Pets at Home Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands20 September 2017
Amazing company to work for!
Loads of training and training days to go to, for achieving new skills for the job role.
Management careers are great, encouraging and professional.
I had a great vast if opportunities with Pets at Home, were pushed to achieve new goals and supported throughout.
Pros
Great company benefits
Cons
Long days for childcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average job for a college leaver, dodgy animal ethics
Staff Member (Former Employee) –  Basingstoke, Hampshire18 September 2017
Average pay, typical sort of job for a large retail company. I was given unsociable hours to work but it didn't bother me much as I did not have a family. Fine if you want to work around other commitments like college. Some of the animal ethics were dodgy. Animals often transferred into the adoption centre if they weren't sold to make room for lots of baby animals to take their place. Do not work if you are sensitive to animal welfare. I believe their practices are legal but definitely not ideal nor in the interests of the animals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Poole, Dorset17 September 2017
great chance of progression, each day is different and they make your working hours fun and enjoyable. Friendly people to work with, management are understanding and listen to your issues.
Pros
Progression and Wage
Cons
can be tricky with some customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management higher up
Deputy Manager (Former Employee) –  Northern Ireland16 September 2017
Not thanked for the work you do, the company itself it badly ran. Long shifts, unsociable hours. Free parking, free uniform and some of the benefits are good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Deputy Manager (Current Employee) –  Chelmsford, Essex15 September 2017
Brilliant company to work for, very good work/home balance. Really take care of all the colleagues, from top to bottom. Very much team focus to ensure all targets and jobs are complete.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passionate about pets
Store Mansger (Current Employee) –  Nuneaton, Warwickshire14 September 2017
It is a fast paced business that put pets at the forefront of the business model. It is a fun place to work with great colleagues and delivers excellent customer service.
Pros
Great colleagues
Cons
Poor work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful management
Store Assistant (Current Employee) –  Leicester13 September 2017
Awful management, all about profit and not pets.
if you do not reach impossible targets you get disiplined.
no work life balanace at all. not a good place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
work experience Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne12 September 2017
when i completed my work experience that staff were very welcoming and willing to help me out when i got confused and didnt understand what i was meant to be doing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expect too much for too little pay
sales assistant (Current Employee) –  Staffordshire11 September 2017
I have worked for pets at home for roughly 5 years and had times when i loved working and times when i didnt. The teams themselves are great, very welcoming and friendly, and management tend to generally be nice too. However, to area managers and head office you are a number only and they make things hard for management, restricting contracts ect. Full time contracts are extremely hard to get, they prefer to give everyone 16hr contracts, they continually change opening times, they are on the whole very amateur as a company. there is no work life balance. They claim to put pets before profit, but at the end of the day put profit before pets.
Pros
20% discount
Cons
the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible management
Colleague (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire6 September 2017
management haven't got a clue how to manage and are so narcisistic tell you constantly what a good company it is.use flexi hours so they can control your life.staff really great to work with and very helpful.keep agency people without contracts for eve.so much favouritism from management borders on the obscene.
Pros
money good
Cons
long hours, rubbish management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Wakefield, West Yorkshire6 September 2017
Such a fun workplace if you like animals, staff are friendly and really helpful, I don't have a bad word to say about this place as I enjoyed every moment working here even though it was just work experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not impressed
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kent5 September 2017
Very let down by the company as a whole. Management is extremely poor, they dont know how to manage a team. Lots of backstabbing. Pet sales are awful, not one colleague wants to do them
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always have something to do
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ruislip, Greater London4 September 2017
working at pets at home is very fun and productive. you always have a job to do and to fulfil. the day is pretty repetitive which could be seen as a good thing in the beginning as it's easier to pick up however could get boring at some points
Pros
spend time with pets
Cons
A lot to clean
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helper
Shop assistant (Former Employee) –  Bradford28 August 2017
Was fun to work with animals at a workplace, made working their a lot more fun and exciting. Also the people their were so kind and helpful with anything I didn't understand or know
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work experience
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wokingham27 August 2017
staff very friendly, given plenty go]f jobs to do that was all very enjoyable, very much enjoyed working there, management was extremely helpful and friendly
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
sometimes left without anything to do
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was not fun
Work Experience Placement (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes24 August 2017
This was a work experience placement, staff were horrible and rude. one staff walked out to the shop floor with a dead animal that had died out back did not enjoy this
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Walsall24 August 2017
i worked at pets at home for my high school work experience and i really enjoyed it! i got to work with animals which i loved and i really enjoyed the work environment.
Pros
working with animals
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful! No support
Salon Manager (Former Employee) –  Cheshire20 August 2017
I worked in the groomers, I worked with some lovely girls. It was shop floor that had no respect for us. Never offered help, hardly ever got a lunch break, never finished on time and told each and every day "you need to do more dogs". It's a sales job where you groom dogs fast. If you can't groom fast enough you end up with your next dog/dogs waiting. You are expected to work on your own, groom 7 dogs a day, answer the phone, sell VIP to EVERYONE, hit a target for addition sales like dog food (not positioned in the groomers so you had to go out and get these sales), talk to customers who came in, book dogs in and out, take payments etc....all while being watched through a giant window. But remember, this is never enough, you need to do more.
Pros
Free parking
Cons
Every part
Was this review helpful?Yes 22NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Assistant Manager (Full Time) (Current Employee) –  Belfast, County Antrim20 August 2017
Great place to work...been here 7 years and can't fault the company...good benefits and great teams. Love my pets at home family. Would always recommend them as employers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a decent job if you have a family
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Northampton19 August 2017
Hours are poor and managers are even worse. If you have a family id advise agaisnt working for pets at home warehouse. They will have you routaining shifts I.E one week earliers the next lates and can make u stay for a extra 2 hours after your shift should of ended.
Pros
None
Cons
Long poor hours and shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pets at Home. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 402 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7