Poundworld Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work ethics
Sales assistant, supervisor (Former Employee) –  Huddersfield, West Yorkshire19 February 2018
The company is very disorganised with alot of pressure placed on staff with management treating staff like peices of meat expecting unrealistic targets and giving up any social or personal time outside of work.
I would not recommend poundworld at all and they are currently down sizing the company to deal with massive losses.
Pros
none
Cons
long hours, short breaks, physical and mental exhuastion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Anything for £1
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, Devon15 February 2018
Do you count your way through the aisles as you add to your basket, and end up at the tills with a price more than you expected? Fear no more.. as everything here costs £1 (apart from clearly-marked specials and 5p/10pbags). If you're on a budget, you can be sure to stick to it here.
Pros
Simple mathematics, stress-free life. The cues go down swiftly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slave drivers
Shop Manager (Former Employee) –  Liverpool10 February 2018
I worked here whilst single and while the job took all my time it was fine. When you are in a relationship or if you have children this job is a nightmare & demands far too much of your time with a salary balance not suiting the commitments demanded
Cons
they expect too much with no staff & poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the staff help and understand
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Harrogate9 February 2018
the staff are help and understand it a good job to work with and the hours are ok I wish it bit more hours can have a good laugh and more it nice to work place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment to work in
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield8 February 2018
My typical days work includes serving customers,stock handling and shelf filling. I have to face up at the end of the night to make sure the shop is neat and tidy. I have learnt a lot from this company and helped build my confidence towards people. There is nothing in the shop i cannot handle and a tackle any complications as i see fit. I enjoy the people i work with as we all get along well and i enjoy meeting people and seeing new face.
Pros
I enjoy my job and we all work together well
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
perfect working in a team
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Norwich, Norfolk8 February 2018
The work was slow at times but the management was not at all pleasant . learnt so many lessons within the work place . If the manager who is suppose to help would be little you instead. The deputy manager was always with us and actually help us with the problems . The hardest part of the job for me to be on my feet all day the manager became obnoxious ,rude and completely unhelpful to staff and customers alike The enjoyable was interacting with the customers and help when they couldn't find anything they would like to buy .
Pros
working with a team
Cons
little brakes, being told you have done something that you didn't do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good workplace
Class 1 Driver (Former Employee) –  Normanton, West Yorkshire5 February 2018
Good company but wanted more hours and poindworld couldn’t provide them so I decided to move on to another company that could provide me with more hours
Pros
Good company
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place i have ever worked
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Barnstaple25 January 2018
the manager and assisatn manager at barnstaple store promises to keep you on after temp contract and nothing follows. there are nothing but liers and back stabbers.. so aviod working for them..
Pros
glad i am out
Cons
back stabers and liers
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cliquey environment
Supervisor /Duty manager (Former Employee) –  Leicester24 January 2018
long hours, rubbish pay for what was expected, supervisors on 30p ph more than sales asst, but left in charge of opening and closing the shop on a regular basis. overtime available, no extra pay for bank holidays, not very understanding of any problems staff have.
Pros
Great team
Cons
long hours with no thanks
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
miserable
Retail sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Derby23 January 2018
often arrived to an untidy workplace requiring time to fix before the days official jobs began. poorly managed, culture of bodged fixes. no 'time and a half' for unsociable hours e.g. night shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult
Shopfloor manager supervisor (Former Employee) –  Crawley, West Sussex23 January 2018
Was not a very nice place to work. Staff were OK but management did care about there staff. Staff are overworked and penalised for being ill they are treated more like cattle than employee
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
never again
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Seafield23 January 2018
i loved working for poundworld apart from the 8 hour contract with £5 an hour i ended up in debt and the manager didnt know what he was doing and the supervisor was a bully
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bare bones employer with no real benefits but paid the bills. Challenging place to work until..........
A Manager (Current Employee) –  Yorkshire22 January 2018
Poor sales for a long time and a poor Christmas now leading to job losses across company.

Long term staff not paid going industry rates.
Management thought that throwing more staff at the problem being paid the going rate would fix the problem, but did not address issue of no direction or support, just increased wage budget.

If you value being a valued member of a team or want job security, avoid at all costs!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store and staff great
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester22 January 2018
I have been with the company for ten years and head office do not have a clue any more extra work no extra wage budget no extra hours we are not morrisons or tesco no pay rise for four years
Pros
Staff
Cons
Head office
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
never again
Retail Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Livingston, West Lothian20 January 2018
Worst company ive ever worked for.

Bad hours, management would treat you like a slave.

Was meant to be a security guard but ended up doing stock room duties and shelf stacking.

Nothing good about this job at the time except going home
Pros
i got paind
Cons
I had to work there
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hated it!
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  North End19 January 2018
i couldn't wait to get out! my assistant manager made me feel uncomfortable after not taking me straight home from work as he was supposed to. i got no breaks at all! i was on absolute minimum wage
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
horrible workers, no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Normanton, West Yorkshire19 January 2018
Very good place to work everyone was nice to work with good job and bonuses if fast enough long hours really good pay easy to get to and shifts was good
Pros
Bonus
Cons
Long
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wood Green, Greater London18 January 2018
This company doesn't pay enough money for the work they want done . The machines at the till break all the time. Some working hours are alright but after Christmas my Rota changed alot and I wasn't getting enough money for a normal life
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unproductive
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Normanton16 January 2018
Poor management, long and boring periods of no work, poorly run, employees treat poorly.
Employees easy to get along with
Learned how to communicate better
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor place to work
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Wakefield15 January 2018
conditions were bad warehouse was filthy managment were rude and abrupt. the llops were a fend for yourself basis machinary was not well maintained now ppe provided
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Poundworld. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 626 reviews
5102
4118
3187
293
1126

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
2.6Salary/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.8Culture