British Red Cross Employee Reviews

Found 513 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding place to work
Volunteer Worker (Former Employee) –  Glenrothes, Fife19 September 2017
This was an amazing place to work. The culture was open and the team grew very close. I dealt with customers and I learned stock rotation and dealing with the till.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive friendly worth while
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sunderland, Tyne and Wear18 September 2017
Whilst at the British red Cross I learned a range of customer care skills how to Prepare stock, stock rotation and met lovely people, I now call my friends, gaining retail experience for something worthwhile and gained a lot of confidence.
Pros
Free experience
Cons
Unpaid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Delivery Driver Multi Drop (Former Employee) –  Peterhead, Aberdeenshire18 September 2017
always meet new people nevere in same place the most enjoyable part of the job would be meeting all kinds of people nice easy work nothing to hard to cope with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brc
Project Coordinator Intern (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London12 September 2017
Good work ethic and focus on wellbeing, however wage isn't great and hard to progress sometimes. Learnt a lot of skills here but wish they valued interns and wage was higher
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful management
Undisclosed (Former Employee) –  Bedfordshire11 September 2017
awful management, completely disorganised shambolic company to work for, no money to fix IT issues and not enough office resources for the whole team. no workplace culture to speak of.
Pros
none
Cons
loads
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
British Red Cross
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Newport, Isle of Wight11 September 2017
I really Enjoyed working with The British Red Cross as a Volunteer Data Entry Officer the staff and Managers were very friendly
the Job was top
everybody got on with everybody which was great
Pros
Great Atnosphire
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bustling and challenging environment
Voluntary Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Paddock Wood7 September 2017
The work was thankless (in terms of customer appreciation) but the staff were incredibly accommodating to those looking to help the shop to thrive. Overall a good workplace environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexibility
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire5 September 2017
I love the flexibility of the red cross. they have helped me countless times and they are the reason I am going to university. I have achieved many good things with the red cross and I would never willingly leave them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brc
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Grantham4 September 2017
Great place to work at the time
Each day bought a different challenge from the public
Volunteers were the lynchpin
All staff had the same reason for being there
Opened your eyes to the lack of care out there for vulnerable people
Reuniting people and actually making a different
Totally without biase
Pros
Working to improve peoples lives
Cons
No progression and poor salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire4 September 2017
British Red Cross was a fun experience to work at because of the friendly staff and customers who came in regularly to purchase as well as donate cloths, books and CDs.
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Cleaning up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work at the start
Medical Loan Driver/Senior service Technician (Former Employee) –  Harlow4 September 2017
British red cross was a good place to work but poor salary and poor leadership. i did learn some new skills and it was an ok place to work but cut backs had ment a huge work load and a inappropriate salary and low morale
Pros
fexabilty
Cons
very poor salary for the job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for BRC
Cashier/Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Aberystwyth, Ceredigion3 September 2017
Through working at BRC, I have learned how much of an impact the charity has upon societies whether they are domestic or global. BRC exceeds their reputation global and the workload is immense with receiving donations to organising funds for providing clean water to rural areas in Africa.
Pros
Being a part of a multicultural society
Cons
Too much work and not enough staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place to work
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire2 September 2017
I was sad when my branch was closed down and I was unable to relocate. Such a fun environment with great managers at the branch I worked in. Loved helping the elderly and disabled.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Lots of nasty mess to clean.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Southsea1 September 2017
Great place to volunteer and great charity and they help alot of people in the world and loved every moment of this charity fantastic achivemnt in life
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Hesvy nasty cutsomers sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experiance
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Belper, Derbyshire31 August 2017
A typical day at work was/ is always different from the last.
The people are always super friendly and are 100% none Judgemental which is one of the many qualities I love about British Red Cross.
Plenty of opportunities to do different things and a great way to get into First Aid if you ask the right people and show enough interest.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands27 August 2017
It was good, I got to complete lots of tasks. I got to work at the till and converse with lots of customers. I helped sort through donations and put stock on the shelf floor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newport, Newport18 August 2017
Really great place to work. The staff working there are very nice and friendly.I handled the stocks and was in-charge of putting them out into the shop. Also I communicated with a wide range of
customers. Furthermore I served customers at the till using my mathematics skills. It was really fun.
Pros
free food and drinks
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
brilliant
Transport Co-ordinator (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen, Aberdeen City16 August 2017
The job was stable and allowed me to gain experience. I gained valuable knowledge and have experienced a vast range of jobs, dealing with confidential files and cash.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work Culture
Volunteer Caseworker (Current Employee) –  East Midlands11 August 2017
9 to 5 shift pattern or working hours can be discussed to suit your availability.
Friendly staff team
The hardest part of the job is hearing some of the things that people have gone through.
The best part of the job is being able to trace client's lost family members.
Pros
free training and development
Cons
The company structure
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyabel
Sales assistant Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Handsworth9 August 2017
it was fun being able to handle the till and change the mannequins. We were given responsibility which was at first daunting but i really enjoyed being able to be seen as responsible. I have learnt a lot from working here.
Pros
nice people
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at British Red Cross. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 520 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
4.0
Culture
4.1

CEO Approval

Mike Adamson
87%
183 ratings
Add your rating

British Red Cross Reviews by Location