GLL Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very clean atmosphere, friendly staff and customers and fun.
Fitness Instructor/Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London14 November 2017
Whilst working with gll, I have learnt many skills.
I have been supportive of customers and made sure they can approach me when they in need.
As a fitness instructor, not only did I assist and made sure customers safety came first, I also assisted in membership and made sure the hygiene of the gym was safe and clean.
The hardest part of my job was when there are schools for swimming lessons and women ony session.
I had to make sure we had two set of queue so customers didnt feel they are not attended to.
I enjoyed my time especially when I have to demonstrate the session and gym use.
Interacting with youth and making sure their session was fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Operations Assistant (Current Employee) –  Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire21 September 2017
A challenging workplace , where I can work in many different roles, for example I am also a trampoline coach and a child's activity instructor for GLL.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Finchley, Greater London7 September 2017
Pleasant colleagues, decent rate of pay and nice working environment.
Customer service advisor role includes reception work, membership enquiries and cash handling.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganised
Fitness Instructor (Former Employee) –  Didcot, Oxfordshire2 September 2017
While working at GLL, I would open the gym, train clients, and be expected to clean the gym
I learned that chained gyms need to learn about clients more than money
The management here were unorganised and didn't know how to work a gym
Pros
used gym for free
Cons
long driving distance
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Duty Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London31 August 2017
busy environment day to day
training provided is good an transferable
most management supportive
lovely teams
can get stress full
best self belief gained
Pros
training
Cons
management styles
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You Can go far in this company
Regional Product Manager (London West) (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London17 August 2017
After 10 year with one organisation I have had 5 promotions, if you put you mind to the task, be committed and get the job done you will see yourself getting the recognition that you deserve. Although Leisure isnt the best pay in relation to other sectors, you have this career path within this organisation because you enjoy the job in hand.

Plenty of opportunity to socialise with colleagues and really get to know who's who.
Pros
Quarterly bonus of 8% after 12 months
Cons
Unsociable Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy and fun enviornment
Lifeguard/Leisure Assistant (Current Employee) –  Tadworth, Surrey5 August 2017
Its a fun place with a good environment but the management is the reason why the place lets the company down with many centres that i know of. I think its a good job if you're young and want good money whilst at school/college etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Private sector
Manager (Former Employee) –  Swindon, Wiltshire20 July 2017
Very different culture to work systems to that of local authority. Most roles are under high pressure.

I was lucky I had vast experience in the role I was doing. I also wanted to reduce my hours of work which was fine until budgets became tight.
Pros
Tight control of funds
Cons
High expectations
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Library Assistant (Current Employee) –  Greenwich, Greater London18 July 2017
Daily duties include processing items, helping customers with queries and other office related tasks.

Learnt to improve

- communication
- organisational skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly environment
Assistant Tennis Coach/Athletics coach (Former Employee) –  London19 June 2017
Part-time work one day a week running Junior Athletics program.
Ran Multi sport program during school holidays
Working in a small professional team. Adaptable multi functional role.
Culture work hard play hard with a smile on your face.
Maintaining links with local schools while living outside of the borough.
Children's enjoyment of the sports we do. Parents continuing to renew enrol children on programs and camps
Pros
Continued employment/hours
Cons
Reduced opportunity for CPD
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buena
Socorrista de piscina (Former Employee) –  Londres16 June 2017
Empresa grande con buenos valores y motivaciones.
Grandes posibilidades como trabajador y con grandes posibilidades de planificar tu carrera profesional en la misma, ofreciendo el desarrollo y la formación para lograrlo.
Inconveniente, llevarlo a la práctica pero por motivos de las personas -trabajadores, los cuales pueden no seguir la filosofía y buscan más su propio beneficio.

Pero muy recomendable y positiva empresa.
Pros
Estabilidad, desarrollo profesional, experiencia
Cons
Personas y realidad de cada centro
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful culture
Fitness Instructor (Former Employee) –  Greenwich, Greater London14 June 2017
A culture of blackmail and classism, poor attitude and loyalty of manager who look down on staff members, i was fortunate enough to have an efficient and effective manager who saw employees as people, unlike the infrastructure of the company itself, which base its morals on working harder than your best without reward or acknowledgement.

A wonderful thing about this company is the huge amount of shifts.
Pros
Lots of part time shifts
Cons
Unpleasant
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work and life balance
Sales Administrator (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London23 May 2017
Choose shifts, good environment to work in
Telecommunication, responding to emails, booking in clients for leisure activities, merchandising and promotions.
Pros
Convient casual roles
Cons
zero hour contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HR are terrible!
Trampoline Coach (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London12 May 2017
Pay is always messed up, getting underpaid is very common and there's always excuses. Then you have to wait at least 3 weeks for them to reply to your emails. When you're a casual staff member it's even worse you have to wait 7 weeks before you get your first pay.
Pros
Discounted Gym Membership
Cons
Pay is a mess
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company to work for
Gymnastics Coach (Current Employee) –  Hackney, Greater London17 April 2017
I have worked for GLL for 2 years as a coach. The company does not care about the staff or how many kids they throw into one class- as long as they are making money. The coach ratio should be 1:8 kids and often we have 1:13. The pay is rubbish and is not enough to maintain a basic lifestyle. Stay away from this company as management is rude, staff are rude and overall the company does not care about their employees.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Recreational Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London19 January 2017
Typical Day: Lifeguarding, Cleaning Duties, Setting Up/ Derigging Activities throughout the day, general running of building
Pros
good working environment
Cons
Shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Gym instructor (Current Employee) –  London6 January 2017
Working as a casual fitness instructor at GLL has been a good working experience. Taking various classes ( Abbs, strength and conditioning, endurance ) and full inductions have helped me gain good experience as a level 2 gym instructor.
I'm now looking for a full time role and another challenge somewhere else
Pros
Use of gym
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfriednly and very corporate
Recreation Assistant (Current Employee) –  Horley6 January 2017
The business is based around budgets and figures. This does make for a successful business, but does not make for a happy workforce. Changing shifts last minute and expecting more of you than agreed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Leisure Centre Assistant (Former Employee) –  London21 December 2016
Librarian = Making sure the library is always quiet, clean and tidy for the public to study.
Receptionist = Responding to customers and dealing with cash transactions.
Gym Instructor = Showing customers how to use equipment they may not be familiar with.
Lifeguard = Ensuring that the public is safe in and around the swimming pool.
Pros
Good atmosphere
Cons
Long days sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment and good staff
Gym Instructor/Personal Trainer/Duty Manager (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester14 December 2016
Good place to work, which offers good balance between life and work and also provides good salary

Not working loads of hours, which is always good, and they have many benefits from using the gym to advancing in the work place.
Pros
Brillant staff
Cons
Breaks arent paid for
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GLL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 46 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
2.9
Culture
3.3

GLL Reviews by Location