Pizza Express Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supervising at Pizza Express
Duty manager (Former Employee) –  Leeds1 November 2017
I was very lucky to work with a great team of people so all the usual challenges of running a busy restaurant were shared. had great support from my manager and across the local area. had I not left the area I would probably still be there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with a team who care
Waiter (Former Employee) –  Salisbury, Wiltshire24 October 2017
Excellent working conditions
great tips
enjoyable even under pressure
learnt self-initiative and organisational skills
job culture and team and caring
Pros
Free lunch good tips
Cons
split shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent place to work if you can deal with the tradeoffs
Manager on Duty (Current Employee) –  Essex23 October 2017
Not an awful place to work, but youll have no social life and if your partner works regular hours it may cause a problem. Ive met some great people working here but management overall has been poor. i must note that area management is very good, its just restaurant management that is so poor.
Pros
free food
Cons
no social life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  London16 October 2017
As a MOD I have many responsibilities for example to verify that the control and maintenance interventions are performed correctly.

Every day I check the Fourth System.

I take care of customers for any request in the restaurant and on the phone.

I organize parties.
Pros
Free meal.
Cons
there is not meritocracy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
energetic and satisfying
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  London10 October 2017
I started off as dishwasher and then onto a waiter and then assistant manager. This gave me the opportunity to grow within the company which inspired me to grow within this industry.
Pros
Benefits including meals
Cons
working late hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Croydon, Greater London10 October 2017
Overall good company to work for , always used to wish the pay rate would be more fair than it is at the moment for the same level of job that you would do with others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pizza chef
Pizza Chef (Former Employee) –  Wilmslow6 October 2017
fast pace
food preperation
cleaning duties
good management
friendly staff
open kitchen on show to customers
late nights and weekend work
fun
free staff meal
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely great company depending on management.
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Bromley, Greater London4 October 2017
Despite many benefits being taken away in last few months salary is still extremely good, especially for students or part time work. Transferring is easy unless management are unwilling to cooperate, so staff experience will depend on location, and fellow workers.
Pros
Free meals, staff discount, tips
Cons
Rota schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and great management
Food Runner (Current Employee) –  Bournemouth3 October 2017
I love working here, management are helping and will go out of there way to try and help you, great team and lots of free pizza which is a bonus!

The downside is the pay and the lack of hours.
Pros
Free food
Cons
minium wage and zero hour contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work for little money
Senior pizzaiolo (Current Employee) –  Cirencester, Gloucestershire2 October 2017
Very log hours very unsociable hours but high amount of progression pay is not to bad but could be always better management and pensions scemes is a bonus
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report

Want to know more about Pizza Express?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Chef (Former Employee) –  Finchley, Greater London29 September 2017
It’s giving me the opportunity of cooking and cleaning knowing the process of the food industry I had good fun and good time cooking for customers and enjoying work
Pros
Yes
Cons
Yes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Manager on Duty and Waiter (Current Employee) –  Cranleigh, Surrey26 September 2017
Great place to work, fun team, fast paced job. Good hours, no early starts but there are late finishes involved. Good tips, hourly rate isn't the best but the tips make up for it.
Pros
Free Food
Cons
Late finishes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very pleasant work environment
Pizza Chef (Former Employee) –  Liverpool25 September 2017
Enjoyed the pizza making but rude staff/management when not up to scratch with the pizza making during trial period.
Organised kitchen area was enjoyable to work in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Food Runner (Current Employee) –  Wilmslow, Cheshire24 September 2017
A typical day at employment for pizza express consists of serving food to friendly customers that often have children. I have learned valuable life skills such as how to deal with friendly customers and difficult customers. I have also learned to work as a team and communicate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace, big tips
Dessert maker (Former Employee) –  Birmingham22 September 2017
Great environment with lovely people. Not bad salary (for a student like me). It was very busy during some periods but it depends on a location. Quite good benefits (tips, emloyee discount card etc).
Pros
Free lunches/dinners
Cons
Very busy, sometimes long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, hard but cool
pizza maker (Former Employee) –  London18 September 2017
first job is always difficult, building a carrier require a lot of passion and dedication.
Very hard to learn and a bit stressful but after all good place to work.
I definitely would work again Because I love pizza and the company:)
Pros
free food, good atmosphere
Cons
long hours, no time for family
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The team enviroment
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands16 September 2017
The team work is great.
The enthusiasm of the team and you feel like you are part of a little family when your at work. All look out for one another..
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great tips, good team work, nice working environment
WAITRESS (Former Employee) –  Bath15 September 2017
If you work well and hard you will do very well here. Great tips. Literally. Financially and it is an enjoyable way of life if you like hospitality and don't mind unsociable hours. Tiring as running around on feet all day. Free lunch. Fairly good management from my experience.

Due to not sharing tips there is a tendency for the team not to work as hard for each other as they are primarily focussed on there own section.
Pros
Free lunches great tips
Cons
very tiring sometimes long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great teams, good atmosphere
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Buckingham, Buckinghamshire14 September 2017
Pizza Express is very hands on as a role from the Restaurant Manager down. The days are fluid, How busy you are and areas that needs support can change in an instant. Be prepared to get stuck in and reap the rewards long term. Plenty to learn and opportunities tp progress.
Pros
free food
Cons
late hours and long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just don’t give you the respect that you deserve as you woke very late and hard.
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Uckfield11 September 2017
I feel like you have to be used to late nights and long hours to work somewhere like this as it can be very tiring and boring. The manger doesn’t give you enough respect as you are the heart of the business because without you there would be no plates for the dishes to go on that would be clean.
Pros
Free pizza
Cons
Long hours into the night for a 16year old
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pizza Express. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 418 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7