MAKING SPACE Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent service
Residential Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire17 October 2017
Making space has continued to grow within the mental health setting. It’s provision of care is exemplary and it always strives to provide excellent working conditions as well as maintaining the care of adults suffering with enduring mental health issues.
Pros
Invaluable training procedures
Cons
Hours are sometimes life impacting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Student Placement (Former Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire13 May 2017
Great to see employment advisors in action working along side people with mental health issues. Learning so many interpersonal skills on this placement
Pros
Fantastic staff member to shadow
Cons
Not enough service users!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful company
Befriender (Former Employee) –  Sheffield10 May 2017
Great experience. I volunteered as a Befriender, managing my time around my studies to aid people with mental health problems and helping them with day-to-day care. This gave me the opportunity to interact with people and learn more about their struggles on a personal level, by visiting them in their homes and also aiding them and other carers on outings and day trips. While I was doing this, I was able to work alongside professionals and gain real experience and advice while in a practical work place environment. Full training given, including becoming a ‘Dementia Friend’ and Safeguarding
Pros
Great experience
Cons
Change in location/management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place for gaining experience & the best of training.
Tenancy Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Rochdale, Greater Manchester5 January 2017
everyday is different.
I have learned a lot about different diagnosis in mental health, about service users as individuals, about all other services in & around Rochdale. I have learned a lot about myself & abilities to do my job role well.
lone working can prove to be difficult with occasional work overload hands on & paperwork.
I have a very good relationship with all my tenants which makes everyday worth it.
Pros
flexibilty (working our own daily calenders)
Cons
poor wages & alot of responsibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good staff
Volunteer Befriender (Former Employee) –  Middleton8 December 2016
staff were lovely and friendly, training was helpful. i found it useful as a volunteer here as my first volunteering experience- it got me out there are gave me confidence to do more and also go on to become a nurse working with similar people, good experience as a starter for this type of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alarming management attitude
Employment Advisor , mental health (Former Employee) –  Stafford14 November 2016
I worked at making space as an Employment Advisor , from day one l was told that l must follow protocol or they will let me go .
I got it the first time , but when it got to everyday l realised the management were dictorial and bullies .
After a week and not even out in field yet , l had enough of their attitude .
I resigned within 8 days .
Pros
Working independently
Cons
Bad management attitude, no security
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Wigan31 October 2016
you learn as you go, about the people you support, the people you work with and the company that you are working for, everything has its pros and cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging job
Floating Mental Health Support Worker (Current Employee) –  31 Huntsman Way, Leicester, LE4 7ZG27 October 2016
You have your own set of clients that you need to support who has schizophrenia, bipolar, personality disorder and learning difficulties.
Pros
Each day at work am developing on my skills
Cons
No security
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teamwork and safety is the key
Care Support Worker (Current Employee) –  bailey court27 September 2016
Love my co workers were family stick with each other no matter what. Hardest part of the job would have to be the emotional stability you have to have with tenants
Pros
socializing with co workers and tenants
Cons
management not very helpful
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Nuneaton6 July 2016
My co workers are fantastic, I love meeting new people and making a difference to people suffering with Mental Health issues.
Pros
Paid Exspences
Cons
Not enough voluntary work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

Want to know more about MAKING SPACE?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
recent changes have made a poor work environment
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  wigan5 July 2016
Work life balance is non existent, management has poor people skills
Under staffed
The 6 C's are promoted but not followed
This USED to be a nice place to work
Pros
none
Cons
work life balance none existent
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good to work for
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Wigan15 June 2016
I start work at 7am and work till sometime 6pm or 11pm with a 1hours break in that my co-workers are very good, The management
are ok but need to get more staff as we are working till late at night
I love my job and looking after the service users,
Cons
long hours no a long enough break
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dreadful employer
Former employee (Former Employee) –  North West.4 May 2016
No real support, ineffective management who take no responsibility for the effects of their lack of support, dreadful bullying behaviour from senior staff and managers and support given to colleagues who are allowed to cherry pick what they want to do leaving all other work to be picked up by their overburdened workmates. Truly poor, avoid.
Pros
None.
Cons
Endless.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Confidential (Current Employee) –  Wigan25 April 2016
Plenty of progression within the company, never felt as supported in a role. Staff team know their stuff as do management. Big recent changes and all seem for the better
Pros
Great holidays
Cons
Too much cake
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst employers ever!
Deputy Manager (Former Employee) –  Merseyside24 April 2016
Discussing employer.
No work life balance
No support from management
Management all cover for each other
Suspension happy
Bully's
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team to work with
Tenant Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Manchester22 February 2016
varied work which can be challenging but also rewarding.


Cons: Rate of pay does not reflect the responsibility of the role.
Pros
25 days holiday p.a plus bank holidays
Cons
low wages does not reflect the responsibility of the role
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional
Mental Health Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Chorley, ENG28 December 2015
A progressive and truly *person-centered* support company. It's been an absolute pleasure to work for Making Space. Most enjoyable aspect of the job? - working with a dynamic and flexible team of colleagues who share the desire to deliver the best level of care in which we can achieve.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CQC Standards
support worker (Former Employee) –  Making space Liverpool21 December 2015
Confidentuality is breeched alot which I feel that is un necessary when staff members are suspended. Ridious when other members of staff are in the know before the actual person. More worried about files being upto date than the individuals whom they are ment to support.
Pros
Get to know your rights
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun plce to work with my clients
Mental Health Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Blackburn, ENG25 November 2015
my day to day job isn't just in the office doing paper work I get to go on walks and do activities with my clients which is very fun
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supporting mental health
Befriender (Former Employee) –  Rochdale, ENG5 August 2015
Good team and always helpful when need advice, opportunity to progress and do further education courses via manchester college, when manager is busy there is always a team membe to chat to if there any problems.
Pros
Opportunity to learn more
Cons
Not always able to contact manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MAKING SPACE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 30 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.9
Culture
3.3