Kier Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no importance
Cleaning Operative (Former Employee) –  Kent17 November 2017
making sure the clean is done at the standards they should be management wasn't very nice school cleaning not really hard lots of hovering and mopping involved.
Pros
no pros
Cons
good hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place
Telehandler Operator (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen, Aberdeen City2 November 2017
ok company

abit picky on paperwork you don't really need

quite laid back on the job as long as you are used to working on a site.

overall good company
Pros
good finish times
Cons
getting you to pay for stuff you dont need
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company to work for
Site Manager (Former Employee) –  Crawley, West Sussex10 October 2017
Do not care about staff. No work life balance expected to drop life plans at senior managements will. Stay away from the crawley office at all costs. You have been warned
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company
Cost Clerk (Current Employee) –  Colchester, Essex10 October 2017
As a whole Kier is not a bad company to work for just a shame employees don't get heard. You are forever chasing people for answers to questions asked weeks ago
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
surface dressing (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, Lincolnshire27 September 2017
enjoyed the work on there as we were working away on the roads working with all different kinds of people across the country kier were always helpful with every thing we done
Pros
working away
Cons
long time away
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Heating Engineer (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire31 August 2017
boiler and pipework replacement removal of old boiler and pipework assemble and fit new bracketry to suit.site new boiler in suitable place.fit new pumps where needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company! IT Operations is run by criminals.
IT Support Technician (Current Employee) –  Sandy, Bedfordshire30 August 2017
Abusive and just generally a horrible place to work. Bullying is normal practice and is encouraged by management. IT operations is 'run' by system lavery who is inexperienced in this field -Completely clueless about running an a successful operation hence his chaotic and unproductive leadership style. Lots of finger pointing and blame . Honesty is discouraged and staff are persistently lied to.
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working outside
Grave digger/grounds maintenance (Former Employee) –  Eastbourne, East Sussex30 August 2017
Full training given, from grave digging to road sweeping, good rates of pay, good holiday periods, kier have many jobs, constant on job training given
Pros
Outside
Cons
Working in cold and wet weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
recycling and refuse collector (Former Employee) –  Bridgend, Bridgend22 August 2017
Great people to work for very fair and they made it worth while going in to work, High standard of health and safety which is very important. you always knew where you was with them
Pros
Good people to work with
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
recycling operative (Former Employee) –  Crewe, Cheshire17 August 2017
Kier Group is a leading property, residential, construction and services group, which invests in, builds, maintains and renews the places where we work, live and play. We operate across a range of sectors including defence, education, housing, industrials, power, transport and utilities.

The Group employs over 21,000 people in its operations in the UK, the Middle East, Australia and Hong Kong.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Contracts Administrator (Former Employee) –  Cardiff5 August 2017
Kier was a great place to work at in administration, I learnt a lot from working there. Some nice co-workers and great benefits from the company. Great sociable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very unsafe job
Recycling Operative (Current Employee) –  Weston-super-Mare28 July 2017
I wouldn't advise anyone to work for this company, poor management and lot of bulling happens behind closed doors.
the money is good and you get to work outside
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor
Site Manager (Former Employee) –  construction11 July 2017
Do not look after their staff and poor senior management in the north east and Scotland construction division. The culture of put up with it or leave is very present and no assistance offered at any point. HR is weak on the employees perspective and crumbles under pressure of senior management.

Steer clear of working for them. you have been warned!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good Company to work for
Invoice registrtion (Former Employee) –  Kier Rushden Northants24 June 2017
Working at Kier was a fun place to work, there were 62 members of staff in our department, of course our day started with a cup of coffee, the banter in the office was good, we had our moments when we laughed and had a chuckle about somebody mistake, but then we got our head down and got on with our work.
It was a sad day when Kier decided to relocate the Shared Service Centre so the last year was a very difficult time for a lot of people, but a sense of humour certainly helped. Fortunately nearly everyone has found employment.
I was one of the representatives to make sure that everybody's question were answered during the redundancy during a very difficult time.
Pros
None really
Cons
No part time positions were available
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Llandrindod Wells12 June 2017
I very much enjoy working for Kier, the hours suit me and my everyday lifestyle. I work 3.45pm - 6.45pm Monday to Friday. I work with a small group of colleges and we all get on very well.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
Loader/Driver (Current Employee) –  Taunton1 June 2017
the job is a good job,just fancy a change,been working for kier now for 11 years & 4 months,i just like to search what else is about in the job world.with kier you are left to get on with your round each day its a different round over two week period.i do enjoy my work.hardest part of the job is memories the round
Pros
5 days
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
recycle loader--evercreech--somerset
was loader (Former Employee) –  evercreech somerset16 May 2017
if you like hard graff and poor money its the job for you do anything wrong then disaplined and soon as the sack no questions asked ,its a army thing the boss is ex army
Pros
outdoor work getting covered in other people rubbish
Cons
some people are nice, the boss is not
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
customer liason (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow15 May 2017
The most enjoyable part of working here is getting to know a lot of new people and challenging situations. which has helped improve me confidence and knowledge.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
panter
Painter and Decorator (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, Lincolnshire12 May 2017
painting and decorating kitchens and bathrooms on soshal housing some propartes were very run down with bad tenants but we had a job to do so we did it to ower best ability
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard Finance Centre
Finance Assistant - Process Compliance (Current Employee) –  Norwich19 April 2017
Fair pay, regular working hours, good location and opportunities to progress. In this respect it was a good company to work for.

However in many ways it was the same as many finance centres; mundane work and a high turnover of staff who, for the majority, are unmotivated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kier Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 69 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.9
Culture
3.0