HC One Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depressing work place
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Basildon17 January 2018
Carehome went from bupa to hc one, management Is rude, no appreciation towards care assistants, nothing is ever good enough, care assistants do the best they can, there is always something for the management to moan about no matter how hard careers work.
Pros
There isn’t any pros
Cons
No appreciation, nothing is ever right
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dirty enviroment lack of support
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dovedale court wednesbury14 January 2018
Horrible place to work
Was so hard going the amount of stuff you have to do on a night shift at the same time as fighting your own body clock
Was always short staffed I lasted about a week or so
Pros
Not really any apart from free tea and coffee
Cons
Long hours no bonuses or unsocial hours payments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Carer (Current Employee) –  Linlithgow13 January 2018
very comfortable, happy and friendy staff, great place to work, lovely place to visit. It is in a very quiet area which is always a good thing. I am very proud to say that I work for this company.
Pros
happy people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New team
Home Manger (Current Employee) –  Area 113 January 2018
So far all I see is positives being part of the company. It's a new area team who are kind and compassionate.
Lots to learn and change to go forward
Pros
Good structure
Cons
Moaning staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management are useless, problems swept under the carpet
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Holmfirth, West Yorkshire7 January 2018
Bullying, management is poor, if your face doesn't fit then you might as well not even bother, complaints are often swept under the carpet with major issues left unresolved, back stabbing, 85% of staff don't care about residents and are often neglected. I wouldn't leave my dog in the care of most of the staff there
Pros
residents
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hc-one
Chef's Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear5 January 2018
Good company to work for. Some management listened to what staff had to say and took all comment s and ideas on board. Good care in the service i worked in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy working environment/ challenging role
Senior Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Peterlee4 January 2018
Lovely home to work in, manager can’t do enough for her staff, senior lead knows her role & was only too happy to help you, the care for the residents is second to none, only down fall was the long hours wish it could of been half shifts.
Pros
Refreshments are free/ room to go further if needed.
Cons
Friendly/caring
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsure
Senior care assistant (Current Employee) –  Boston, Lincolnshire4 January 2018
HC one have only just bought into the home that I work for no changes have taken place at present apart from uniform change and new badges unsure if this company is good or not to work for at this present time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company over all
Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wednesbury, West Midlands2 January 2018
Over all its a great company... home in which i work has a very long road before anything good will come of it, poor practice and a very low quality of care
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager really approachable and lovely to work for. Has time for staff .
RMN (Current Employee) –  Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire27 December 2017
It's a challenging unit. Verbally and physically abused most days. Older adults with declining mental cognition. Feel I have a lot of empathy and contentment knowing there well cared for and safe.
Pros
Excellent staff
Cons
12 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wow what a rubbish firm
Painter and Decorator (Former Employee) –  Huddersfield, West Yorkshire24 December 2017
If you need a job try some where else this place is rubbish, slavery was abolished right? The management are awful £7.50 an hour for most unless ur liked, treat like a dog, by far the worst place you will ever work
Pros
Theres other jobs out there
Cons
Slavery
Was this review helpful?Yes 23NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst employer
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gateshead, Tyne and Wear18 December 2017
Wouldn't work for hc one again staff overworked and no thanks management doesn't care sacked for the littlest thing and under staffed constantly. No atmosphere basic things for resident not provided bad company no respect
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours no basic thing for residents
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Assistant Cook (Current Employee) –  Wakefield9 December 2017
i have enjoed working but now think i need a new chapter in my lif
i have leaned a lot and grown in to a better cook and work colegue
i prep and cook all meal clean order all foods
Pros
good kitchen assistans
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace is improving. Staff moral still concerning.
Nursing assistant (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, South Lanarkshire8 December 2017
Our care home has been re-vamped and is lovely. Long hard days and paperwork exhausting .very rewarding job in dementia care unit.wouldn't want to work anywhere else.staff are supportive of each other.having a hard time at present with changes that have impacted on team leaders roles but hopefully will soon be resolved.my care home is good but hopefully soon be super.well done to all our staff and our current support manager.
Pros
Near macdonalds
Cons
Prefer to work 8 till 8
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Companys logo kind care company nothing kind about them
Senior Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside6 December 2017
Our Manager was forced out now we have a turnaround manager who comes across nice but is horrible does not appreciate staff especially night staff who work just as hard as day staff both sets of staff work as one big team but this turnaround manager is trying to do days vs night wrong type of residents more work not enough man POWER which is leading to residents not having their needs met
Pros
Great care staff
Cons
Ungreatfull management who only care more for money than resident's or their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Night Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire5 December 2017
Speaking from experience of two homes i have worked in at HC One. Very poor staffing and support from managment team but overall good company to work for lots of training available online
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly place to work.
Care Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, Lincolnshire25 November 2017
Busy, fast paced place to work, but most people work as a team and try to help each other. great support from management and senior staff members. wouldnt want to work anywhere else
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
long days.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No support for new staff
Senior carer (Current Employee) –  Essex23 November 2017
Just got thrown in a position done one & a half shadow shift & expected to know everything that’s without all the paper work you have to do without even being shown anything
Pros
Non
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rubbish
Career (Current Employee) –  Lincolnshire20 November 2017
No support from manager in home or head office. Staff constantly slagging each other off instead of supporting each other. Staff favourites get away with shoddy work and other are left to pick up the rest. No praise for good work just constantly put down.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Rubbish pay tubbish hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Peterlee, Durham Grampian court27 October 2017
Great place to work everything we do is for the resident needs. residents are always happy and always enjoying the activity’s that’s planned for them!! Staff are dedicated and cover all shift to make sure our resident don’t go without kitchen staff are always helpful and happy and bend over backwards to make sure our residents needs are met!
Staff have a great progression ladder and plenty of encouragement to move on up from management
Pros
Clean ! happy! And good staff moral
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 17Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HC One. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.6
Based on 246 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.5
Salary/Benefits
2.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.4
Management
2.3
Culture
2.5