in your own time. This is the reason for wanting to leave.
Management poor no communication from the Director's down to local management no one listens. The buses are in very poor state and you as asked to take them out with minor faults.
Pros
good pension and healthcare packages
Cons
long hours only paid for 10 hours a day for the driving but working 12-13 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  East Sussex1 September 2017
Starts of good then more pressure applied resulting in professional despondency .not with every company worked for , I enjoy putting all professional efforts into any work I am involved in
Pros
Uniform
Cons
Unsociable hours bus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Stagecoach Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.6
Based on 97 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.4
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.3
Culture
2.6