Makro Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean environment,
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Eccles18 November 2017
wholesale suppliers, supplying products to local businesses.
dealing with customers,
managers numbers were low,
never to days the same,
dealing with aggressive customers,
making a impact in a small way,
Pros
variety of products
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and relaxed workplace
General Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nantgarw, Rhondda Cynon Taff7 November 2017
I enjoyed building great working relationships in my first employment role with my customer service skills beginning to come to fruition and didn't feel restricted in any aspect of my job
Pros
Greatwork colleagues
Cons
Long shifts sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's still big
Promotion Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, UK12 October 2017
I was one of first 50 reps promoting the company to new businesses, before the opening of the first store in Warsaw on Popularna. 50/60 visits per day, high effectiveness - last weeks of that stage of operation a little bit slower (we did very well overall). Massive support, great company, lack of better management from the middle. But, still, important experience as that was my first real job.
Pros
great experience to become familiar with a corporate culture - good
Cons
great experience to become familiar with a corporate culture - bad
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
SET Auditor (Former Employee) –  Rayleigh14 September 2017
Since I worked there they have been taken over. When I was there it was a good company to work for with above average pay, good training and good support.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wholesale Company
Checkout supervisor (Former Employee) –  Poole1 September 2017
Daily running of tills and reception. The hardest part of the job is achieving any set task, due to shortage of staffing. Great team on the dept. always willing to give extra. As they trade as a wholesalers you are able to build a good working relationship with regular traders.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Shortage of staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer focused
General assistant Customer Services (Former Employee) –  Poole9 August 2017
Great staff, depending on job, job satisfaction can be obtained.
Helping customers, Working as part of a team.
Store manager :-(
Card member only store. Not open to general public
Pros
Friendly staff discount
Cons
flexible hours to cover all shift patterns
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking...wouldnt waste your time!
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Norwich1 July 2017
Well where to start....started really well with makro i must admit, however this was short lived after the first few months. Staff are overworked and under paid...exspected to work overtime but they are unwilling to pay you.....and when you do raise your problems you are ignored and palmed off. Some of the managers think they are better than everyone else and seem to think bullying people is ok!!!
And just to add to the problems they make up some
Lie about your final wages in which my case i didnt get paid them or the week in advance....id say stay well away unless you want to be treated like an idiot.
Pros
None
Cons
Over worked under paid bullied
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
produtive and nice place to work
Warehouse Assistant/Forklift Driver reach (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester16 May 2017
its a good place to work for staff and managers are all kind and professional to work with I have learnt flt reach truck ,midas electic pump truck and many other skills .
Pros
good team of employees
Cons
no canteen for nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wednesfield, West Midlands2 May 2017
I enjoyed working there and there is always a chance to climb the ladder and progress there.

hours fitted in with my life which was great.

Staff always willing to help you with any needs.
Pros
discount
Cons
loys of bosses
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wholesale/Retail Company
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Poole, Dorset26 April 2017
The store appearance from a customer perspective has become less attractive. Products are generally to a good standard but visually unpleasant to view due to shelf location. Customer assistance is poor with hardly any staff on the shop floor. Generally floor and products are untidy. Checkout numbers are insufficient when large quantity of customers are trying to pay. Sometimes difficult to realise whether the products are for wholesale or retail. Untidy and haphazard items located in the wholesale customer area.
Generally an unpleasant experience to shop.
Pros
quality of products
Cons
store assistant help
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Appling for butchers job.
Butchery Manager (Former Employee) –  Poole, Dorset17 April 2017
Very experienced butcher.could do a lot for Makro

Need to contact buyer.Could start end of month if chosen for appointment.Have delt with company for 20 years as a customer.always been good.
Pros
Hours to suit
Cons
Able to put class into makro
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire9 April 2017
Makro is a fun place to work with great members of staff and the management are very professional. There are opportunities to further your career fir the right person.
Pros
Great Company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed - lack of resources
Fishmonger (Current Employee) –  Exeter, Devon19 March 2017
Was one a great company to work for, but was taken over by Booker who brought in ridiculous rules in an effort to save money. Very profit orientated company they will always look to cut corners rather than spend money and will push Health and safety rules to the limits.

Management will always push for less staff to take on more roles and responsibility in an effort to not recruit after staff have left.

Staff try to make the most of a bad situation and improve moral but difficult when constantly watched and file noted for misdemeanors.
Pros
10% reduction on all products
Cons
Nightmare booking holidays, working weekends and not getting two days off together
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working enviroment
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire18 March 2017
colleagues are very friendly and helpful, fun working environment, good management, understandable routines, lunch breaks are a good length, tidy and big working environment.
Pros
decent lunches
Cons
can be quite at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low moral
Store Assistant (Current Employee) –  Poole, Dorset10 March 2017
The manager brings the whole store including Staff and customers down. It would be a much better place to work if she left. The job itself is,mundane but there are some great people there
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workplace
Fish Specialist (Former Employee) –  Washington, Tyne and Wear9 February 2017
Whilst working at Makro i enjoyed being part of a team of friendly and hard working staff and management. I was taught new skills on the department where i worked and had alot of time spent on me developing these skills. overall a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same as before
Career History - HR Administrator (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen25 January 2017
Same as before in the previous statement regarding this company. Worked mainly with customers and handling cash. Also helped out with management.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Friendly staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Chaotic
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Charlton15 January 2017
None of the managers seem to help there staff out and there is no team work presence whatsoever

In the short while i was there i was praised several times for my ability to keep calm at busy times, which just comes naturally to me. This showed that the training in place was not sufficient

The most satisfying thing about this job was when the team received a green audit as i had been the one to train them
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
No management support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place
Cashier/Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire12 January 2017
Iv worked for makro since September 1990
My time keeping & puncuslity record is 100%
I'm fully flexible & can work any shift but need more than my contracted 20 hours
Pros
Nice friendly working environment
Cons
Need more hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire11 January 2017
good place to work
nice friendly staff
good environment
suitable hours

like the cashier job

breaks should be longer tho
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Makro. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,999 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
3.8