Greggs Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Holloway, Greater London15 November 2017
is a nice environment and a nice coustumer service manner but depend on which area are u going...coz some of the shops the dmstaff member are very rudes
Pros
free dougnut
Cons
ling hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Senior Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  greggs birmingham12 November 2017
I really worked hard for this company but it shows no commitment itself and for staff members
They make u work 12 hour long shiftz without a proper break
Pros
nothing much to say
Cons
long hours 12 hour shifts with no break
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Greggs Team Member (Former Employee) –  Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire12 November 2017
Friendly team helped when first started
Started Takeing the mick with hours when i was at college wanted me to work every day
Decent rate of pay for my age
Pros
Discount
Cons
Breaks wernt long enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shame about management!
Team Member - Part Time (Current Employee) –  Shropshire10 November 2017
Would absolutely love working here if it weren't for the manager, she's a bully and doesn't do anything but sit on her Ar*e all day, co workers are brill though and get a great discount.
Hours take the p*ss when understaffed as our store is.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Team Member (Current Employee) –  North Shields9 November 2017
Greggs is a fun company to work for the people you work with are just amazing cant find a better place to work the only downfall is that your contracted to 16 hours and they normally give you more over the summer but in the winter is so quiet and its just not enough hours for some people.
Pros
Amazing staff, friendly and like family
Cons
contract is not good, you do long hours and not enough breaks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long days
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Kent8 November 2017
Thought i was going to be doing approx 8 hours a day, but find myself being put on rota for 12.5 hour days instead!
Tried speaking to management but goes over thier heads.
Very busy shop and often short staffed.
Pros
staff discount
Cons
Very long days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Shop/Pool Manager - Saddlers Centre Walsall (Former Employee) –  Walsall7 November 2017
ridiculous hours and not very good pay. managers dont really do much, dont serve or bake. Brakes need to be more organised as somertimes you cant have one if its too busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad working condition, rude customers and staff
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Northampton6 November 2017
condition in the kitchen are horrible, i felt like vomiting while working also really rude customers and the whole experience is made worse by the bossy, rude staff
Pros
good wage
Cons
horrible job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Senior Sales (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire6 November 2017
great place to work with friendly supportive staff. excellent training provided, good sociable hours, work hard but have fun doing it. if you love to provide great customer service this is the job for you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sutton-In-Ashfield5 November 2017
I was on the baking side so my morning started with baking all the pies.How to use the lage proving fridges ,how to bake and how to use a touch screen check out.
Great staff.
Hardest part was the heat from the ovens.
Enjoyed serving customers.
Pros
staff discount
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced working
Senior Team Member (Part-Time) (Former Employee) –  Glasgow4 November 2017
Friendly environment, fast working. Developed my marketing skills while working there. Management was absent for most of the time i was working there. Strict culture. Hardest part of the job was the waste of unsold food at the end of the day. Employees had a discount on products,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Reading31 October 2017
some days are supper busy and some are quite we deal with different types of customers with different range of products all with very high demand
Pros
free cofee on every shift
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best
Team Member - Part Time (Former Employee) –  Preston, Lancashire31 October 2017
Working at Greggs was my first job. On saturdays and sundays I had to make nearly all of the sandwiches over the weekends, and if I hadn’t finished my manager would start making comments baring in mind it was my first job. He was quite rude tand unfriendly owards me not sure why. In addition the 6am starts were a killer but the pay and discounts were fantastic, 50% off products made in store.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
6am starts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Pencoed, Bridgend30 October 2017
Greggs are a great company to work for with good pay and lots of benefits along the way. Unfortunately I had a lot of trouble getting on with the management working in the store I was so my experience wasn't that enjoyable.
Pros
50% Greggs product discount
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not that great
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Street30 October 2017
Manager and some team members make it difficult to enjoy work, especially with their negativity and miserable attitudes. Some members are nice but overall the workplace isn't that great.
Pros
Free hot drink
Cons
Bad work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Evesham, Worcestershire29 October 2017
Great pay for the hours you do.
Management are lovely! A little tough when under staffed but everyone pulls through but great place for my first job!!
Pros
50% off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place thanks work
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  North East29 October 2017
Enjoy working here but the 42 hour contact but there 45 hours excluding half an hour per day dinner is far to much for a working mum. Love my job but just wish it wasn’t as long of a working day to get that work life balance.
Pros
Paid well
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester28 October 2017
such a really good enjoyable place to work in often eat sausauget rolls all day and watch others do the same it truly is amazing get a lively brrakfast deal thete too
Pros
food
Cons
so nice
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greggs
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  London28 October 2017
Job is good as long as you are flexible and willing to do extra hours the discount is good but the promotion is slow and they need staff as much as possible right now
Pros
50% discount
Cons
Long hours no social life
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Buxton25 October 2017
During my time at Greggs I found it to be a really enjoyable and fun place to work. I made a lot of friends and got on well with my co workers. Really brilliant job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Greggs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 708 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4