Holland & Barrett Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful management and lack of direction.
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Shrewsbury, Shropshire15 January 2018
The Shrewsbury store moved and was staffed with younger ignorant staff who were pushy and tried to upsell everything.
Management don’t suit the natural and friendly ethos of the brand.
Forced to be in customers face.
Bad and inconsiderate management.
Unprofessional distribution of hours.
Will not be returning, even as a customer.
Not the first time I have heard negatives about this store.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Forced to be in customer’s face. Incompetent staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place on earth to be employee
A nobody (Former Employee) –  Runcorn, Cheshire6 January 2018
Don't invest in training
Poor pay
High turnover staff
Horrendous manager (area)
High street name with Low street standards
2018 I can see HB folding!!
Pros
No Pros
Cons
All cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place where you feel that your work is appreciated.
Assistant Manager/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London5 January 2018
Learned to develop and train a team.
Enjoy being part of a manegement, helping with paperwork and cashing up the tills. Taking full accountability for the shop.
Pros
Staff Discount
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun relaxed workplace
Senior Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Market Harborough, Leicestershire2 January 2018
I have to admit it wasnt exactly what i expected but its a nice relaxed retail shop perfect for someone that just wants a bit of light work

Perhaps not the best fit for a young man or woman looking for a fun party sort of atmosphere where everyone goes out after work however for an older staff member who just wants to to do the job and get home it's great
Pros
Good benefits, good hours, nice 30 minutes breaks
Cons
Rude customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
recommend
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bath, Somerset31 December 2017
only did work experience here but for 2 months full time i really enjoyed myself there. the staff are very friendly and accommodating to new employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For the customer not for the employees
SENIOR MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Midland31 December 2017
Wages are poor
Many unpaid hours
Not paid for the work pressure
Holiday still leftovers due to poor recruitment
Staff drain a lot due to poor wages
Advertising all staffs are qualified but not paid for the qualification
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Unpaid hours for full time staff, poor wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Manchester15 December 2017
Horrible place to work , not allowed to talk , even if it involves work . Too much work required to do all at once , For the amount of work and learning you have to d o, the wages are diabolical ! Feel under appreciated , don't have to get a break up to 6 hrs, on the whole a very bad company to work for !!
Pros
A doughnut if you work very hard
Cons
where do I begin !
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok work place
Retail assistant (Current Employee) –  Bromley, Greater London12 December 2017
Most enjoyable part of job was the people you work with, as well as the satisfaction of helping customers. Management good in most part, but very much dependent on store.
Pros
holidays
Cons
no breaks under 5 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hartlepool, Durham9 December 2017
The management are so unorganised you get texts changing your shift at 9 pm. Very unfriendly. Forced to be in customers face. Poor pay and too many hours.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rewarding
Assistant manager (Current Employee) –  Kent6 December 2017
Holland and Barrett is a great company to work for if you are interested in following and sharing knowledge on leading a healthy lifestyle, diet and natural beauty, super foods and so on!
It is good fun you do learn a lot and gain qualifications, you have to put a lot of your own time and effort in however.
You do have to commit a lot of of your own free time to the company for training, you do not get paid each time you open or close the store, uncertainty of secured hours, a lot of hours being cut but their profits only get higher!
Health is a touchy subject so you need patience and expect rude demanding customers, despite your hard work and friendliness.
But overall I love working there, I love being in a health shop, its just my patience for rude customers are wearing thin
I am just seeing what else is out there and avoid customer facing unless its specific...
Pros
25% staff discount, Good training programs, promotions
Cons
Uncertainty of hours, losing contract hours, rude customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A cute little shop
Supplement adviser (Former Employee) –  Llandudno5 December 2017
Lovely place to work. They are considerate of their staff, ensuring they're all trained and looked after. Training days are regular and you get to meet staff in the same shoes as you from all over. Managers support your training and help where they can. And you can practice while on the shop floor in remembering and learning what things are.
Pros
Training
Cons
Needs a bigger store
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's alright.
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  South East30 November 2017
As with every other review I've seen - the pay is dreadful considering you are expected to help people with their health, you can make someone seriously ill if you make the wrong recommendation. Your commission only gets given to you if you achieve 75% satisfaction based on surveys that customers can fill out. This is a terribly flawed system as people will be more inclined to fill out a survey if you do something wrong rather than if they receive a positive experience in store. I have never received my commission but the managers use it as a threat, they tell you how much money you will be getting and say you won't receive it unless surveys improve. I'm a supervisor and lone trade multiple days a week, but inexplicably I'm on the same rate of pay as the store assistants! When questioned management say that's normal. What's the motivation to be a manager if there's no pay difference?!
Pros
25% discount. Overtime and training travel expenses paid
Cons
Poor management structure. Clueless area management, problems never resolved
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Being a supervisor for Holland & Barrett (Current Employee) –  Holland, UK24 November 2017
A typical day at work would be nice and joyful, the team all work together to beat the targets for the day and enjoy working together as a whole. A strong team
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stayed way too long.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands16 November 2017
The whole company is a completely and utter nightmare, I handed my notice in after being here a year and the management reply with well we will replace you easy. Targets are far too high for the areas the stores are in. The pay isn’t anywhere near high enough for what you’re expected to do.

If you enjoy lone trading, being treated like a dirt bag and not getting paid anywhere near enough, you will love it.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS.
Pros
Discount.
Cons
Lone trailing, management attitude, training far too intense, lack of decent wage, the list could go on.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always focused on sales
HEALTH SALES SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  London14 November 2017
Typical day will be focused on sales and despite the company pushing customer service as the aim, staff have to acquire positive feedback just to get their commission and they have to do periodic tests to remain on the commission pay role. A low paid job with high expectations. Staff face customers who generally are unwell and seek knowledge about their health so training is intense but the pay does not recognize the dedication such industry trained staff have to face. Despite being a retail store, staff are dealing with health issues every moment.
Pros
Good staff discount.
Cons
Tests have to be passed to get your pay plus commission
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hated every moment.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire13 November 2017
Very poor rate of pay even when left with the responsibility of managing a store. Often working on your own first thing in the morning and from around 4.30 onwards in the afternoon.
Pros
20% discount
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freindly team
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Yorkshire and Humberside9 November 2017
Friendly helpful team in our shop but as a company I would not recommend this company if you like spending time with your family as not flexible at all with weekend work, i think they expect to much of you for the wages you get and why are people expected to loan trade? Wrong and dangerous!! Loyalty cards are a pain and they won't make customers come back, great customer care will, which our shop went out of our way to do.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Loan trading, not flexible, greedy money makers, sundays should be on a rota
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful company
Associate (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London2 November 2017
3rd worst company to work for in 2017. That says it all. Don't waste your time!
Staff is not appreciated, you are never good enough.
Bullying management.
Pros
None
Cons
Too many
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowleagble place to work
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Supervisor21 October 2017
Very fun place to work for, nice people you could say that you were working with family.

Working in Retail has it's ups and downs.
When you have young kids is difficult to be working long hours shifts.
Pros
A very human and decent Manager
Cons
Flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Morden, Greater London17 October 2017
Job involved loading deliveries weekly and generally keeping stock replenished on the shop floor. I learnt a lot from my manager about health food and supplements and was able to relay that to customer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Holland & Barrett. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 319 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.8
Salary/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.7
Culture
2.8