Black & Veatch Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old-school engineering
GIS Analyst (Former Employee) –  Redhill, Surrey4 September 2017
Relaxed place to work. Limited opportunity for growth but the culture may have changed by now.
A typical day would involve multiple tasks and projects to work on, no two days are ever the same.
Management is quite hands-off but there if needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company terrible organisation.
Site manager (Former Employee) –  Reading,United Kingdom17 August 2017
Good company to work for with great benefits,but the downside of a very large company is the organization is terrible.
For instance,rdering a single site sign took 4 months numerous emails and 1 conference call.....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire11 July 2017
A really fun and productive workplace to work with a great work ethic and great bunch of people. With great benefits and flexible working hours. Enjoyable place to work .
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
One on one with managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  London5 July 2017
Excellent company to work for with professional individuals across the board. I have worked with B&V across several projects across many sites and no matter who the team is it always maintains the same standards.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very corporate company
Estimating Tech & Procurement & Sourcing Rep (Current Employee) –  Redhill6 April 2017
Seem to have a tick the box and all will be fine attitude. Procedures are very onerous and constantly changing. No real social side apart from the obligatory table tennis (gathering dust) in the kitchen.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
Travel and lack of assistance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the job
plumbers mate (Former Employee) –  Whittington, Derbyshire19 January 2017
On a typical day i had to check the slurries for any blockages and check water depth.

I learnt how a sewage plant works and what is involved in the removal of waste.

The management team were fair and easy to get along with as were my colleagues.

The hardest part of the job was having to adjust to the smell day in and day out.

I really enjoyed being able to work outside and working as part of a vast company.
Pros
Good set hours and pay, felt like part of a team
Cons
The smell of the job was hard to adjust to.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hit and Miss
Document Controller (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire13 January 2017
Black & Veatch promised a lot but never delivered. Not a company i would recommend if you're looking for a job for life, poor people management skills. Working for BV in Scotland was very enjoyable the site team was fantastic but a one off experience
Pros
Salary
Cons
Poor people managament
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant Enviornment
Junior Analyst Developer (Former Employee) –  Redhill9 August 2016
Learned new things and time management.
Co- workers are very friendly and nice.
Not good place for IT people who expect to grow in their career.
There is not much team - bonding activities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work company
Slinger signaller/Ground worker (Former Employee) –  Hull4 May 2016
Management and workers a like are thorough, professional and a pleasure to work alongside.
Working at the kingswood flood defense scheme in Hull heavy lifting in to place of the Archimedes screws to prevent flooding.
Pros
proffessional outlooks and work.
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Health and safety manager
Freelance Health & Safety Manager (Former Employee) –  north wales27 October 2015
Excellent company, great atmosphere but a very good can do attitude, great resources and good management system in place
Pros
good rate of pay
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Black & Veatch
Personal Assistant to MD & Commercial Director (Former Employee) –  Redhill24 March 2015
Great varied role where I learnt a lot about health & safety within the construction industry. Whilst a pressured environment to be in the people were really friendly and lovely.

Preparing agenda, minute taking and circulating monthly board packs had it challenges.
Pros
Great working environment
Cons
None that I care to mention
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Challenging Enough
Purchase Ledger Clerk (Former Employee) –  Redhill, ENG18 January 2014
I did not work here for long as I was working for Gleeson Construction but the company was sold to Black & Veach. This job did not challenge me enough. I only dealt with the daily payments of suppliers & reconciled statements against the ledger. I did not feel that I could talk to the management.
Cons
There was no parking & had to pay daily the the local car park
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Organisation
Project Accountant (Current Employee) –  Redhill16 January 2014
Busy, hard working days. Many experiences. engaging staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
handymean (Former Employee) –  twickenham2 January 2014
Working on contract to Thames Water
Minor building repairs, Maintenance and decorating
Repairing furniture and other items
Cleaning offices, plant rooms and outdoor areas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Document Controller (Former Employee) –  Reading, ENG10 December 2013
There was a casual but committed atmosphere which made working there a good experience. I voluntarily put in long hours as and when necessary because I was a member of the team. Co-workers were by and large friendly and hard-working. The difficulties lay in the management approach to the current recession. They opted to release experienced workers with a view to rehiring in a better market. This had a domino effect with other key workers deciding to move on before the wave hit them.
Pros
Good atmosphere
Cons
Lack of security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive good facilities
Ganger (Former Employee) –  ENG26 November 2013
organised work culture.
pleasant work environment.
good team of men to work with.
Pros
good training regime
Cons
working away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work place and friendly colleges
Document Controller (Current Employee) –  Reading, ENG7 October 2013
Daily I check my emails and the inbox where all the work is to work on. My day as Document Controller is to work from the oldest date requests. I have to save drawings and documentation to our filing system (Cygnet) and issue to our client. Most of the drawings we receive from Sub-contractors I have to receipt, record and issue to the project teams so that the design team are aware of changes and changes to make an issue back for correction.
I enjoyable part of my job is that it is varied and always learning and willing to learn more.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary
My role as a pipefitter (Former Employee) –  durham25 September 2013
my typical day at work was as supervisor off pipe section and laying pipes and fitting pipes also driving heavy plant on a daily basis I learned team work is the main aspect of the job but can also work alone
Pros
job near home
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company to work for
Subcontract Clerk (Current Employee) –  Redhill in Surrey24 July 2013
allows the employees to progress, ie study scopes and promotions
Pros
very flexible and work and family life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked for contracted to work for Anglia waters
Voluntary Quantity Surveyor (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ENG5 June 2013
Delivering AMP5 projects for Anglian Water as part of @One Alliance based in Peterborough. I worked as an Assistant Quantity Surveyor looking after 47 Water Non-Infrastructure projects totalling more than £20million in a robust and challenging environment. Projects included refurbishment, general maintenance, new build and Reservoir draw-downs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Black & Veatch. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 348 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5

Black & Veatch Reviews by Location