Imperial College London Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice research projects with good fundings
Research assistant (Former Employee) –  London29 December 2017
Imperial College is a renowned University particularly in engineering and can secure good funding for their projects. The facilities are good but the management is stuck up.
Pros
Nice and serious research works
Cons
Week Supervision
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World class research
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  London31 October 2017
Very good place for education and learning.
Opportunity for growth and support from Peers.
Good mix of interdisciplinary research centers.
Gym with swimming pool and sauna facilities are very good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Workplace
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  London26 October 2017
Management is horrible, this place makes people extremely unhappy. Salary is low, job security does not exist. People even do not bother to chat with others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place where to work
Summer Accommodation Duty Supervisor (Former Employee) –  London25 October 2017
Management has high consideration for the staff even if they are employed at a short period of time. I learned a lot in short period of time. very supportive environment.
Pros
learning opportunities and open minded environment very supportive
Cons
short contract offered
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World known univeristy
Internal Events Coordinator (Current Employee) –  London7 October 2017
An exciting and busy place to work. One of the most prestigious universities in world that has a key role in new research developments in Engineering and Medicine.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable
Stagiaire (Former Employee) –  Imperial College London3 October 2017
Imperial College London est un cadre de travail à la fois agréable et sérieux. Opportunité de travailler avec des équipes plurinationales et pluridisciplinaires.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Teaching Fellow (Current Employee) –  Hammersmith Hospital13 September 2017
Productive although it is a very competitive workplace.
Always worked extra hours to achieve aims and objectives.
Mainly focused on research and teaching.
Pros
Top university
Cons
long hours - used my annual leave for career development courses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and dynamic
Honorary contractor (Former Employee) –  London12 September 2017
I was as observer there so I was not active part of the group. I learnt about national management of some kind of cases.
Extremely useful and very friendly.
Pros
educational
Cons
no salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Idk anymore
Summer Research Student (Former Employee) –  London12 September 2017
I did one of these already christ. Please when will the pointless reviews stop. I just want to throw my cv at companies. It's a nice cv tbf. Ta ta for now
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and produce world class science
Volunteering research assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London2 September 2017
A great place to work with a well deserved, world class reputation for producing fantastic science. I worked as part of an exciting and dyanmic team and the consensus was that Imperial College was a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Research Charge Nurse (Current Employee) –  London29 August 2017
I have thoroughly enjoyed working for Imperial College London. I have been very fortunate to do my Masters with where I work and being an employee here was really beneficial to have a discount off of my Masters. I will stay working here for a long time. Friendly staff, great team, good work life balance
Pros
Offers for events
Cons
None to note
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  London23 August 2017
Very interesting people to work with. Everyone is hardworking, seek constant improvement and live life to their fullest. Very easy to find the responsible person if you need to solve a problem.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great palce to work
Employee (Current Employee) –  london11 August 2017
Imperial is a great place to work with a good work lif balance and perks, because of this thouhg people tend to stick around so progression is limited
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer-facing work role for 32 years
IT Consultant (Former Employee) –  South Kensington2 August 2017
I was initially involved as a Computing Science postgraduate with development of revolutionary new software to support computer graphics applications. Later in my career I gained responsibility for supporting a wide set of proprietary high-end graphics applications and hardware systems.

TO BE IMPROVED
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London2 August 2017
Good learning experience, had an opportunity to innovate and file two patent disclosures while learning more on the experimental validation aspects of radial turbine design
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative and supportive work place
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  London1 August 2017
Nice fun atmosphere and very good support for students and staff.
Decent facilities however no tolerance for under performance and high pressure to produce high impact research.
Pros
Nice work environment
Cons
Lack of job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  London23 July 2017
Flexible working and good collaboration with others. Good to get work done as you are surrounded with like minded and motivated people. Can be difficult with the work loads but it is overall a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Employer
Finance Manager (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London21 July 2017
Imperial has an excellent worldwide reputation for Excellence. Good work / life balance. Central Location in London.

Lots of staff discounts. Excellent pension, Staff Gym with swimming pool, Use of Library numerous benefits- too many to mention here.

Give you autonomy to get on with your own work. Standard 9-5 hours. 1 hour lunch.

Supportive Managers and friendly colleagues, manageable workload. nice working environment. Lots of training available.

Free hot drinks (Tea, Coffee, Mocha)

Lots of Social Events: Staff Sports day, Summer Party, Christmas Parties etc.
Pros
Supportive Managers and friendly colleagues, manageable workload. nice working environment. Lots of training available
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and fun
Research Student (Former Employee) –  South Kensington, London10 July 2017
My typical day as a research student involved reviewing results from the experiments I had conducted the day before, evaluating them and planning the next set of experiments. With time, I was given the independence to work at my own pace and conduct any additional experiments I was interested in doing. I liked this freedom very much.
Plenty of importance was also placed on work life balance which I appreciated greatly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great but stressful
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London6 July 2017
Lots of good things about it, but a stressful place to work overall. May be different as a permanent employee, but most people are postdocs on fixed term contracts which is basically a temp job not a career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Imperial College London. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 96 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.7
Culture
3.8

Imperial College London Reviews by Location