Carillion plc Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Team, knowledgeable and great projects
Graduate Quantity Surveyor (Current Employee) –  Nationwide22 January 2018
Fantastic job as a QS working on exciting projects and given the trust to manage my own workload. Colleagues are professional and knowledgeable with many years of experience.

Just a shame the company is now in liquidation
Pros
Great team and atmosphere
Cons
Poorly run from the top, now in liquidation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with a great bunch of engineers
Air Conditioning/Refrigeration/HVAC Engineer (Current Employee) –  Yorkshire20 January 2018
Carryout your day to day works and generally get left alone.
A poor operating system for giving out jobs, this should have been altered/removed years ago and maybe things would have been a lot better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great responsibility and exposure to many different bids and business sectors
Bid Management Graduate (Current Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire19 January 2018
I have thoroughly enjoyed my time at Carillion Plc, the responsibility I was given as a graduate employee was huge.

Management were excellent, and constantly offered support and development opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a nice job with a lovely small team
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Belfast18 January 2018
loved it a lot, team is the sweetest as there weren't many of us on our floor. The building is extremely old and awful, but I didn't care much. Work feels rewarding and it's a good experience to have on your CV. Sadly, things happen.
Pros
alright pay, amazing team and manager
Cons
bankrupt
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
catering
stamford park cafe (Former Employee) –  Manchester17 January 2018
I can not rate Carillion as I do not work for them and have only volunteered to help my aunties to gain more experience to gain more confidence and to interact with people also for experience.
Pros
experience
Cons
I can not work there until i am 18.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work
Customer Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire17 January 2018
I am unable to provide a true review as Carillion PLC is under going a process of liquidation and is no longer the same company that I previously worked for.
Pros
good people
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
compliance analyst
compliance analyst (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester17 January 2018
great company to work for until the last year when things started to go wrong Management seemed to be incapable of solving problems. and staff started to leavev
Pros
flexible working
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job until carillion took over
train presentation officer (Current Employee) –  Preston, Lancashire16 January 2018
No real need to explain since they are in the news and have treated hard working people without a care and lied to us our jobs were safe ,they don't want to speak to you ,and have treated the work force like dogs
Pros
none
Cons
took a year to give us our pay rise and lied to us all the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands15 January 2018
Great company with great people however due to some bad contracts and contracts not paying the company sadly has been liquidised.

Culture is great and some of the management are great too but most are not.
Pros
Great People
Cons
Not great management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Data Analyst (Current Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire15 January 2018
Carillion has some great people. It's what definitely makes it a good place to work.
My hours of work are between 7-6 but i can do the hours that i like as long as i have done 37.5 by the end of the week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Facilities Co-ordinator and Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester15 January 2018
good company to work for Management is good and benefits are very good.
it is flexible and the salary is not enough.
there are some perks for example shopping vouchers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place whilst it lasted
SST Customer Team Manager (Current Employee) –  Sheffield City Centre, South Yorkshire15 January 2018
Carillion has been an amazing place to work, Unfortunately times have become very hard for the company and it has gone into liquidation meaning I will be unemployed. but for my time there it has been like family, a bit of a cliché but I feel this to be true.
Pros
very friendly and inclusive management teams
Cons
closing down
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Customer Solutions Advisor (Current Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire15 January 2018
I have worked here for 8 years and have worked with some of the best people and have built lasting friendships here. I have been given some excellent opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor treatment of students
Document Controller (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire21 December 2017
As an apprentice the treatment was awful and it wasn't the correct environment for us to learn and be nurtured at all. It's a big shame because many of us are now successful, no thanks to carrilion
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
poor apprenticeship scheme
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Graduate Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire14 December 2017
Its a good company, has its problems like every average company.
Good culture and people although not so good pay scale in my opinion but differs according to your business uints
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
Accounts Payable & P2P Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire13 December 2017
You have to be a quick learner and very agile to succeed.
This is not for everyone and the company's situation is well publicised.
I am sure 2018 will be much better for them.
Pros
Remuneration
Cons
System processes and offshore processing team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work life balance and culture
Quantity Surveyor (Former Employee) –  Oxford11 December 2017
There is never a perfect place to work for. Carillion ticks most boxes for an ideal workplace. great work life balance, good package, benefits, great support towards professional qualifications
Pros
great work life balance, good package, benefits, great support towards professional qualifications
Cons
large entity therefore slow to progress on the career ladder
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Civil Engineer (Former Employee) –  Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire4 December 2017
Good productive work place, get along with work easily with no pressure, all the staff are fantastic and helpful, would reccomed to anyone looking for apprentaship.
Pros
Easy work
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work plave
Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside1 December 2017
Great opportunities with great instructors who knew their stuff
varied opportunities in the work place from domestic to commercial work both in doors & outside
Pros
Good experienc
Cons
needed promoting once graduated
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Facility Manager (Former Employee) –  Dunfermline, Fife30 November 2017
Typical day to include M&E compliance , supervision of support teams , client meetings , lnovation seminars, finance updates, toolbox talks, third party contractor supervision, audits covering SLA Key Performance Indicators, set up training schedules, system breakdown management etc
All challenging and enjoyable
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Carillion plc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 169 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.8
Culture
3.0