Hertfordshire County Council Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A council that does not place any value on their employees
Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Apsley, Hertfordshire12 February 2018
A council that does not place any value on their employees. Poor career progression, favouritism and poor life-work balance due to the 37.5 hrs /week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Effectiveness driven by budget
Team Manager (Former Employee) –  Children’s services30 January 2018
Committed to ensuring that Herts residents receive optimum care, though budget cuts have affected how this aim is brought about. Adequate working conditions.
Pros
Good team spirit
Cons
Budget cuts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Children's Information and Advice Officer (Current Employee) –  Stevenage, Hertfordshire27 January 2018
HCC - support development to progress. Flexible with the working hours when needed, childcare etc. Communication can be poor. Expectations of workload to be managed can be very high pressured. Transparency is needed in the public sector.
Pros
Flexible working
Cons
Poor communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job
Nursery Nurse (Former Employee) –  Borough of Broxbourne20 January 2018
Worked for HCC for many years, as a nursery nurse in several schools.
Loved working with children, and made some great friends along the way.
Often had to bring paper work home, as little non contact time during working hours to do it in.
Only left to look after my granddaughter full time when my daughter returned to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok, very basic
Day service support worker (Current Employee) –  Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire13 January 2018
Very good hours, great team, great people to work with and the job is thoroughly enjoyable and rewarding.
The pay is awful, no two ways about it, the pay is not worth the responsibility that is insisted. The hours may make it seem ideal, and it is for some situations but if you are looking to earn a living, its definitely not. No overtime, unless sent elsewhere, any extra hours work will be used as toil and then you will be forced to take it quick and not at your own leisure.
Pros
Great hours
Cons
Awful pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  Hertfordshire11 January 2018
I worked as a finance Manager and received great support from my line manager and Head teacher.
I was selected to become an assistant year head and received encouragement from teaching staff and pupils.
I was able to participate in many school activities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback about working for HCC! We appreciate you taking your time to review us.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
place of work
Senior Support Officer (Former Employee) –  Stevenage4 January 2018
this company only offered a temp contract however the job security did not seem as secure as i originally though the but i did enjoy the members of staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gratifying and humbling
Self Employed (Current Employee) –  Hertforshire South4 January 2018
My day, and night revolved around the children in my care. Caring, and making sure they are healthy and happy. I liaised in meetings and contacts with the specialist that were assigned to each child. In an office environment, or at home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback about working for HCC! We appreciate you taking your time to review us.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Occupational Health Unit - Hertford
Administration Officer / Occupational Health Unit (Former Employee) –  Hertford1 January 2018
This Unit was outsourced to SERCO on 1 April 2011 and not sure if they still look after this team. The work was just like a hospital out-patient clinic and just as busy and very specialised, however the salaries and understanding by HCC of how different this was to other administrative roles was not appreciated. We had to also abide by Patient Confidentiality in relation to medical records and this was not something they were always aware of. Hardest part of job was getting work done in time whilst visiting Consultants were in the clinic, enjoyable part of the job was the satisfaction of seeing people get better and return to work or get help in their working role.
Pros
Good job satisfaction
Cons
Not paid well
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hertfordshire County Council
Senior Support Officer (Current Employee) –  Hertfordshire19 December 2017
A good employer but struggling with the same financial issues as all local government authorities. Lots of chances for progression but salary rises not keeping up with the cost of living.
Pros
Lots of chances for progression
Cons
Salary rises not keeping up with the cost of living
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workforce skulking organisation
Children’s Well-being Practitioner trainee (Current Employee) –  East Hertfordshire, Hertfordshire13 December 2017
Great organisation whose focus is on skilling up the workforce to improve services across the county.

Staff are well looked after with various well being initiatives in place.

Loads of free training offered daily
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback about working for HCC! We appreciate you taking your time to review us.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pro active organisation
Community Care Officer (Current Employee) –  Apsley, Hertfordshire24 November 2017
I have enjoyed being able to have the opportunity to progress within this organisation.

There are many different types of services within this organisation.
Pros
Easy to travel to
Cons
Hard to park
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Hertfordshire15 November 2017
I very much enjoyed my job role here and people were really lovely to work with including management i enjoyed my job role and would be applying for a role here again if the title and hours were to suit me.
Pros
alot of pros
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback about working for HCC! We appreciate you taking your time to review us

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lovely clients
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Hertfordshire31 October 2017
shift work nice work life balance
good training
shifts maybe 8-12 or 5-10 or anything around that
weekend working
fair christmas rota
sleeping in is part of the job
Pros
flexible
Cons
busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good at first but became toxic
Community Finance Officer (Former Employee) –  Stevenage, Hertfordshire31 October 2017
In later years harassed all the working day due to management style and need to cut costs mostly at my expense. I learnt not to trust and became disillusioned and complacent which was not a good place to be. The hardest part of the job was the consistent harassment by management preventing me from doing my job. The most enjoyable part of the job was the general public/residents of Hertfordshire County Council.
Pros
public
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance but opportunities for career progression poor.
HR Officer (Former Employee) –  Hertford16 October 2017
Good people to work with but workplace culture can be slow to move forward. Management is mixed and some are not geared up to manage people through change or challenge.
Hardest part of job was managing people's expectations.
Most enjoyable part of job was the people.
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
Career progression
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed learning different programs
Database Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hertford16 October 2017
Working on the live site of the website was good and liked that I was kept busy all the time.

Also using Microsoft office,as well as new software specially designed for the County.
Pros
good team
Cons
full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire8 October 2017
liked working here.Was an enjoyable experience and one that I will always look fondly back on, as circumstances move on in life unfortunately I had to move forward too.
Pros
working environment
Cons
wasnt a free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback about working for HCC! We appreciate you taking your time to review us

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Letchworth1 October 2017
I enjoyed my time as teacher and it was one of the most rewarding jobs I have ever done. It is near on impossible to create a work/life balance due to the amount of paperwork expected of you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard Childrens Home
Residential Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Hemel Hempstead27 September 2017
nothing more to add as I believe this like many others has now closed. I was a service of its time and met the need of the local population for child care.
Pros
none
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hertfordshire County Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 81 reviews
533
428
314
25
11

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture