Harrods Ltd. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Huge department store with all you the items you need under one roof
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Knightsbridge16 February 2018
Many area to work from front to back of house. Selling fridge magnets to selling a million pounds worth of jewelry. An exciting and fun place to work with rewards for hard work.
Pros
Big brand name
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  London12 February 2018
Nov 2017 – Dec 2017
Harrods – Knightsbridge, London
Sales Associate
Exceeding expectations by going the extra mile for each and every customer.
Having thorough knowledge of all inventory, enabling me to provide the best customer services.
Working within a team to emit an excellent experience to all customers and to assure the safety of customers at all times.
Providing support during various queries as well as addressing and tackling disputes effectively.
Handling the distribution of all products ensuring they are in their correct locations at all times.
Swiftly gaining knowledge on another area or amenity in store.
Pros
discouns
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun Environment
Online Trading Administrator (Current Employee) –  Hammersmith, Greater London12 February 2018
No day was the same. i learnt how to use different software's and became more proficient in Excel. Colleagues are friendly and welcoming. the office is very calm and laid back, but everyone is very hard working.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice worplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London8 February 2018
A typical day at wok depends on your department. I worked in confectionary and it was probably one of the busiest departments - everyone buys chocolates!
Honestly, in this department you can't sit down. You are always on your feet because its a fast paced environment. Make sure you don't wear heels in this department girls. The department is always busy so most of the time you're serving customers.
In this department, its like working in Tesco or any other retail place where customers are always in and out, so nothing big there. The people there are really nice, nearly everyone worked with was nice to me - no matter what their age, as there is a variety of different aged people in this department.
The management is okay, some of the managers can be a bit bossy but most are okay.
I worked as a temp, so you have to fill out a time sheet everyday/week.
The staff canteen is on the 6th floor, so if you're unfit, you WILL get tired. I was always out of breath. The good thing about this is that I actually lost weight, so I'm not complaining.
The company is very understanding about religions - they have a big prayer room in the staff area and a wudhu area, its also segregated! and a lot of people actually come and pray there.
The canteen was big, had alrught food and a subway, but some of the other hot food is quite pricy although it says subsidised.
overall, it was a nice environment, the main issue is staff parcels - where you keep your bags and coats. the queue is very long and is not nice waiting at the end or beginning f your shft dor like 15 mins. I suggest you keep
  more... any important belongings in your harrods employye bag you keep with you on the shop floor and leave your empty handbag and coats or shoes in the locker rooms. I took my phone and purse with me and left everything else - nothing got stolen.  less
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harrods
Resourcing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Hammersmith, Greater London15 January 2018
Good career development if you perform well and express intention to further your career.
Not very competitive salary, but great commission opportunity if based on the shop floor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diversity
Concierge (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London11 January 2018
Harrods is an amazing place to work. the management has great respect for diversity.

the staff is lovely

the long hours are the hardest but you get used to it.

The four days off in a week are amazing
Pros
discount
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great people
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  London11 January 2018
We were given a fair amount of freedom to achieve our targets which was rewarding.
The managers were treated well. The place is full of history and provided such a beautiful backdrop to work in.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Company
Head Baker (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London3 January 2018
Fantastic learning opportunities
It's really up too you how far you will go.
If you are not happy in one department you can always transfer your self to others departments. .
Pros
Good working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sometimes fun mostly long laboured days
Stockroom Assistant (Former Employee) –  London29 December 2017
Job security is a myth epically if you're an agency worker.
When applying for full time positions harrods seem to work on a first come basis. Even if you are a better candidate.
Break lengths are different depending on what department you work with. You would be best bringing in your own lunch, the canteen can take a while to reach depending on your location within harrods.
Pros
Discount on goods
Cons
Travelling during sale times
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kill or be killed.
Sales Associate (Christmas Temp) (Former Employee) –  London24 December 2017
An awesome opportunity to learn at the top and of retail with a few perks such as a discount. Although, as a temp they give you a paper called a time sheet to fill in to get paid which they encourage you to get it signed each day by a manager. Problem is they can be hard to find or even not in the building! Manager's care little about the temp staff and see you as an object to be used and manipulated. To succed past a temporary contract you must focus on big sales and show an eagerness to do more which is expected.
Pros
Good Experience, Platform to grow
Cons
Robotic Managers, average temp pay, little to no appreciation for hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Knightsbridge, Greater London8 December 2017
Managers and colleagues were all very professional. Great attention is focused on attire, punctuality and professionalism.
It has the best quality products for the big spenders so commission can be made if in the right department
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Most Amazing Place to Work
Trianee Hairdresser (Former Employee) –  Knightsbridge22 November 2017
As a stylist you get to know so many Celebrities and it a an amazing challenge everyday. Very ambitious and extreme motivated place to work in and very high end of Fashion.
Pros
To much fashion and in the hairdressing side you never lose touch.
Cons
Too Much change rapidly in hair fashion, to heavy to cope at time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Life balance not too great.
BRAND SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Knightsbridge and Belgravia15 November 2017
Typical day was quiet, not too interesting. Colleagues were pleasant and the working culture within the team was excellent. Management wasn't amazing. Salary was good and benefits were good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent customer service
Sales Assistant (Full-time) (Current Employee) –  London14 November 2017
I’m very happy to work at such a store like Harrods. It’s amazing experience and lovely customers. Even if I leave one day the store I’ll be missing it a lot
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very high standard place
Miller Harris counter manager (Former Employee) –  Harrods10 November 2017
I spent two years in Harrods and had really good time. This place require high standards for each individual but teaches you lot. I met many inspiring managers and work colleagues...
Pros
Life balance
Cons
Wearing high heel shoes
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very productive and exciting place to wok
London - Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Hertfordshire6 November 2017
Constantly serving customers. After my one year of service, new recruits were trained by me. The training was usually conducted mid-week. This helped to raise the luxurious London retail shop's standards to the highest level in Europe. Due to the busy nature of the retail shop, it's often said "if you worked successfully in Harrods, you could work anywhere in the globe".
Pros
Annual discount Rail travel vouchers; Cloth vouchers for staff
Cons
Extremely busy schedule in the summer
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Support (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London6 November 2017
Great place to work, very fun bubbly place to work at. Great atmosphere, lovely managers. Very amazing place. Enjoyed it thoroughly. Thank you for this.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
earnings
warehouse operative (Current Employee) –  Thatcham29 October 2017
If you are late for work 1 minut, you have to stay 15 minutes longer.
Learned it depends on what kind of team leader you have on your shift. One will send you to another department to learn something new, and another will be send you to the same every day.
Work sometimes it is hard it all depends on the department. Managers are often not very nice. There is often a problem with payslip. You need to write down your overtime and later check it out because very often they are badly counted hours. The most enjoyable part of the job is often when i finish work i can go home or when I got one big job with no problems.
Pros
non
Cons
bad working hours, manager approach to the employee
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beneficial
Cash Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Knightsbridge, Greater London18 October 2017
Great place to know of other cultures as you meet people from all over the world. Moreover, staff benefits are very good and the food hall is fantastic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive workplace
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London13 October 2017
it was great working there as i was not under any pressure even though i was a new recruit and was working in Christmas. It was very busy environment as we had to pick thousands of customer orders in the morning. The warehouse was very neat and tidy at all times. Everyone was nice there and we had all sorts of people with different background working there and they were all very pleasant to work with. the best part of the job was everyone goes on break at the same time so you never get bored.
Pros
33% discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Harrods Ltd.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 281 reviews
5117
4104
348
28
14

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture

Harrods Ltd. Reviews by Location