Card Factory Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learnt loads
Seasonal Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Keynsham13 October 2017
i loved working at card factory all the staff was lovely there, i learnt how to use a different till.. a typical day work would of been get in take coat, count float in the till, make sure the shop was tiding before opening, go sign on to a till, serves customers, when we was quick would check the shop was tidy.. the management was lovely.. the hardest part was standing all day, the most enjoyable part was getting told how well i had done, and putting a smile on a customer face
Pros
discount
Cons
long day on your feet
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
im good at looking for old people
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cardiff City, Cardiff12 October 2017
Skills and Qualities
I am a well presented, hard working person who thrives on learning new skills and new challenges. I am reliable, adaptable and able to work well as part of a team as I am very sociable. I also enjoy the challenge of using my own initiative and can be trusted to work independently to complete tasks. I am very punctual and my attendance record is very good. I am looking for a new challenge where I can use my existing skills and future develop my career. Critical thinking skill, research skills .
Hobbies and interest
I enjoy reading novels and other reading materials such as twilight ,which further improve my knowledge . I also participate in football and basketball which involve group cohesion , team work and interaction with other people
Pros
30 edfc
Cons
sdxzd
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent10 October 2017
Really injoyed working here over Christmas learned a lot while I was there learned how to use the tills really liked who I worked with lots of help and support when needed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but fun
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Yeovil, Somerset6 October 2017
The most enjoyable part of my job is dealing with the customers and heling them to find what they are looking for. My typical day will involve being on the till to start with and then going on yo fill product or cards depending on what has been delivered that day. The hardest part of my job is trying to do all I need to do in one day as we are a very busy store.

I have learned how to work well in a team and how to lead a team successfully. I have also learned to have more confidence in my own abilities.
Pros
Good working relationship with fellow employees
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Largs6 October 2017
Had a great time workinghere. Got a very good relationship with customers being small town. Had great enjoyment here. Though I felt most of the younger stafff had no work ethics atol. Very lazy attitude to work and found my self doing more of there work at time this was clearly due to very poor management and I took this further as an employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good.
Temporary Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ellesmere Port, Cheshire6 October 2017
The management in the Card factory I believe could have been a lot better. As it was my first job i did learn a lot and enhanced my skills even more. Overall, it was an ok place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Huntingdon6 October 2017
I was only a Christmas temp but i enjoyed my time at The Card Factory. The staff were nice and helpful and we got in to the christmas spirit. My time there flew by.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Just a temp contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Learning Experience
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newport, Isle of Wight5 October 2017
It's gave me a good insite to the way retail works and how to handle my self under stressful situations during busy time of year. I also learnt how to restock and sort out inventory
Pros
Flexable work hours
Cons
Cramped workspace
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Torquay, Devon5 October 2017
I loved working at card factory but at the time I wanted to further my career to see what I was capable off but I do miss working there and hope to go back someday.
Pros
Getting to meet new people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't Recommend
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fort Kinnaird5 October 2017
Working as a sales assistant at Card Factory was the first job I had. When I first joined I had a terrible manager and felt highly uncomfortable as I didn't feel like I could ask for a change of hours or anything. When she left, the new assistant manager replaced her and things were good, I got better hours and she helped out a lot more. For the most part my time at Card Factory wasn't that bad, despite the measly £4.06 an hour because of my age, which I highly disagree with, minus the management team we are all sales assistants I don't see what she has to do with anything? It's discrimination. However over recent months things have changed. A new assistant manager was hired and I feel like I'm back working with my old manager, there have been times when she has not spoken to me at all during the course of a shift and pretended I do not exist, she blows hot and cold with you so you never know if you're going to get called "darling" or blatantly ignored. She also showed blatant favouritism towards another coworker even going as far as to admit it as well. Also, in some situations my manager always uses herself as an example to others meaning once when I tried to phone in sick, after explaining my symptoms I was told that she felt the same yet she was still in the work place but bearing in mind I found it difficult to even leave my bed because of how sick I was. I recently had a meeting with my manager where she told me that I had been off 6 times in 3 months and that I was only supposed to have 3 absences, I explained why I was off and I also said that I'd had a few problems  more... in school because of being off sick as well. A few days later, I was told by a colleague that my manager had decided to share with another employee that "she's also been getting into trouble at school so I'm not the only one who noticed it, her mum spoils her" I was severely offended that my manager had decided to comment on my mothers parenting skills when she had had numerous conversations with my mother and knew how kind she was. I was also shocked that a manager would be so unprofessional and discuss my personal business with someone else, she had no right. I've worked there for almost 6 months and out of these months I've only been properly paid maybe twice, the company was constantly "not receiving" our details which would cause us to lose out on a whole month's pay and we were just expected to sit there and accept it! It's actually a shocking company, for the standards we are supposed to reach the low pay, managers who speak of something their employees trusted them with, patronising management and the workload we are meant to complete, it's not been the best experience as a first job. I'm very happy with who I work with, I get along with the team and I will miss them but just these flaws are causing me to leave the company.  less
Pros
Good people to get along with
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Livingston2 October 2017
Everyday I was there on time. Communicated and guided customers all the time and helped out with any tasks given. I was then till trained and responsible for looking after and dealing with money which allowed me to proceed within the Job. It was only christmas temp and I learned a lot and got good experience out of it
Pros
Was till trained giving me experience for future jobs
Cons
Bad pay for really long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful
manager (Former Employee) –  Orpington, Greater London29 September 2017
worst job ever this company wil expect you to work extra hours for nothing there are no good points about this company I would not encourage anyone to work for them
Pros
none
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
O hours contract
SHOP ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Porthcawl26 September 2017
no security..no guaranteed work..no notice on shifts.. called upon at any time and expected to jump to be able to oblige..no loyalty.. job itself ok.. meant to get upto 16hrs, most offered was 10hrs per week.. useless
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and productive place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lakeside Shopping Centre, Essex25 September 2017
I enjoyed working at Card Factory as the people I worked with were amazing to work with and always made it a good environment to be in. Some of the work was hard especially at peak times such as Christmas and other important days however this just meant everyone worked together to get the jobs done to ensure everything got done in time. I learned new skills from working there and working with the people I met there and how to work in a retail job and the skills needed such as learning about the products and how they should be presented and promoted.
The hardest part of the job was the rush of customers around Christmas time as it was the busiest time of year however it was also good as it meant everyone worked harder and together even more to get all the jobs done and keep the customers happy.
The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the people I worked with as they were encouraging, imaginative, hard working and fun to be around.
Pros
Great people to work with.
Cons
Low pay and not always appreciated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive,very nice and helpfull
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sunderland Harbour25 September 2017
I really enjoyed working at the card fanctory i met some wonderfull people and learnt loads of new things i didnt know ,it was a great expirence but it just wasnt for me i liked it just i couldnt do it full time the travel was very good aswell just busses would be late and some didnt come.the thing i liked the most was working on the shop floor sorting out the stock
Pros
Two breaks
Cons
Busses
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job
Seasonal Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  England23 September 2017
Honestly it’s like slave labour for those under 18. Working at Christmas for long hours and on less than £4 an hour. Would not recommend for those who don’t enjoy very fast paced environment. Everything else is fine apart from the salary.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its not a good placw to work
Former sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Ebbw Vale, Blaenau Gwent23 September 2017
The girls are great to work with,but the manager is very stroppy and the way she speaks to her staff is disgusting. There is no need for it. I couldn't work with her again. They need a new manager soon
Pros
Its ok to work for
Cons
Not a very nice manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work!
Sales Assistant/ Trainee Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Warrington22 September 2017
The job is absolutely horrible, the area managers are power trips, the managers are lazy, and are usually always sat on there phones in the back or make staff feel uncomfortable by saying phrases such as (were not friends) bulling staff members with anxiety and mental illnesses, the shops are filthy and overall I'd never work here again, not to say they'll hire a younger person because they can pay them less they never give out decent fixed term contract so you won't get holiday pay, they don't care about the staffs needs and they overall suck! Definitely look elsewhere.
Pros
Staff, customers
Cons
Management, organisation
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very productive and enjoyable environment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester/ Harpurhey21 September 2017
Basically, the other staff members were alright to be around. However, they often call other members of staff behind their backs and wasn't really polite to each other at times. But they was very nice to customers and was able to help each customer.
Pros
Discounts from the shop.
Cons
Not many hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People meet rewarding job
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Beaumont Leys18 September 2017
Generally fine. Management OK quite pleasant work with a small amount of incoming shelf/ off loading work. Pleasant staff at my branch.
Hectic at the tills especially on the run up to Christmas.
Pros
Clean conditions
Cons
Little change of advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Card Factory. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 856 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.2