Pret A Manger Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  London9 January 2018
great place to work while studying or combining other responsibilities typical day work 7am to 2 pm
great staff benefits : food allowance, 50% discount, social events
Pros
free lunches
Cons
busy environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice but no a good place to improve my english.
Leader (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire8 January 2018
job was too repetitive day after day and i was after two and half years a bit tired of it!
i used to have a nice team and we worked as a team. now i am open to have new challenges
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Team Member (Former Employee) –  London8 January 2018
Fun with the team but also with customers. Its a really nice place to work even if we have to start at 5am or close around midnights sometimes.
Its a very big family and you enjoy time with others shops.
Pros
Free food and coffee
Cons
early hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding but well-paid
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Cambridge5 January 2018
You won't find a company like Pret in its sector in terms of salary. The work is demanding and stressful, always in a rush. If you are willing to learn and work hard, it is your place.
Pros
Free food and coffee, salary
Cons
Demanding, stressful, hard to conciliate with life due to hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, really good scenario
Barista (Current Employee) –  Victoria, Greater London30 December 2017
Pret A Manger is a excellent company that give a lot of opportunities for their employees, most of all care about the staff, about the shop, even costumers. So, you would improve your personality, your life, and be a better person.
Pros
Staff food
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid working there
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London20 December 2017
Too much pressure working there , company expects you to do all your job within the time you are schedule but it is impossible , you will end up working hours for free, no work life balance at all , they have he mistery shipper but it is all a fake thing you can not control , the standards are so high the only thing it will drive is you stress everyday . Don't work there .
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Extra hours not paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really busy environment
TEAM LEADER (Former Employee) –  London15 December 2017
good company with nice job culture and organization, team work mentality and possibility to grow up.
very busy environent leader in fast food and coffe shop field.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work but paid above average industry
Barista (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London12 December 2017
A typical day at work include waking up at 3am as shift start very early in the morning. Shifts ususally last 7-10 hours, 5 times a week. Breaks are generous.
Everything revolves around achieving the weekly bonus, where a mistery shopper inspects the premises, employees' customer service and sandwich selection. Very stressful to actually make sure the shop looks perfect, given reduced number of staff. Often Bonus is lost for bread crumbs on the floor, or dirty windows, while it's impossible for staff to take care of everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly place to work
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Maidstone, Kent5 December 2017
Pret is very good company.This company was established in1986 in london.They do freshly made sandwiches and amazing coffee.Their standard is very high.They look after their employees.
Pros
50 percents discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get ready to lick so many a***es to advance
Barista (Former Employee) –  London5 December 2017
Dear Lord, protect me from ever need to work for Pret a Manger ever again. Amen.

For this company you are numbers, robots, machines, you are no humans.
Pros
2 items 2 drinks for 30min break
Cons
you are considered a robot, with no rights, no needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok but poor mangement
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Crawley4 December 2017
i was really looking forward to start my new job back in april this year, my first manger was ok then i had a new one start and my rotas were never correct and on many occasions i went to work to be told i wasnt working, ive just gone back to work after a holiday and after two occasions of phoning to be told i wasnt working i went into work to be told by the manger i had been sacked for not attending !!!! really disappointed and angry with the way ive been treated
Pros
good rate of pay
Cons
poor and terribel mangement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced fun enviornment
Team Member (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London4 December 2017
Pret a manager was a very fast paced job. The day goes by typically fast if you keep busy and theres always something to do. It taught me to have patience and think about the outcome of a situation before it happens, and it taught me to become very disciplined. Everyone is required to help one another to get through the day as a team. The job requires alot but the most enjoyable part is helping the customers who are having a difficult day and just a smile and good customer service really makes there day.
Pros
Free lunch, good work ambient
Cons
work some weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Team Member Star (Current Employee) –  Gracechurch street2 December 2017
A typical day in Pret A Manger is busy, full of good energy, good working spirit and familiar customer faces.

From working at Pret I have learned to work in a busy environment, to be more productive and to make great coffee.

The hardest part of the job is preparing food in the kitchen. The required production level is extremely high in the busy shops.

I personally enjoy working at the till more. You get to small talk with different customers in the less busy hours and you might get a personal mystery shopper bonus if you stand out in your job.
Pros
Free Lunches. Paid Vacation. Paid Maternity/Paternity leave. Mystery shopper bonuses.
Cons
Extremly busy rush hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good but Could be so much more
Front Leader (Former Employee) –  Albemarle Street29 November 2017
Gotta be honest, i loved my time in Pret. Manager and assistant manager of the shop are just great, they really put their heart on the job and they know how to speak with people. always available to help whatever you need and great to party on.
Due to the deadline to leave the shop at end of the night and the busy periods during the day is hard to clean the shop properly, customer view looks beautiful but lift some "rocks" and gets pretty nasty.
also you better be able to speak Spanish and Italian, it's insane the amount of people you will find that can't say a word in English, perhaps something for Pret as a company to focus on.
Team mates are good, you can't trust everyone, but you can have fun with them at work specially the great polish barista i worked with.
If you would like to work for Pret please visit Albemarle Street, is by far one of the best good environment Pret you can get.
Pros
pret party, Meet people, food, free coffee, good hours, excellent manager and assistant manager
Cons
cleaning, stress, to meet MS standards you have to cheat, ops manager should spend some time with team members
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sumary
GENERAL MANAGER (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London27 November 2017
Days at work are fun but can become very stressful caused by unexpected events. I have grown as a person massively and have built my career from strength to strength. Pret's culture is all about passion and innovation, to be proud of.
The biggest challenges are the day buy day un expected events an the hight staff turn over.
THE most enjoyable are definitely the people who day by day make Pret to be what it is now, one of the biggest and most successful business model in the restaurants industry.
Pros
benefits
Cons
work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forced happiness
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  London22 November 2017
The team I worked with was amazing, all very hard working individuals, highly educated (Bachelor Degrees) just working in Pret as a way to self finance their life in UK. The company has very clear standard and procedures and it is easy to reinforce them within the teams. However management tends to have a patronising approach to employee, and a customer service way that request people to show a "fake" happiness.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seem like fun, but no
Team Member - Full Time (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire21 November 2017
At the first time you start with they, everything look like the perfect place to work, but after everything change. When they don't need you, they make so many displinary needed for you left the job.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
No fixed time hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good
Barista (Former Employee) –  London18 November 2017
Brilliant atmosphere and good team working. Fair and flexible hours and standard pay. Busy environment and sometimes can be demanding. Overall a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Bath, Somerset16 November 2017
It used to be a very good company, but since they started growing it been changing a lot. Poor Management, no opportunities to expand your knowledge. A shame that such a big company is becoming so bad day by day.
Pros
Salary
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice work
member of staff (Current Employee) –  King's Cross St. Pancras Station13 November 2017
Working in Pret a Manger is nice, you can speak with a lot of people. Moreover, my college are friendly people. The manager are good. The hardest part of this job is that I work so many hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pret A Manger. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 402 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.5
Culture
3.9