Ladbrokes Employee Reviews

Found 627 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganised and constant pressure from management
Shop Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands16 August 2017
One of the worst companies I worked for. So glad i found a new job. I'd rather sell my car than going back to ladbrokes. The constant change of targets and management styles to try and save money is not making any sense. Everything is so unorganised. And it is just wrong how the majority of ladbrokes area managers are all egotistical power tripping individuals. It tells a lot about a company.
Pros
maybe a good quick to get hired short term job type of job
Cons
customers, area managers, high staff turnover
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair working environment
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London15 August 2017
The only good thing about this company is that the wage is slightly higher than minimum wage to entice people to apply as staff retention is low in ladbrokes, nobody wants to stay here.
The treatment toward staffs is just unfair. The ones that sweet talk get away with everything whilst the ones who do not care to sweet talk the incompetent managers get disciplinaries.
Pros
decent pay but not worth it
Cons
a lot of rude customers and area managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked well for me
Customer Services / Human Resources Clerk (Former Employee) –  Rayners Lane Station15 August 2017
I worked at Ladbrokes from 1994 until 2004.
They was a family run firm and if you wanted any consideration given to you regarding your children they would do this. The staff were amazing and the Head Office building in Rayners Lane was excellant with a gym and also restaurant.
Pros
Nice company
Cons
ob could be repetative
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Call Centre Agent (Former Employee) –  Aintree14 August 2017
An interesting job with a lot of job satisfaction. Working as a part of a great team every day was different. Hardest part of the job was working out the bets and bet returns if the system had gone down. Management were all great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff are comfortable to work with. Managers are understanding.
Cashier/Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Enfield, Greater London14 August 2017
You have to stay calm in this job and have to bit you tongue alot of the time. customers can be very rude but you just have to smile. overall i am quite happy with my job and the people i work with. salary is very good for my age aswell.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad to work for company
Manager (Current Employee) –  Sheffield13 August 2017
They do not care about employees. Bad progression prospects. Pay too low considering how much business is making. Expect to work weekends and night, which means no work life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun yet sometimes hostile workplace
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London12 August 2017
A typical day at work is simple in terms of serving customers however can often be a hostile environment as it is a bookmaker and seeing people win as well as lose are a part of the day and when the lose some customers have a tendency to become quite aggressive with staff unnecessarily. I learned how to diffuse a situation that could lead to some kind of confrontation. The worst thing about the job is when customers get angry they sometimes threaten to wait for you to finish your shift and say they'll attack you. I personally witnessed several serious threats from customers to staff I've heard customers threaten to stab staff, throw acid in the faces of staff and there's no real form of security in place. The most enjoyable part of the job was when customers were watching a big football match and watching their reactions to occurrences within the match and the banter. Another bad thing about the job is they expect so much to a point where it's as if they don't want you to have a social life. I learned to become responsible as I quickly trained up from a customer service assistant to a customer service manager meaning that I basically ran the shop for the day running the opening procedures, handling all the cash in the shop and running the end of day procedures. Some of the management treated staff unfair with different consequences to similar situations for different members of staff. Overall quite an easy job however very demanding of your time.
Pros
Given a day to do shopping for Christmas
Cons
Long hours, hostile customers, unfair managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many changes
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London11 August 2017
Don't like the current direction this company is going for. It's very frustrating. Too many changes being forced upon staffs. This company only cares about profits. Don't know how long this will last but if this goes for too long, a lot of people will leave. Staffs that work in shops should get more support from company as we are the ones dealing with the public on behalf of ladbrokes.
Pros
decent holiday allowance
Cons
changing company
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job has gone through many changes in the last five years
Manager (Current Employee) –  Wales10 August 2017
company is at a cross roads in its organisation and further goals. just merged with coral and is in a state of restructure. many roles are changing and focus on products and people are also changing. Thecompany is indeed a large concern, but its size makes you feel isolated and distant from any kind of decision making input. Staff needd are very low on the agenda and money and profit are it's main concern.
Pros
face to face customer interaction, Sports based
Cons
patterns of working hours. very unsociable
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A worthwhile experience
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London9 August 2017
The pay was decent. Shop colleagues, some good some bad, can have a laugh after work late night. Learnt a lot during my time here, did not regret one bit. I am grateful of ladbrokes for the flexibility during my student years. Now that I graduated, it was time to move on to a bigger and better company.
Pros
flexible working days and a great cv gap filler
Cons
not a good company for ambitious career people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging job with development opportunities, Work/Life Balance not great
Manager (Former Employee) –  various8 August 2017
Every day was different with fresh challenges

I learned how to manage and develop a team of people and how to manage overheads

The Workplace culture was a bit negative with high pressure being put on employees by the company to promote socially irresponsible gambling during my time there
Pros
Good development opportunities for young people
Cons
Work/Life Balance is not good with the long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Rayners Lane7 August 2017
A vibrant office in a great location with a good mix of ages and experience.
A fast moving and ever changing environment where staying ahead of the competition is vital
Pros
Good career progression
Cons
Uncertainty about the future of the industry
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall was average
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Watford, Hertfordshire6 August 2017
This was initially a customer service job, not a sales job and a counselling job. But they make you sell stupid promotions to entice people to spend more money on gaming machines or horse racings. The customers that turn up at ladbrokes, worst of the worst. Majority are drunks, addicts, chavs or just lonely old people. Fair enough, it is the same in all bookies, not just ladbrokes, but expect to get spat at or swore at.
Pros
4 weekly pay
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good memories
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Woodford, Greater London4 August 2017
Was great fun and easy pay while it lasted. The new changes since the merger are just too petty. A lot of mistreatment towards staffs. Many good people either left or looking for another job. Would not recommend this job unless you are desperate for work. It is a shame that a once good company is now going downhill.
Pros
wage is slightly higher than NMW
Cons
too many egos in ladbrokes
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice and easy
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London3 August 2017
It is quite enjoyable if you are young or studying as no days are the same. Customers can be a pain to handle because they can get needy and aggressive but you will learn to ignore them. Colleagues are mostly nice. Only left this job because I finished my studies and ready to take on better jobs.
Pros
watching sports
Cons
no career
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just ok
Shop Manager (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London3 August 2017
ok not treated great atm feeling depressed all staff feeling depressed and quitting and finding new jobs the jobs is not what it was....used to have a laugh now everything is so serious no one laughs
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible, unorganised place to work
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Yorkshire3 August 2017
When I started at ladbrokes i could already sense low moral in the team. Higher management is incompetent and not sure what company pay them to do other than make every member of the team hate their job. Training does not exist and its more of a 'throw you in the deep end' kind of company. 7 members of staff have left within the last 3 months. Everything from staffing to team meetings is unorganised and needs serious restructuring.
Pros
above minimum wage
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chilled but Stressful
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Mapperley Plains2 August 2017
Working in a Betting Office is a series of ups and downs in my opinion, no two days are ever the same. Sometimes it will be quiet all day and not stressful at all, the next day could be absolutely manic, none-stop all day and your head is spinning even after you get home at night with no time to even think about anything else other than making sure bets are on time etc. Culture is a mismatch too, most people I worked with were really nice people, made out of work friends of most of them, the job while stressful can be a real laugh with the right colleagues. The hardest part of the job I would say is trying to get your basic job done which is taking bets while there is a thousand other job related things going on in your head. Most enjoyable part I would say is the big Racing Festivals, Cheltenham, Ascot, Goodwood & the Grand National etc, just the speed at which you learn to work is incredible.
Pros
Lunch can be taken whenever. Mostly nice customers(contrary to popular beliefs). Flexible Hours.
Cons
Struggle to get a break when its busy, Company doesn't seem to know which direction it wants to go in one month to the next.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Worcester, Worcestershire2 August 2017
Fun and enjoyable place to work, fair and easy, flexible and work well in a team, open opportunities available and willing to travel to big events great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's okay
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Luton, Bedfordshire2 August 2017
It is actually not a bad job. People forget that this is a basic customer service job, so you can't compare this job to a job that requires a maths degree for example. Morally, perhaps the company could have done things differently. But this job does not require much from you. It has given so many young people opportunities for a first time job.
Pros
okay pay
Cons
no career
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ladbrokes. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 666 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.7
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.7
Culture
2.8

CEO Approval

39%
255 ratings
Add your rating