Hertfordshire County Council Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lovely clients
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Hertfordshire31 October 2017
shift work nice work life balance
good training
shifts maybe 8-12 or 5-10 or anything around that
weekend working
fair christmas rota
sleeping in is part of the job
Pros
flexible
Cons
busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good at first but became toxic
Community Finance Officer (Former Employee) –  Stevenage, Hertfordshire31 October 2017
In later years harassed all the working day due to management style and need to cut costs mostly at my expense. I learnt not to trust and became disillusioned and complacent which was not a good place to be. The hardest part of the job was the consistent harassment by management preventing me from doing my job. The most enjoyable part of the job was the general public/residents of Hertfordshire County Council.
Pros
public
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance but opportunities for career progression poor.
HR Officer (Former Employee) –  Hertford16 October 2017
Good people to work with but workplace culture can be slow to move forward. Management is mixed and some are not geared up to manage people through change or challenge.
Hardest part of job was managing people's expectations.
Most enjoyable part of job was the people.
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
Career progression
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed learning different programs
Database Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hertford16 October 2017
Working on the live site of the website was good and liked that I was kept busy all the time.

Also using Microsoft office,as well as new software specially designed for the County.
Pros
good team
Cons
full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire8 October 2017
liked working here.Was an enjoyable experience and one that I will always look fondly back on, as circumstances move on in life unfortunately I had to move forward too.
Pros
working environment
Cons
wasnt a free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Letchworth1 October 2017
I enjoyed my time as teacher and it was one of the most rewarding jobs I have ever done. It is near on impossible to create a work/life balance due to the amount of paperwork expected of you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard Childrens Home
Residential Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Hemel Hempstead27 September 2017
nothing more to add as I believe this like many others has now closed. I was a service of its time and met the need of the local population for child care.
Pros
none
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, children make it worthwhile.
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hertfordshire26 September 2017
No sick pay, stressful, no incentives, no bonuses, no thanks!!!
Low pay....doesn't even cover my bills....I have to work two other jobs.
They take advantage of the fact I enjoy working with children and exploit it!!!!!!
I lose £50 per day for the first two days off sick, which is actually more than I would earn!!!!!
Pros
Watching children gain confidence and progress.
Cons
Poor pay, no sick pay....high expectations for no reward.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Integrated working atmosphere
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Bushey, Hertfordshire1 September 2017
The working environment is inclusive with potential for progression to senior management and switching of roles; promotes value added working attitudes, diversity; holistic (team work); person centredness approach (i.e. client's oriented support and care); just to mention few.
Pros
There are plenty of employees' motivational schemes, such as market forces payments, shipping vouchers, flexible working environment, learning & development opportunities.
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very profesional organisation
General Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Watford, Hertfordshire29 August 2017
I have worked for hertfordshire county council through multiple jobs:
First i volunteered for seven years in my local community.

I worked for hertfordshire county catering in a school kitchen for four years.

And i am currently working in kingsway infant school as a learning mentor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Summary
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Hertfordshire18 August 2017
It is an ok place to work, the work culture is dependent on many variables including colleagues. The remuneration is not the greatest but this is compensated by some of the benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice working enviroment good managers
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  St Albans, Hertfordshire9 August 2017
I worked with adults with learning disabilities in a day service setting supporting with various activities the team was good and the service users appeared happy and content most of the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Far too relaxed
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Hertford, Hertfordshire3 August 2017
Some great people and managers but too lax. No clear progression inside your team and often told to look elsewhere to move up. Shame because it could be a great environment.
Pros
Relaxed and work-life balance is great.
Cons
Feels a bit dead-end.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Culture
Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Cheshunt, Hertfordshire20 May 2017
Good supportive environment. Good CPD opportunities. Good communication. Easy access and good parking. Problems encountered are due to budgetary controls.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Budgetary constraints
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Helpful
Bilingual Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hatfield, Hertfordshire7 April 2017
Flexible and fair. Interview was pleasant and council provided a very good course in Stevenage to fully prepare for the Bilingual teacher assistant job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Day Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Watford, Hertfordshire5 April 2017
working for the council is very rewarding, there are a lot of pros and not many cons. I have had opportunities to take part in courses and regularly get put on training courses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to q
HR Business Partner (Current Employee) –  Hertfordshire4 April 2017
Great management, excellent flexible working options. Great work environment. Plenty of opportunity to become involved in great project work. Fantastic team to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Apsley12 March 2017
Great place to work. Always helpful and fair . Work with Adults with learning disabilities help them back into the workforce. In a caring and freindly environment.. I have managed a fully functioning cafe whilst training Adults with learning disabilities and found it very productive and enjoyable. Customers are very understanding with the trainees and I have personally found that it is a good place to work and have been given support when needed
Pros
Good pension. Freindly atmosphere
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too bad
Licensing Officer (Current Employee) –  Hertfordshire11 March 2017
Company is well located close to transport links, there are many benefits with working with the company.

Many internal vacancies and chances to work with other teams to gain and insite to other services.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you have kids, very flexible
Senior Support Officer (Current Employee) –  Stevenage13 February 2017
Good place to work, great smart working tools to enable working from other sites easily, and working ftom home in emergencies.

Great learning opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hertfordshire County Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 68 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.8