BNY Mellon Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Quantitative and Qualitative Data Analyst (Current Employee) –  Manchester Central2 November 2017
Great atmosphere and colleagues to work with. Enjoy the work here with great management.

The pay isn't the greatest but this is compensated by the general work life working at the bank.

Learn a lot on the job and get brilliant training which can then be applied to future careers.
Pros
atmosphere
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good work-life balance, great environment to work
EMEA Corporate Trust Financial Reporting Analyst (Former Employee) –  Canary Wharf, Greater London21 October 2017
I was working at the EMEA Corporate Trust Analytics group for 19 months. The job was demanding with few quiet periods. The team culture was like a family with great collaboration across the team members. The manager was not constantly checking your work which shows that he trusts your judgement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Young workforce
Desktop Support Lead Technician (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester19 October 2017
The Manchester office had a demographic of 18-35 which made the office vibrant and exciting. Progress was hard earned but those who were dedicated would succeed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Motivating
Sales Executive / Relationship Manager (Former Employee) –  Canary Wharf, Greater London12 October 2017
Professional and motivating. BNY Mellon's culture encourages personal development and career progression. Throughout the organisation, individuals engage clients and deliver excellence.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inept managers
Global Vice President & Team Leader (Former Employee) –  London2 October 2017
My manager was frequently asking me to help her to perform her role and I felt she was in over her head most of the time. She also kept hiring her friends from outside of the bank who were inexperienced or unsuitable for the roles which caused bad feeling within the wider team.
Pros
Canary wharf is a nice place to work!
Cons
Long hours and expected overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
N/A (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester25 September 2017
The company has a friendly and challenging working environment with plenty of opportunities to develop and progress.
Working hours can vary depending on the role and department but generally offers a balance between work and personal life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and professional environment
Trade Capture Administrator (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester7 September 2017
A typical day at work would consist of turning up in the morning, and going to the kitchen to make a hot drink and get your breakfast. You would then go to a desk of your choice and log on to begin your days work. The management are not your typical management, they would express their assertiveness if required, but they have a very relaxed approach to work and treat you more like a friend, rather than an employee. The culture in the workplace is very laid back, and everyone there is friendly, and willing to help you with any problems that you may have. One of the hardest parts about the job only applies if you are not able to handle yourself under pressure. If you are able to handle yourself under pressure and multitask, working at BNY Mellon is the place for you. In my opinion, working for BNY Mellon is enjoyable itself, there isn't really a specific aspect of the job that is most enjoyable. As long as you get along with everyone else there, you will never have a bad day, and you find that the days seem to fly past, as there is always something to do, and you will never be bored. If the occasion ever rises, that you have no work to do, you always have the option to be able to go and "shadow" an alternate department, so that you can have exposure to what they do, and should the position ever arise, and you wish to apply, you can always say that you have some experience in the field.
Pros
Company benefits, Fellow staff, management
Cons
Mild pressure on meeting deadlines on occasion, sometimes having to work bank holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work, great people
Settlements Administrator (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester6 September 2017
Workload is very interesting and varied, responsible for high value transactions.

My colleagues are amazing and I have great fun working there.

The o
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Placement Student (Former Employee) –  London6 September 2017
the people working at BNYM are very nice to work with and will help you when you have a problem or require mentoring of any kind. As an intern you get to lead the other interns in a monthly rotation that is very fulfilling .
Pros
Mentoring
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Lead Compliance Associate (Current Employee) –  London28 August 2017
I gained invaluable experience working in Bank of New York Mellon. I had the opportunity to deal with various stakeholders in the bank. I learned how the day to day compliance process works for this funds.
Pros
Good work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Work Experience Placement (Former Employee) –  London19 August 2017
A fun and cultured day.
Lots of opportunities and also lots of accepting programs run at BNY Mellon.
The hardest part of the job was the first couple of weeks where you do not really know what to do and then at a moment notice you are thrown into it
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Corporate Actions Senior Specialist (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester15 August 2017
A typical day: come to work, do the work, go home. Most of the managers have no idea what their teams does or where their place is in the department; therefore, cannot manage the team in an efficient way. For me the hardest part was trying to develop further in the company as the management will only let you move on internally if it suits them.
Pros
City Centre
Cons
Management, pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work experience
Work Shadowing (Former Employee) –  London10 August 2017
Had a good time on work experience here but don't think its the place for me. Main focus is to hit targets, not much focus on the employee or progression opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Recruitment Administrator (Former Employee) –  Manchester City Centre, Greater Manchester27 June 2017
Great employee benefits, good team, willing to go the extra mile to help out a member of staff.

Corporate environment, not for the faint hearted or those scared of a hard days work.
Pros
excellent benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
intresteing.
Experience (Former Employee) –  Canary Wharf21 June 2017
Here I had learnt a lot as this is the field which i would like to pursue a career in. I believe that everyone which worked here were extremely helpful and would always ask if i needed anything or needed any help.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Workplace
Investment Accountant (Former Employee) –  Manchester15 June 2017
Excellent place to enhance your skills and the management and seniors are supportive when it comes to enhancing your skill set. The management also encourages fresh ideas from the employees as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Securities Servicing Processor (Current Employee) –  Poole, Dorset20 May 2017
Friendly people, with good work life balance. Fairly flexible with working.
Good benefits including a generous pension scheme and free private health insurance
Pros
Excellent Pension, Free private health insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really nice Environment to work
Project Manager and Pricing Analyst (Former Employee) –  London20 May 2017
I worked here on a pricing project. I was given 6 months time to complete the project but because of my skills and knowledge of VBA, I was able to complete this piece of work in 4 months. Client happy and I had nice time working for this employer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary roll
Common Depository Services Associate (Former Employee) –  Cannon Street Station6 May 2017
I held a short temporary position here whilst looking for a permanent full time position, this was a good experience which gave me experience in the settlement industry and there was a good working atmosphere amongst a small team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start career in finance
Corporate Action Senior Specialist (Former Employee) –  Manchester Central3 May 2017
Good place to start your finance career as there are always positions available and willing to hire members of staff with little or no financial background
Pros
Promotions available
Cons
High turnover, low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BNY Mellon. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2,695 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4