Makro Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easygoing workplace
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Queensferry22 January 2018
I liked my time at Makro as all the staff were friendly and it made it the store environment a lot more uplifting. The management were very friendly and very helpful with my store training.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
HR Assistant (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire19 January 2018
I was an HR Administrator, dealt with payroll, scheduling, holidays, sickness, return to works,
passing all required information to Management
the hardest part of job was dealing with some of the personal issues
the most enjoyable parts were the people that i worked with
made redundant from this job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding working environment but recognition and reward for hard word and commitment was very evident
Non Food Manager (Former Employee) –  Kirkby, Merseyside14 January 2018
During my 21 years working for Makro Wholesalers I developed many skills and gained a lot of valuable experience within the wholesale sector.
Dealing with all aspects of customer service, sales growth, staff training and development, merchandising, marketing and promotions and working under pressure within tight deadlines in a busy and demanding environment.
Having an outgoing and strong personality as well as being a reliable team member was essential. Being a good motivator and leading by example also helped considerably when working within a large group of colleagues.
Pros
Recognition and development for hard working individuals
Cons
Long hours and demanding environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Croydon20 November 2017
Worked at cash office
Was responsible for day to day cash collection and banking
Management was good
Good team work between customer service and floor staffs
The cash handling is very sensitive and need to be very careful in counting and banking
Pros
Local to home town
Cons
Work finishes Midnight
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean environment,
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Eccles18 November 2017
wholesale suppliers, supplying products to local businesses.
dealing with customers,
managers numbers were low,
never to days the same,
dealing with aggressive customers,
making a impact in a small way,
Pros
variety of products
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and relaxed workplace
General Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nantgarw, Rhondda Cynon Taff7 November 2017
I enjoyed building great working relationships in my first employment role with my customer service skills beginning to come to fruition and didn't feel restricted in any aspect of my job
Pros
Greatwork colleagues
Cons
Long shifts sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's still big
Promotion Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, UK12 October 2017
I was one of first 50 reps promoting the company to new businesses, before the opening of the first store in Warsaw on Popularna. 50/60 visits per day, high effectiveness - last weeks of that stage of operation a little bit slower (we did very well overall). Massive support, great company, lack of better management from the middle. But, still, important experience as that was my first real job.
Pros
great experience to become familiar with a corporate culture - good
Cons
great experience to become familiar with a corporate culture - bad
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
SET Auditor (Former Employee) –  Rayleigh14 September 2017
Since I worked there they have been taken over. When I was there it was a good company to work for with above average pay, good training and good support.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wholesale Company
Checkout supervisor (Former Employee) –  Poole1 September 2017
Daily running of tills and reception. The hardest part of the job is achieving any set task, due to shortage of staffing. Great team on the dept. always willing to give extra. As they trade as a wholesalers you are able to build a good working relationship with regular traders.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Shortage of staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer focused
General assistant Customer Services (Former Employee) –  Poole9 August 2017
Great staff, depending on job, job satisfaction can be obtained.
Helping customers, Working as part of a team.
Store manager :-(
Card member only store. Not open to general public
Pros
Friendly staff discount
Cons
flexible hours to cover all shift patterns
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking...wouldnt waste your time!
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Norwich1 July 2017
Well where to start....started really well with makro i must admit, however this was short lived after the first few months. Staff are overworked and under paid...exspected to work overtime but they are unwilling to pay you.....and when you do raise your problems you are ignored and palmed off. Some of the managers think they are better than everyone else and seem to think bullying people is ok!!!
And just to add to the problems they make up some
Lie about your final wages in which my case i didnt get paid them or the week in advance....id say stay well away unless you want to be treated like an idiot.
Pros
None
Cons
Over worked under paid bullied
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
produtive and nice place to work
Warehouse Assistant/Forklift Driver reach (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester16 May 2017
its a good place to work for staff and managers are all kind and professional to work with I have learnt flt reach truck ,midas electic pump truck and many other skills .
Pros
good team of employees
Cons
no canteen for nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wednesfield, West Midlands2 May 2017
I enjoyed working there and there is always a chance to climb the ladder and progress there.

hours fitted in with my life which was great.

Staff always willing to help you with any needs.
Pros
discount
Cons
loys of bosses
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wholesale/Retail Company
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Poole, Dorset26 April 2017
The store appearance from a customer perspective has become less attractive. Products are generally to a good standard but visually unpleasant to view due to shelf location. Customer assistance is poor with hardly any staff on the shop floor. Generally floor and products are untidy. Checkout numbers are insufficient when large quantity of customers are trying to pay. Sometimes difficult to realise whether the products are for wholesale or retail. Untidy and haphazard items located in the wholesale customer area.
Generally an unpleasant experience to shop.
Pros
quality of products
Cons
store assistant help
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Appling for butchers job.
Butchery Manager (Former Employee) –  Poole, Dorset17 April 2017
Very experienced butcher.could do a lot for Makro

Need to contact buyer.Could start end of month if chosen for appointment.Have delt with company for 20 years as a customer.always been good.
Pros
Hours to suit
Cons
Able to put class into makro
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire9 April 2017
Makro is a fun place to work with great members of staff and the management are very professional. There are opportunities to further your career fir the right person.
Pros
Great Company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed - lack of resources
Fishmonger (Current Employee) –  Exeter, Devon19 March 2017
Was one a great company to work for, but was taken over by Booker who brought in ridiculous rules in an effort to save money. Very profit orientated company they will always look to cut corners rather than spend money and will push Health and safety rules to the limits.

Management will always push for less staff to take on more roles and responsibility in an effort to not recruit after staff have left.

Staff try to make the most of a bad situation and improve moral but difficult when constantly watched and file noted for misdemeanors.
Pros
10% reduction on all products
Cons
Nightmare booking holidays, working weekends and not getting two days off together
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working enviroment
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire18 March 2017
colleagues are very friendly and helpful, fun working environment, good management, understandable routines, lunch breaks are a good length, tidy and big working environment.
Pros
decent lunches
Cons
can be quite at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low moral
Store Assistant (Current Employee) –  Poole, Dorset10 March 2017
The manager brings the whole store including Staff and customers down. It would be a much better place to work if she left. The job itself is,mundane but there are some great people there
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workplace
Fish Specialist (Former Employee) –  Washington, Tyne and Wear9 February 2017
Whilst working at Makro i enjoyed being part of a team of friendly and hard working staff and management. I was taught new skills on the department where i worked and had alot of time spent on me developing these skills. overall a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Makro. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 2,113 reviews
5852
4687
3412
292
170

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.8Culture