Poundland Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, nice place to work, fun and friendly environment
ASM (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire14 January 2018
Ive worked in Poundland since 2013 till present but unfortunatly I will be leaving soon to a different field in a Pharmacy,
Ive enjoyed my time an worked with all sorts of people and managers. some positive an negatives in the past but that didnt pull me back although im very bubbly an friendly an can work with everyone. so i worked my way up an became a Good ASM, run a store on my own, was great fun an i went through all challenges that lied ahead of me.
The Area Manager is friendly . and If your a work ethic then its the right place for you.. the staff is very friendly the environment is good as long as there is communication with the staff a managers day to day. Most important is timekeeping time management.
learn how to manage your self first then manage others then ur a winner.

Not enough discounts for staffs except the only vouchers in xmas time. the staff work very hard even under stress, they love it when they get appraisals an rewards of their hard work an i think they need more of that, because without the team there is no us, always appreciate them. I was praised by 1st and 3rd manager long time back and that motivated me very much an i felt appreciated.
So I know how the staff feels when they dont get the appreciation.
But......... politics do happen between managers an staff, when theyre not been treated equally.
all depends on what sort of Manager you have an how they run the store an manage their team an treat them equal, appreciate their work. Work with them on the shop floor. show them how to merchandise show them what good looks like
  more... then they will follow your footsteps. see how theyre progressing an coach them.
otherwise they have no idea whats going on. Treat them fair an equal.
  less
Pros
xmas vouchers
Cons
hours only depend on the average takings of the store, contracts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cashier/Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Aylesbury12 January 2018
I enjoyed working for poundland and the people there,the hardest part of the job was standing on your feet for the whole shift ,but that comes with most retail jobs
Pros
great atmosphere
Cons
can get a bit boring but only on slow days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No life
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Middleton, Greater Manchester9 January 2018
Management have to be in everyday (manager and assistant) no supervisors are allowed to run the shop on their own evennif shop is quiet on certain days - to me where is their responsibility if you need certain day off have to use holidays, work till 10pm most nights working delivery. No life outside work no time for family
Pros
Staff
Cons
Longs hrs dont get paid extra, no acknowledgement for hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok to work there as a tempory job.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Devon8 January 2018
Go in, wait half hour to get instructions (sometimes they were written on a board) and then I would start the day. I learned good skills i.e. customer service, how to work a till, improved time keeping. The management had their good days and bad days, but they would always answer questions that you asked. The workplace culture was a friendly atmosphere also very easy going. The hardest part of the job I thought was trying to figure out how to work the tills, but I eventually got the hang of it. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting the different variety of co-workers and the customers.
Pros
Learning new skills
Cons
The long hours i sometimes had to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Nottingham6 January 2018
Management ignorant and arrogant, wages not paid properly, wage slips not given, staff not trained properly, cleanliness of store appalling and staff only ever given one task.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Assistant (Temp) (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire4 January 2018
Enjoyable workplace and very productive, staff are very helpful and easy to get along with. Clean working environment and efficient. I would recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work place
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside2 January 2018
Iam a very hard working mum of 3 I'm good working under pressure as a team or alone and I'm willing to try new things up for new challenges. I'm have excellent communication skills
Pros
Meeting new friends
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Delivery/Warehouse/Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lowestoft2 January 2018
Good people to work with, management are great. I'm used to the early mornings and doing deliveries. Was trained on using the tills straight away quite straight forward.
Pros
Good people to work with.
Cons
Not enough hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and enjoyable
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Walthamstow, Greater London18 December 2017
A typical shift in Poundland will be on the tills or in the self check-out service or in the shop-floor shelving the products. I have learned how deal with customers and give them a great experience.Then finishing on time the task given. The managers are qualified people. The only problem of the management that they have very low budget and they give you little contract hours. Overall, Poundland is a company that allows to gain experience in the retail world.
Cons
contract hours are very low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Exeter City Centre, Devon9 December 2017
It is a fun place to work and good people to work with also sometimes it can get buisy also you can get trained on different things like the tills and on the shop floor
Pros
Friendly people
Cons
Busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hatfield2 December 2017
The typical day at Poundland is stacking shelves and helping customers with their enquiries.

What I learnt was how to stack the shelves properly and that I need to ask for help more often because i wasn't asking for help.

The management were perfect in helping me out when I needed help. The work culture was ok.

The hardest part of the job was getting up on the stall to put on the hard to reach items,

The most enjoyable part of the job was working with greate colleagues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was okay
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hounslow, Greater London30 November 2017
would not really reccommend especially if you're balancing work and education because the times are never stuck to and the salary is pretty terrible for students.
Cons
long hours and rude customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work
Stock Replenishment (Former Employee) –  Clacton-on-Sea30 November 2017
a Good job. it is a shame it was temporary. friendly management and nice collegues
good rate of pay
the hours were very accommodating,
re stocking shelves and date ordering stock
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Runcorn, Cheshire29 November 2017
I started of as a Christmas temp when it led to a part time sales assistant worked on the shop floor stocking shelf’s assisting customers and also worked on the tills.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rubbish company to work for now
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  York, North Yorkshire27 November 2017
I have been there 10 years was a good company to work for till about 2 years ago it's gone down hill we don't get no benefits now or bouns thay have taken them all off us
Pros
Nothing now
Cons
Rubbish hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant work place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chester, Cheshire27 November 2017
I learnt so much from working here. Aswell as all the tricks of the trade it made me more confident talking to people. It was only a few weeks while the shop got up and running
Pros
Good hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Voul (Former Employee) –  Canterbury,kent26 November 2017
I did not enjoy working for pound land,I did learn very much,and all I ever did was stack shelves,I moved to do volunteer work at the cancer research,as there was no job potential with poundland,and I wanted to gain other skills apart from stacking shelves
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, no job satisfaction
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tedious
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire21 November 2017
I worked there for a work placement through Babington, a work skills course. I worked there for approximately 3 months and then left as my course in Babington was to end shortly after.
Pros
Hour long lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire15 November 2017
Fun to work with the staff
Good to talk to all the staff and customers
The manager if friendly and kind
The hardest part of the job is taking in delivery
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Worthing, West Sussex14 November 2017
I had a great time their but unfortunately enough I just couldn’t continue due to other obligations but In the time I did work their I had a great time with amazing team
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Poundland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 735 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3