Matthew Clark Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ignorance and false promises
Class 2 driver (Former Employee) –  Glasgow15 September 2017
Overall good place to work. Great place for brand new drivers to gain experience. Majority of the staff- nice and friendly. Lot of heavy lifting involved-so you really need to be fit. New fleet. PPE available on request.
The only problem I've noticed is lack of training for the transport office staff. Some of the people defo shouldn't be there with their attitude to the drivers!
Also quite often false promises unfortunately....
Pros
Great for newly qualified drivers, friendly staff
Cons
Some weeks may be 50+h long, false promises
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Drivers Mate (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands31 August 2017
A typical day at work is starting at 6 o'clock in the morning going to a variety of area with the Midlands delivering soft and alcoholic drinks. Our main objective is to unload goods into a customers place of work safely.We use equipment such as pump trucks,ropes,sack trolleys and bump mats to carry out our work. Working for Matthew Clark has taught me how to deal with customers and satisfying their needs under any circumstance. The hardest part about the job is constant lifting I would say but because I have being this job for 5 years I feel totally comfortable. I find it benefits me at the same time as I feel it keeps me fit. I'd say the most enjoyable part of the job is travelling to different cities on a day to day basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced friendly environment
Telesales Executive (Former Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol30 August 2017
Customer focused, fast paced contact centre processing orders and supporting external and internal customer enquiries to company deadlines. Sociable and supportive staff and management team with regular product training to ensure excellent customer service is provided.
Pros
Free parking, free hot and cold drinks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pressure
Sales Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Isle of Wight11 August 2017
Too much paperwork and hoops to jump through! Instead of allowing sales people to sell they were constantly pulled from one project to another and very rarely allowed to concentrate on what they do well which s sell.
They are very good at educating about wine and the companies they work closely with. They had a very tight working environment and you had to do certain tasks daily which were monitored.
Keeping up with the tick box exercises and worrying about hitting targets set by head office to monitor sales people.
Jollies with our partners were always a highlight within the company and access to sporting events as a reward for hitting sales targets.
Pros
Wine trips
Cons
Long hours and ticking boxes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant
Services Executive /Telesales Executive (Former Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol11 July 2017
Taking and reviewing orders from major leisure chains, Making sure all telesales had completed orders correctly and when not investigate why.
The team I worked on was a great team that helped each other when needed
Pros
Good teamwork and colleagues
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol7 June 2017
Nice place to work, good perks, discounted booze, nice office, nice canteen, friendly people, Breakfast day on Friday, Dress down Friday, get to try booze before it sells in shops
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graft on
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Runcorn, Cheshire19 April 2017
Was really enjoyable on permanent nights money was great even on 0 hour contract 90% wage £10.50 per hour order picking, salary based gets busy at holiday times, eg Christmas, easter, and race days.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with nice people
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Birmingham7 March 2017
Good company with which you can reach experience in the forklift and ppt and voicepicking you can also gain experience in handling the pressing machines cartons and plastic.
Cons
Basic hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Drivers Mate (Former Employee) –  York, North Yorkshire1 February 2017
good place to work but hard job Typical day; Assisting drivers with unpacking, loading / unloading, ensuring excellent customer service when delivering.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleased
HGV Class 2 Driver (Former Employee) –  Park Royal Station17 January 2017
This company was great to work for. The training opportunities are great. One of the largest companies in the EU. I was here for many years ad enjoyed every part of it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cracking
Multi-drop driver (Current Employee) –  Dartford7 November 2016
Just fab great place to work great vehicles and well looked after cracking members of staff all managers are very helpful
Pros
Getting out and about
Cons
No over time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
happy place at times
Drayman (Former Employee) –  Crayford25 October 2016
it was a fun place to work shame about the way it was run at the time i was there however this may have now changed . i made some good friends working at there
Pros
happy work place
Cons
very long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Drivers Mate (Current Employee) –  Across the UK17 October 2016
Typical day; Assisting drivers with packing / unpacking, loading / unloading, ensuring excellent customer service when delivering.
Excellent mngement
Pros
Hard Working Team, good management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place. Simply terrible.
Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Shefford17 September 2016
A dirty and extremely basic warehouse with hours running from 1pm to the oft ridiculous time of 3:30 or beyond. Plus you are working for free after a certain number of hours a week. Management (if you can call it that) are a complete and utter joke, do not go to this company!!!

They have apparently moved to a new location in Bedford and there are people walking around the warehouse doing nothing and they are still working until after 3 in the morning. What a complete and utter joke. The manager of the warehouse is extremely incompetent and basically clueless.
Pros
Not a lot
Cons
Too many to mention
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
incompetence, place.
picking and packing (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ENG3 January 2016
typical retail company, ben doing picking, packing. Manager used to cut break time, we used to get no pay for owertimes, had to work more than 6 hour's no break. I left that Company.
Pros
no free lunch's
Cons
very long hours sometimes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good company
Drivers Mate (Former Employee) –  Shefford2 December 2015
The drivers were a friendly bunch and the day to day work ethic was really good, the job was a mixture of physical work and public engagement which is both satisfying and enjoyable. Overall it is a very good job, I hope to return.
Pros
Out and about all day meeting new people.
Cons
Hot and cold all the time can cause the Flu alot
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work fun place
Service Executive (Current Employee) –  Bristol, ENG10 November 2015
fast pace work place very busy co workers very helpfull and friendly
management very helpfull and friendly one big happy family
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic and long hours but secure
Warehouse operative (Current Employee) –  Shefford, ENG16 September 2015
Decent place to work but long hours
Alot of training is provided to staff who meet the requirements such as reach truck, counter balance abd powered pallet truck
Work load is always increasing as the company gets more contracts and the staff level is not always increased to cope properly
Pros
Good quality training in all aspects
Cons
long unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awfull
warehouse (Former Employee) –  dartford23 July 2015
Long hours no help and management just don't care waste of my time being there moved to a better company with a better attitude to work
Pros
going home
Cons
longggggggg hours/not appreciated
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people to work for enjoyable
warehouse (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, SCT10 July 2014
a good company to work also a good work ethic and atmosphere among the work force always a good laugh ,most of the time
Pros
good lunch hours
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Matthew Clark. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
3.8

Matthew Clark Reviews by Location