J D Wetherspoon PLC Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Bar team leader (Former Employee) –  Durham City Centre, Durham17 November 2017
Great staff with easy to get to location. Great company benefits and an amazing team of staff. 50% off food on shift and 33% off food and drink at all JD Wetherspoon venues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sociable place to work
Bar Associate (Former Employee) –  Ellesmere Port, Cheshire16 November 2017
Sociable place to work but long and unsociable hours to go with it.
Could do with rotas being changed around to suit everyone because they only suit managers and most of the time understaffed on busy days, plenty of staff on slow days.
Pros
Nice food
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful towards the end
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Doncaster, South Yorkshire16 November 2017
Worked for them for 14 half years. To start off with I enjoyed it. But You see far too much, if your face does not fit then you are out. Some auditors and area managers are not professional at all. One rule for one, and another for another. If you do not fit in you are pushed out regardless of another venue is doing the same. lot of double standards. The hours are unrealistic and they expect far too much from the hours they give you. The pressure is unbelievable and the lack of support is shocking. I wouldn’t work here if it was the last job on the earth.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Lack of support. Double standards. Long hours. Poor pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Trainee Manager (Former Employee) –  North Cheam and South Croydon13 November 2017
In my time at JD Wetherspoons I had a great time, good staff, seem decent management and the culture is drummed in to you fro day one so it remains in the mind.
Pros
discounted lunches
Cons
long hours for managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth it
Not applicable (Former Employee) –  Wiltshire9 November 2017
Underpaid and staff and management treats people like they are nothing
If you leave your job they don't want you even as customers.
If you expect help from the head office. . Don't try
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun and flexible.
Barman/Waiter (Current Employee) –  Rochdale9 November 2017
Very reliable place to work
Good for building bar experience and product knowledge
Very friendly colleagues
Can be stressful when busy, but is fun to do
Has many opportunities for advancement through management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy workplace
Bar Associate (Former Employee) –  Liverpool7 November 2017
A typical day at work in Wetherspoons would be a busy and fast paced environment, eg footbal match days, ensuring all customers were served professionally and in a timely manner. I would describe the workplace mentality as a harmonious one, taking on the task presented with a welcoming approach and a sense of humour. I learned that team work is essential in working in a pub environment, ie- someone to fill up ice dumps, someone to do replenish stock and toilet checks, for example. The most enjoyable part of the job is building a rapport with customers, local and new and making new friends with your fellow colleagues. The hardest part of the job is, for example, when a member of staff has called in sick or if not enough staff have been delegated for a shift, meaning you would have to put the extra effort in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, fast busy pace environment
shift leader (Former Employee) –  Newbury, Berkshire5 November 2017
8hr+ shift weekends longer hours, busy, learned a lot through the 7 years. never felt like a typical job. management team was brill! always having a laugh
Pros
free lunches, rota was fair throughout the whole team.
Cons
long unsociable hours for low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waiter
Waiter (Former Employee) –  Bishop Auckland3 November 2017
Dealing with various customer food orders, ensuring a high level of customer care, Keeping the restaurant a clean and pleasant place to be. I enjoyed interacting with new people but didn't like the shift pattern I sometimes had to work. But this job was only temporary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was not fun workplace
Kitchen Associate (Former Employee) –  London Borough of Islington, Greater London1 November 2017
5.30am to start with cleaning
7am opening
Busy and busy
I learned commercial kitchen culture
Management was worst
No one giving training you have to learn everything yourself
The hardest part of the job the behaviour of the management and lifting
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report

Want to know more about J D Wetherspoon PLC?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Bar Associate (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow1 November 2017
This was great and gave me an insight to what working hands on with the general public is like, helped me meet demands and keep a high level of concentration
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, little recognition
Bar Associate (Former Employee) –  Kingston upon Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire29 October 2017
Had no formal training, despite promises of such. Was thrown in at the deep end every time. First time on the bar was a busy Saturday with 2 staff that were too overwhelmed to help.

Absentee management and no support for new staff. Constant criticism from managers despite this.

Only upside was the other associates and the friendships I forged with them during my time there.
Pros
20% discount, working with friends.
Cons
Long hours, no support or training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad.
Waitress/Barmaid (Former Employee) –  Norwich27 October 2017
Not a bad place, good pay and opportunities if you want them. One of the benefits is 50% discounted food whilst on shift and 20% off shift. With it being such a large company there is always a chance to transfer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not flexible long hours
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Cambuslang, South Lanarkshire25 October 2017
the company are not the best to work for if you are a student as they are not flexible with your availability. the hours are long and some shifts dont end until half 1 in the morning
Pros
discounts in all wetherspoons pubs
Cons
not flexable
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy pub
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Central birmingham24 October 2017
I enjoyed my job but found i had to work long hours to get a decent amount of money and had to work until 12 am
The management team were heĺpful in the beginning but there was a high turnover of staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work for at times
Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  Crockerton, UK24 October 2017
i worked in a very busy city center pub, there was always a buzz in the pub with everyone the people that i worked with were friendly.
management was very good to me , but only beacuse i worked my hardest. you give what you get really. if you worked the extra hour here and there you would be more likely to get that last minute day off you needed.
Pros
50% of lunch on shift
Cons
late closes and long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Hours, Friendly staff
Kitchen Staff (Former Employee) –  Doncaster, South Yorkshire20 October 2017
Overall, a positive experience working at wetherspoons. I learned a lot, especially when on busy shifts as it was a non stop situation working in the kitchen and could get stressful at times, which I learned to cope with well.
Pros
Friendly Staff
Cons
More hours given than contracted
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont bother
Bar Associate (Current Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside20 October 2017
It's stressful and youre lucky to have a manager downstairs helping with complaints, as there is always complaints. Large amounts of staff mean lots of gossip
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JD weatherspoons
Team Leader/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Pontefract, West Yorkshire18 October 2017
Is a good place to work. Just not enough hours per week. Good team good to work with. Great customers also has a good progression. learned a lot including Kitchen and Cellar and FOH.
Pros
Discount on food and drink
Cons
Lack of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7 years.
BAR TEAM LEADER (Current Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire18 October 2017
Overall a good company to work for, obviously being such a big company there are good and bad within but I've enjoyed working and progressing within the company.
Pros
50% off food while on shift, 20% off food and drink when not.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at J D Wetherspoon PLC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 1,432 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.8
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1