Marstons Plc Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice job, horrible colleagues/management
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Whitby14 January 2018
Got on well with staff when first started, but it soon became clear that the long-standing housekeepers thought they were above and had more authority than the managers.

Management was told more than five times about my grievances, yet nothing was ever done. I was being bullied in the workplace and no-one would help.

Some housekeepers i worked with were lovely, but the ones who worked there since it opened, talked down to others, ordered the manager around, spoke to people like they were something they'd stood in.
Pros
Short days
Cons
Bullying, no management, 0 hour contract for everyone
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No home or social life
Head Chef (Former Employee) –  Kidderminster9 January 2018
Had some great times working in various pubs ..the only draw back is no home or social life ..working through breaks so end up working 12 hours straight .Working every weekend
Cons
Long hours ..no social life ..no home life
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but fun
Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  Sherborne, Dorset6 January 2018
Not a bad job to have shame about the pay it has it’s high peaks and low peaks like any other job does but when it’s quiet it is very quiet and staff are a little slow to get going
Pros
Advance through the company
Cons
The pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Appalling management rude staff
FOH Team Member (Former Employee) –  Farnborough, Hampshire1 January 2018
Wouldn't recommend they had a terrible training plan and don't value their employees in some of the branches no equal treatment. The managers in the Farnborough branch are terribly unprofessional,
Pros
Nin
Cons
Long hours terrible management rude mangers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Waitress/Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Middlesbrough1 January 2018
nice place to work for a little poorly run ,management ans=d staff dont always get along longs hours poor pay but good benifits with discount etc great friendly staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Gailey, Staffordshire28 December 2017
Was an okay place to work at however not the best management and it was more a group of friends that were running the place and there was no real rules as to how to treat other members of staff etc...
Pros
Friendly customers
Cons
Long hours, no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Wath upon Dearne19 December 2017
you get to meet lovely people and have the chance to work as a team and create great friendships, lovely management. unfortunately, i had to leave as it wasn't much money.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Not alot of money
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and helpful management
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Doncaster, South Yorkshire17 December 2017
On a usual working day for a floor staff you take food out to customers, set tables, clear tables and deal with any customer complaints if possible or feedback to management. Evening shifts also include small housekeeping jobs such as cleaning down menus and putting sauces in the fridge. Shifts are usually 5 hours and can be tiring.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine to start with, then management get complacent
Front of House Staff (Former Employee) –  Farnborough, Hampshire13 December 2017
It was a new build so everything starting off alright with a couple of teething problems, nothing too major, but as an under 18 they would let you to work until after 10 at night unless you knew the law about restricting that. Also roles were usually mixed around so everyone got the chance to earn tips, however as time went on there became clear favourites that were always on tables and got all the chances to earn tips, they are meant to be split up between workers but you wouldn’t get a fair amount, sometimes £5 for a whole week and even that was given in silver coins. The hours are a joke and if you are on an open until close shift there are high chances you won’t get the break you are legally entitled to. If you are on tables on a night shift you could finish around 10PM but if you are on the bar you could finish way after midnight and you don’t know where you’re going to be until you turn up for work. It is also minimum wage so don’t expect to earn much and if you have busy shifts you will be working way too hard for less than £5 per hour if you are under 18. Also on the advert it says Marstons have their R£wards scheme, we were told about it in training but after that there was nothing, no shopping vouchers or incentives or anything for anyone.
Pros
Training
Cons
Minimum wage, lack of breaks, no tips, favouritism, making up things to attract applicants
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Mistake
Barmaid and Waitress (Current Employee) –  Port Talbot8 December 2017
Daily work is okay such as working with other members of staff and speaking with customers. However management at my workplace couldn't care less about you as an employee, including the GM especially. Lack of respect and value as an employee doesn't encourage best work or doesn't give any motivation to staff. Your are a replaceable worker that is excepted to work at the beck and call of a manager whenever they wish, as nobody takes into consideration your home or social life or your mental or physical health. Avoid at all costs.
Cons
Awful wage, favoritism, no respect or value as an employee
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work environment
Line Chef (Former Employee) –  Brough, East Riding of Yorkshire7 December 2017
Not a fun job to be in with bad pay and little reward. Dead end job, does not allow you to progress in your career. Could understand how it could be helpful if it was your chosen career path.
Pros
Colleagues
Cons
Unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Osbaston, Leicestershire7 December 2017
unsociable hours and late nights, 0 hours, you get what you are given, some staff are allowed to choose hours others not, wouldn’t recommend it as a whole
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent team
Kitchen Assistant (Current Employee) –  Aylesbury3 December 2017
I worked here as a kitchen assistant. I found my small team was friendly and productive however I was not really given much break time. Peak times can be stressful.
Pros
Amazing team
Cons
Can't promise a break
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place
Food Runner (Former Employee) –  Somerset23 November 2017
Hard work was noticed and management listened to your needs, everyone pulled their own weight and were rewarded for it, lots of opportunities for progression within the company
Pros
Opportunity
Cons
Quality of work place
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
big mistake. management couldn't care less.
Waiter (Current Employee) –  Rotherham, South Yorkshire18 November 2017
day to day work isn't too bad such as working with co-workers and engaging with customers. however management staff couldn't care less about you as an employee and this lack of respect doesn't exactly encourage your best work or motivation. you are viewed as a replaceable drone that they can expect to work whenever they wish as they take no consideration to your home life or mental/physical health.
Cons
long hours, no respect or value as an employee, poor wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Bar Manager (Current Employee) –  Paignton, Devon16 November 2017
Fun pace to work professional qualifications, chance to do an nvq while you work, management is nice and easy to get on with, apart from long hours it’s a lovely place to work at
Pros
Holiday pay
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Job
Kitchen Porter (Former Employee) –  Northwich, Cheshire7 November 2017
Honestly, at first I loved it, then it went downhill... really downhill. But, now after having another job, ive realised life is much harder than you think and working here was actually a privilege.
Pros
Friendly Staff, Funny Staff, Fun Environment, Not too demanding
Cons
National Minimum Wage for me was 4.05 whereas others that did less work than me were on more.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsatisfied
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Chesham, Buckinghamshire3 November 2017
Personally I did not have the best experience working at Marston's restaurant. I found that the shifts were often very long and very work demanding. Customers could be very rude so I as a waitress found this difficult to deal with. There was a lack of communication in the work force however management were good and did step in when serious issues arose. The hardest part of the job for me was my age restrictions so at 16 I cannot serve alcohol which made my customers very impatient as I would have to wait for a member of staff over 18 to help me.The part I enjoyed most about the job was setting up tables for parties and special occasions. I have learnt how to prep food and good customer service skills from this job.
Pros
Tips, Group outings, Free snacks and drinks
Cons
Long hours, Demanding role, Poor teamwork
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marstons plc
Line Chef (Former Employee) –  Brownhills23 October 2017
Great as a company to have worked for nice and busy always stuff to do and you always have the chance to better yourself whether its on site or going on courses through the company at various choose of locations.
Pros
Great Chance To Progress In Skill Of The Trade
Cons
long and unsocial able hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
HGV 2 Driver/Drayman (Current Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands22 October 2017
Face has to fit big time never worked anywhere that favouritism is so blatant. I've worked there for a few years now it was ok to start with but new management came in and the job has gone right down hill no man management skills,lied to,certain people always looked after getting easier runs. Don't apply here job is the worst.AVOID
Pros
None
Cons
Management, Management, Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marstons Plc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 115 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4