British Red Cross Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Work place
Cashier/Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Norwich13 January 2018
Learned many new skills while working here other staff were very supportive customers were mostly pleasant to help. it felt good to know i was helping a the workplace as it was doing great things to help the world
Pros
Learned new skills.
Cons
Not Paid.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was alright
Charity Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brighton12 January 2018
I didnt work there the longest but i volunteered and tagged clothes and worked at the checkout the people who work there are lovely and it was an nice atmosphere to be in
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent people to work for
Reporting and Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Paisley7 January 2018
I worked for British Red cross as a data analyst for about a year. I found the management very cooperative and they look after the employees.
Really really nice people to work for.
Pros
supportive management
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good
Ambulance Crew (Current Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire7 January 2018
Very nice company to work for, very supportive of the individual and their needs. Very flexible when they can be and a nice atmosphere to work in. Staff are all great. the Job is good, and the pay is competitive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely atmosphere
Checking/pricing stock (Former Employee) –  Belper, Derbyshire3 January 2018
I really like how these work places come together in the need of help for others, this was voluntary work but i enjoyed every minute. Staff were lovely and helped me if i needed anything.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much expected from you
Retail Manager (Current Employee) –  Ceredigion2 January 2018
Love the job...love being able to help people...completely takes over your life though and management expects too much from you...with out significant training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Factory Worker (Former Employee) –  Chippenham21 December 2017
Not very organised and very boring, feels like they font trust you nore want you there. It was exhausting going up and downstairs all the time, wasn't able to gain the experience i was hoping to.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and enjoyable
Retail Assistant (Volunteer) (Current Employee) –  Wirral, Merseyside20 December 2017
I love working at British Red Cross as I love meeting new people and helping the customers. The staff are always nice and I have learned a lot from working there.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteering
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Moorfields11 December 2017
Volunteering for the British Red Cross was a lovely experience, everyone was very polite and friendly. They host a lot of events that i was able to take part in, for example the London Marathon.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, underpaid
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  North West11 December 2017
Left this charity recently after 2 years of employment.
Poor management, underpaid and understaffed.
A positive would be that there are lots of opportunities for training.
Pros
training opportunities
Cons
bad management, work place bullying, understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what i done and did i enjoy it?
Sales assistant (Current Employee) –  Stirling, Stirlingshire4 December 2017
I really enjoy working there. It has giving me the confidence to speak out and to communicate to strangers. I feel really confident about handling money and giving out the right change. There is nothing really hard about working there. The staff are so lovely and friendly and care about your health and well being. They give you 30-45 minute break ( depends on when you are working till)
Pros
staff, meeting new people, customers
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun. Most inspiring
Cashier (Former Employee) –  soho road29 November 2017
serving customers on a till
how to use a till
I was a team leader
equal and diverse
learning how to use the till and steaming clothes.
using the till and interacting with customers
Pros
satisfied customers
Cons
no salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Shop volunteer (Former Employee) –  Cambridge29 November 2017
The manager have an hard and exhausting job. They work really hard. They need volunteers because there are a lot of work. You can have a timetable but always you work a bit more because it's never enough.
Pros
You know you are helping people
Cons
It's hard physically
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Interpreter (Former Employee) –  Peterborough23 November 2017
I helped people who cannot speak English to book appointments, fill forms and support them in some interviews. This has helped me to contribute to my community. Also, has improved my communication skills
a lot as I am dealing with different people every day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and warm
Caseworker (Current Employee) –  London23 November 2017
This NGO is an amazing place to work at. I love every day working with my colleagues. They are nice and really warm hearted. We all have the same goal: help people in need!
Pros
9-5 job
Cons
No free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Doncaster20 November 2017
Loved volunteering here, customers and staff are so lovely. Very rewarding working here as the money made goes to a great cause. I mainly worked on the tills and sorting clothes and charity bags.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Volunteer Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  London16 November 2017
Developed management skills and worked on customer satisfaction and customer relations. Also worked on seasonal business fluctuations which develops problem solving skills. Great staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasteful charity
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Sheffield14 November 2017
The amount of money wasted by this part of the brc is astounding,too many management do the same jobs,equipment thrown away for no reason (skips full) .
Poor staff morale always moaning about each other.
Give the contract back to the council.
Pros
Short hours
Cons
Same pay for weekend work
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Uttoxeter, Staffordshire9 November 2017
didnt enjoy working with people from a open prision, often had to handle dirty clothes from donations. often called to work last minuet dispite being a volunteer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work.
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Llandeilo6 November 2017
Great place to work with friendly staff/ colleagues, meet new people and make new friends as well. Easy to get to, Learn new skills, Socialise with people etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at British Red Cross. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 566 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
4.0
Culture
4.1