Freightliner Trucks Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
multi skilled operative (Former Employee) –  Manchester24 April 2017
I worked for Manchester for 10 years and left for personal reasons i had clean record and left on good terms and was promised job back but was tricked by two managers that hold grudges
Pros
Salary competitive
Cons
Poor management poor shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect place for exposure of industrial finance
Finance Assitant (Former Employee) –  Euston26 July 2016
I was here for a year and not only did I improve my knowledge of inter-company finance, I also managed to heighten my time-management skills, improve my confidence dealing with customers in person and over the phone, and managed to deal with pressure when it was time to knuckle down. It was a long journey but one i strongly recommend for anyone interested in pursuing a career in finance. The help from my co-workers was priceless as I settled into the office.
Pros
Very hands-on experience
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best employer I ever had.
Terminal Manager (Former Employee) –  Teesside28 April 2016
Job security, chance to advance if wanted, good safety culture,
Wages are reasonable, good pension scheme, Good holidays.
The sort of place where it is hard to get in because people dont tend to leave.
I enjoyed 25 years there.
Pros
Security. Decent pay. Good working conditions.
Cons
May have to work extra time at shift end if trains are delayed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Treasury & Finance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Southampton11 February 2016
I enjoyed working for Freightliner Southampton. the office has nice atmosphere and people is nice and friendly.
This company is now owned by americans and they are not allowing some people to have bank holidays as these days they have to work in America.
Pros
study support
Cons
continuous rotation of personnel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic and go ahead company. Staff are valued.
Maintenance Shift Supervisor grade "C" (Former Employee) –  Northern5 December 2015
I would not of stayed for 25 years if they were bad to work for.
Wages are average but benefits are above average.
Staff do not leave very often, so can be hard to find a vacancy.
To succeed here you need to be flexible and a quick learner, with a good work ethic, but if that is you the opportunity's to progress with good support are there. All vacancy's are advertised internally first giving the chance to apply before outsiders.
Most jobs have a time critical element to them due to working with train timetables.
All kinds of work here, engineering, clerical, LGV driving, crane and lifter operators, sales, staff resources, train drivers,shunters etc.
A large fast moving and growing company.
Pros
Secure job, good support, training opportunity's
Cons
Not many, working to lots of railway rules can cause frustration.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful workplace and awful management
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, ENG6 April 2015
get into work and start clearing bins out of the offices and once that was finished we would clean from the kitchens to the offices and then toilets
it was a very awful job the boss was a horrible person to work for.
the co-workers were lovely think that is the only good thing about the job
Pros
co- workers
Cons
all of it
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 38Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sometimes very busy and Fast paced.
Traffic Clerk (Former Employee) –  Trafford Park16 October 2014
Good Company to work for, but no Job security, and i have been agency based for 3 years. I would like something more regular and to be valued.
Pros
Good relationship with the Drivers
Cons
Used on a as and when required basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary
Traincrew Resource Controller (Former Employee) –  Ferrybridge, ENG6 March 2014
I had high hopes that this job would get me on a path back to train driving, sadly it wasnt to be. Having to learn a job from scratch that was full of archaic methods, time heavy processes that were crying out for modernisation, plus being tutored by half a dozen, well meaning but not training aware people with no set teaching or lesson plan, and a total lack of management concern led to my many frustrations and higher than needed stress levels. The office atmosphere was one of distrust and tale telling with not knowing who you could trust and who not led me to make the hard decision to quit after just three months.

i have given an overall rating to this as one star, only because the process will not allow me to grade at zero.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy maintenance workshop, productive and essential time keeping
Fuel shed fitter, maintenance engineer and P.I.C (Former Employee) –  Hunslet, Leeds16 October 2013
Freightliner Maintenance is a busy workshop were I carried out in depth mechanical examinations for class 66 and class 70 locomotives. Time keeping is essential in this role and at most times challenging, which I enjoyed. Paperwork was a tough part of the job as it was essential my paperwork had to be 100% correct every time, as this ensured the smooth running of invoices, booking out parts ect ect. I got along excellent with my co-workers and management as communication is vital in such a busy workshop and potentially dangerous environment.
Pros
left alone to work independently, free coffee and tea
Cons
very long hours, very short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job but needs better managers
train driver (Current Employee) –  rugby3 November 2012
Travel by company car/van to where train is located.Driving freight trains to and from various locations around the country.
Pros
good wage
Cons
poor management / long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job spoilt by poor management
Loco engineer (Current Employee) –  Leeds14 October 2012
Working conditions are poor and need updating

Day to day ok good team of engineers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

See more Freightliner Trucks reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Freightliner Trucks. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 231 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7

CEO Approval

78%
83 ratings
Add your rating

Freightliner Trucks Reviews by Location