Jewson Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rubbish pay, expected to work for free
Hiab driver (Current Employee) –  Southampton, Hampshire11 January 2018
Big on health and safety when it suits them. Poor wages and expected to work Saturday and over time for no extra pay. Managers care more about profit than staff, nice when they want something but if you make simple mistake spoken to like dirt. Seems the more you do the more you get given because the seem to wanna look after the lazy staff and stitch up the good drivers.
Pros
Easy job just made hard by people flapping
Cons
Money poor, managment bunch of clowns
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad company
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London3 January 2018
Worked for them for a a few years wanted to progress in the company tried many times but was never give the opportunity to progress and succeed to a higher roll
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Exeter26 December 2017
During my five days of work experience at Jewson, I felt include with the staff, I got on well with the daily tasks, the atmosphere was en eject and welcoming
Pros
I was allowed to go to the loo when I wanted and I got to eat my lunch wherever I wanted
Cons
Nothing bad about Jewson
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and enjoyable work space
Counter and sales supervisor (Current Employee) –  Stroud, Gloucestershire21 November 2017
The job itself required full time concentration but you were almost always able to do so in a relaxed manner if done right. Great people to work with and an all round good job to have.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Useless
hgv hiab driver (Former Employee) –  Leeds31 October 2017
Constant pressure from management. Want jobs rushing out but when something goes wrong it's blamed on staff. Lie to customers and about what their staff are doing. Worst company iv ever worked for.
Pros
Going home.
Cons
Read above.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Trade Counter Assistant / Sales (Former Employee) –  Ayrshire14 October 2017
Basic wages, conditions not great, too many suits that dont have the hands on experience to understand the day to day problems that the people "on the coal face" have to deal with. Room for progression but in my experience once promotion is achieved there is not enough support given. You are just a number in this company and it never feels as if you are a valued employee, I left for another job just after i got my 10 year service certificate and I havent looked back.
Pros
Very Little
Cons
Everything mentioned above
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Prudhoe, Northumberland21 August 2017
I done a 6 month work experience at jewsons doing many jobs eg warehouse maintenance, helping customers, stacking delivery's and also making sure it was clean and safe.
Pros
Enjoyable
Cons
No job
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Administrator (Former Employee) –  Coventry, West Midlands14 August 2017
This job was very stressful at times. I worked in a call centre. I left this vacancy due to being made redundant as there was various cut backs across the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical builders merchant
Driver LGV (Former Employee) –  Leicester7 August 2017
The most enjoyable part of the job is being out on the road driving and delivering on your own. I learned a lot from my foreman, from all the different timber sizes to how to use all the different machines.
Pros
Good training and a good manager
Cons
Working saturdays
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Sales assistant (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London7 August 2017
Always fun , helpfull management , the most anjoyble part of the job was definitley the custumers . I have learned a lot about the products . Great place to work .
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but rewarding
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Norwich, Norfolk19 July 2017
It's a great place to work and everyday poses a different challenge to overcome. It's a difficult industry and you play the middle man in the supply chain which can cause high stress levels
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I hate this place
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  East Finchley17 July 2017
H3ll on Earth. This is what comes to mind when I think of Jewson. I hate this company. I hate this place. I would rather shove a red-hot nail under my big toenail and then kick a wall really, really, really, really, really, really hard instead of work here for another minute.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not very good
delivery driver (Current Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire9 July 2017
not very good employer to work for wolseley was a very good better company to work for better hours better working enviorment staff were more relaxed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small team
Sales Ledger (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire29 June 2017
This was a small team if credit controllers dealing with customers from certain branches. We'd credit check customer and release orders where necessary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Trade Counter Assistant (Former Employee) –  Highbridge, UK22 June 2017
I worked here a very long time ago and cannot remember too much.
I have nothing negative to say.
I have good memories of the place.
Well looked after.
Pros
Organised
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pound of flesh
Branch manager (Former Employee) –  Southport, Merseyside15 June 2017
Want you to work late and extra weekends for no pay, its as if they are doing you a favour employing you.
Constant change of middle management means no continuity.
Changing plans and priorities almost daily.
Branched look tired and desperately need updating.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Middle and higher management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Default Controller (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow6 June 2017
I enjoyed my time there and met some lovely people.

There was a relaxed atmosphere and very knowledgeable staff who were happy to help.

It was a fun environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant uncertainty about duties, and work load.
Trade Counter Assistant (Former Employee) –  London3 June 2017
The amount of work set for each employee was uneven, and I was constantly moved from branch to branch, and from yard work to counter work.

Here, I learned to handle a heavy work load.
In the yard, I developed my hands on work, as the job required the operation of a fork-lift and heavy lifting.

However, the workplace culture was a happy one. I worked among people with similar personalities and interests of my own and help was always on hand if required.

The hardest part of the job was the constant change of duties.
The most enjoyable part of the job was socialising with other employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If not for the team
Mill Machinist (Former Employee) –  Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire24 May 2017
If not for the team of guys I worked with I would have left a long time ago, the amount of work vs the poor pay and management was never worth the effort
Pros
fairly good discount
Cons
ong hours, excessive time working alone doing heavy dangerouse work, clueless management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lgv 2 hiab driver
LGV 2 driver (HIAB) (Current Employee) –  Swindon, Wiltshire26 April 2017
A satisfying role, interacting with both domestic and commercial customers. Salary paid role and fixed hours. Working Monday to Friday 07.30 to 17.00 and every other Saturday morning.
Pros
Salary paid role and fixed hours
Cons
Limited progression opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Jewson. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 138 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5