RNLI Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work mates
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Margate, Kent21 November 2017
Very interesting job with plenty of variation. You never knew what to expect and the team work is second to none. You learn a lot about yourself and the people around you when out at sea in some very challenging conditions.
Pros
good mates
Cons
getting out of a warm bed to go out in a cold wet boat.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Employer with several fringe benefits
Finance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Poole, Dorset30 October 2017
Good Employer - maybe not the highest salaries, but with several fringe benefits, like good pension options, flexible working hours, flexi time, good holiday + sickness cover.
Pros
staff canteen (subsidised meals)
Cons
Too many hierarchy levels of management, stiff culture to progress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place I've worked. People are lovely.
Manager (Current Employee) –  Poole, Dorset27 October 2017
Lot of temp contracts but they often end up permanent. Great work life balance. Amazing cause. I have really enjoyed my time. Weakness is very little personal development.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Atmosphere
Line Audio Visual Technician (Former Employee) –  The Colleage24 October 2017
Amazing place to work all the staff are extremely polite and friendly and always willing to provide support.

People will say hello to you even if they do not know you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working environment
General Counsel (Current Employee) –  Poole, Dorset17 October 2017
High level and volume of quality commercial work, excellent collegiate atmosphere. Limited promotion prospects. Very broad remit, contract, commercial, IT, IP, Data Protection, procurement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
station Mechanic / crew member (Former Employee) –  Bangor14 October 2017
Saving lives at sea,good training at pool always had the best equipment to hand good training sessions every week always looking to get the best out of its crew
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but poor management
Senior Buyer (Current Employee) –  Poole, Dorset26 September 2017
It appears as a female this is very male dominated. Females are rarely promoted within. As a charity it depends on a lot of good will from the employees and suppliers however they have beaten this out of both.
Pros
Pension, flexible working hours
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good.
Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  North Devon19 September 2017
RNLI beach lifeguard is the best job in Britain. Working on the best beach in Europe really helps to show that. My colleagues are all similar thinking, young adults and work is an enjoyable place to be.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great charity
Head of Supporter marketing (Former Employee) –  Poole24 August 2017
The volunteers at RNLI were simply amazing - the crew especially risking their lives at sea every day of the year. Extremely proud to have worked for such a great iconic charity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and amazing charity for working within
Senior Face to Face Fundraiser (Former Employee) –  Wales10 August 2017
Hard job. Working long hours, senior role expected to do 12 hour days. Workplace / work house / work beach AMAZING. An experience to never be forgotten. Tough work, as senior role sees you managing 6 fundraisers, ensure they get to the beach, they meet their targets, they keep motivated, they keep up standards, spread safety messages, and keep the image of the RNLI at all times. Rewarding job, as each supporter that we gain, we can work out how much money is raised for the charity, and what we can buy for the charity.
Pros
amazing perks
Cons
Living in house with team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and exiting work place
Divisional Technician (Former Employee) –  Perth Scotland15 July 2017
A typical day starts at 0900 till 1700 when on base.Although when out at a site or station you could work round the clock.The skills i have learned and brought to the job would mostly be diagnostics and electrical fault diagnostics.The job its self I really enjoyed although some of the management i think were not really up to the job position they filled.The hardest part of the job I would say was the long distance driving from place to place. And the most enjoyable part was meeting new people and visiting all the different locations.
Pros
Lots of family time
Cons
low salary for work expected
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Ethos
Digital Business Partner (Former Employee) –  Poole10 July 2017
Everything you do at the RNLI is tracked back to how you personally contribute to saving lives at sea. A great company to work for.

At HQ in Poole, Dress code is casual, and if you're lucky you can work flexible hours- most managers try and accommodate flexible working where possible.

Parking is a nightmare - walk or cycle if poss!
Pros
Great induction day out on the water on an RNLI boat
Cons
Strong internal politics between coast and HQ
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and supportive buisiness
Volunteer Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wallasey, UK18 May 2017
A typical work day would include, hard work to ensure that the shop was ran smoothly and efficiently.
I have learnt how to operate tills, handle money, how to order stock and, talk to customers while ensuring the security of the shops products.
The management are great and very supportive.
The most enjoyable part of the job, is getting to work as part of a fun team, where everyone looks after each other.
The RNLI is completely voluntary based. Including the brave people whom go out to sea, and save peoples lives, right up to management.
Pros
Close to work.
Cons
If enough people don't volunteer to work, then the RNLI can't run there business.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Boat Builder (Current Employee) –  Poole, Dorset10 May 2017
Everyone at the RNLI works together as a team and everyone makes you feel very welcome. The work they do there is incredible and it's an honor to work for such a prestigious organisation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Control Room Operator, Customer Service
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Morecambe, Lancashire30 January 2017
I have a vast experience in working in call centres, Control Rooms and enhancing sales through customer service. I am keen to learn and am a great team worker, but can work alone if required,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Lifeguard Supervisor (education) (Former Employee) –  County27 January 2017
A super place to work with lots of fun and interesting events happening all the time extra training given to a worldwide standard
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very valuble to the nation.
Educational Presenter (Current Employee) –  Various23 November 2016
Since 2014, I have been an Educational Presenter for the Royal National Lifeboat Institution delivering messages about the work of the RNLI and raising awareness and communicating sea and water safety to young people.
Pros
I enjoy teaching people about staying safe near water. I aslo helps build up my confidence.
Cons
Im not always avaliable to help out.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a nice workplace
grade 2 lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Cullercoats31 July 2016
Working for the RNLI allowed me to develop new skills such as time management, working with different services such as police, ambulance and council. It has also developed my knowledge on dealing with different types of the general public. Allowing me to work in many different workplaces.
Pros
helping the public when in need
Cons
cullerocats being a rough beach and having no support from police at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company, good heart
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Lymington31 May 2016
RNLI is a big company with a diverse set of skills and activities. The desire to save lives is at the core of every employee It treats its employees well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Poole20 April 2016
Every day is different, great service provided, every day we are a part of the group that saves lives at sea...
Beautiful place and great team work between all of the departments.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
rota shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RNLI. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 41 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.8
Culture
4.4