House of Fraser Employee Reviews

Found 465 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Oxford Street, Greater London22 September 2017
Not many customers and so majority of the time you'll be standing around or doing little boring tasks. The staff are nice at the different stations and good discount.
Pros
Team
Cons
Borden
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes18 September 2017
I enjoyed working here over the Christmas period, this company pays you extremely well and the work is good I found myself constantly busy so everyday time flew by
Pros
Excellent food at lunchtime
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent store to work for
Part Time Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester17 September 2017
completed NVQ level 2
worked in a variety of departments:
fashion
homeware
stock handling
post room

hardest part of the job was being given tasks to complete in too short a time
really enjoyed having excellent rapour with customers and staff alike
Pros
free tea and coffee on brand events
Cons
late nights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place nice people
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  2nd floor13 September 2017
I thoroughly enjoy working at House of Fraser it is a friendly safe enviroment and we all work as a team. I learned alot in House of Fraser ie- how customers can be so different from one department to another, and how hard work pays off. The most enjoyable part is definately pleasing the customer and for them to return to purchase again. i love the product it sells and i enjoy shopping there myself.
Pros
staff
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Support Replenishment (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire12 September 2017
Working at House of Fraser increased my skills in customer service and was the first time I worked with a large organisation in a busy environment. I was able to see what it was like being a part of a large workforce doing whatever was required of me in multiple departments, with many tasks ranging from visual displays and stockroom management to till service and online ordering.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid workplace
Deputy Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  London12 September 2017
As much as I love working in this environment I feel it is time to move onwards and upwards as i seek new and exciting new challenges.
I've learned a great deal in how to be a more efficiant and driven manager
Pros
good benefits and company
Cons
bad progression for loyalty
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When I worked there the staff and management were good
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London9 September 2017
When I worked there the company was good I enjoyed going to work I worked with some really nice people and got to see some famous people I would like to work there again ( near to we're I live ) but now it's difficult to get back in 😔Xx
Pros
Meeting famous people
Cons
Long train journey x
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Retail Sales Assistant - Dents (Former Employee) –  Belfast City Centre, County Antrim7 September 2017
Loved the job.

Worked for Dents in House of Fraser

Maintaining and organising the stock to maintain high standards
Giving the best customer service to each customer
Handing cash, issuing refunds, checks and credit card transactions
Opening tills, cashing up
Printing any supplementary notes as required
Met sale goals
Communicated to co-workers and managers through telephone
Identifying customer requirements
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Late hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Role
Sales Advisor/ Recognition Expert (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands5 September 2017
I am a dedicated, conscientious and efficient worker with a flexible outgoing manner. Hard working, reliable and able to communicate at all levels. I also have the ability to work as part of a team or individually. I am adaptable and willing to take on new challenges to succeed in my career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
for fashion lovers
Acting supervisor (Former Employee) –  High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire3 September 2017
good uniform discount, ok hours, a bit of pressure for selling, atmosphere can be quite catty from how staff, working for a concession is a lot better
Pros
uniform
Cons
atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Guildford2 September 2017
nice people, nice to learn about the different products they have in the store. friendly customers. good hours to work and reasonably good wages as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great people
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Dartford, Kent1 September 2017
Lovely friendly staff. It is fast pace of staff in and out of store through the years, Great place to work if your full time to get a higher position, if you are part time there isn't any future progression in store to become higher position.
Pros
Uniform on your department
Cons
Shortstaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh31 August 2017
Great place to work, Customers were very good, always pleasant
respectful.
 Worked at Precis and Planet concession
 Supporting the store team and manager to increase revenue streams and profit targets
 Providing a friendly and helpful service to customers
 Maintaining high standards of presentation and cleanliness across the store
 Demonstrating good product knowledge to customers on key promotions and offers
Providing cover in other areas during periods of holidays and sickness.
Approaching customers that may require assistance if you are on the shop floor
Carrying out stock replenishment
Ensuring all areas of the store remain tidy at all times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Meadowhall30 August 2017
As tedious as retail work may be, the staff and management made House of Fraser into an enjoyable experience at times. Hours over Christmas were certainly challenging and quiet hours in the store became very boring.
Pros
Competitive Pay
Cons
Poor holiday hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Belfast29 August 2017
Good place to work. Good managment.work collegues lovely people and great team work. The pay could be a little higher for what us expected from the job. But other than that a great comoany over all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely people awful managment
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear28 August 2017
I work on a concession in HOF. The girls are lovely and the staff discount is great however the management ignore you because you are not 'HOF' staff.
Pros
Discount, people
Cons
Management, boring
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting place to work
Sales Manager - Menswear (Current Employee) –  Glasgow26 August 2017
every day is never the same!

Always busy, loads of things can change daily. Need to be quick thinking to react to changes which can happen daily...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and intense
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Oxford Street, Greater London25 August 2017
I worked as a Sales assoiciuate during the Christmas period. working in HOF developed my customer service and how to achieve sale targets. I made a £780 sales in one day.
Pros
long lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of direction
Visual Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London25 August 2017
Depending on your manager I think this job would be a lot better, however for myself the visual manger was poor and gave myself lack of motivation to work.
Pros
Monday to Friday job
Cons
Poor management and progression
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun yet educational
Sales Assistant (Christmas Temp) (Former Employee) –  Camberley, Surrey23 August 2017
can get quite boring if there are no customers
there's always someone to talk to
constantly learning new things
management very well organised
you always smell nice when you come home
Pros
bonus perfume if targets meet
Cons
on your feet all day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at House of Fraser. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 489 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5