Barratt Developments PLC Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
On Site Sales Negotiator (Former Employee) –  Hampshire and Dorset13 November 2017
A large national builder who a variety of homes over a wide price range. Offered an opportunity of selling many different types of property to a broad range of customers
Pros
Pleasant working environment
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Workplace
Shadowed a sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Royal Tunbridge Wells8 November 2017
All staff are friendly and helpful, I felt very comfortable working in such an environment. Good facility's, up to date tech to make work easy as ever.
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and freindly place
Assisted with administration tasks (Former Employee) –  London13 October 2017
i was only there to gain work experience therefore i have not earned any money, however i was given free meal and snacks that was nice.The hours were reasonable and it was easy environment to work even though it was the first time i have worked anywhere. i have learned that team work was very essential when it came to doing the job. The management was brilliant they were ahead of schedule. The hardest part about the job was there were no people of my age group so i had to socialise with older people which proved to be a challenge but good. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing how the the building was been build and going to the highest floor and seeing everything that is down-it had a great view
Pros
free food and dring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Apprenticeship (Former Employee) –  Gloucester, Gloucestershire10 October 2017
Learned and progressed thoroughly, enjoyed learning and working along side a good team. The sites are well organised and a pleasure to work on and be a part of.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good team environment
Personal Assistant (Current Employee) –  Aldgate2 October 2017
Working within the Land & Development department, it has potential to be a great department to work in but as one of two Personal Assistants in the department we are missing an Office Manager, Full time HR Co-ordinator, Facilities Manager and Receptionist so I spend a large part of my working day dealing with other roles which are not part of my job description and also not appreciated by my manager.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treated different depending on the department you are in.
Accounts (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside12 September 2017
Little experience on how to manage staff and there personal situations.
Treated different depending on which department you work in.
Seem to care only about the profit and not the wellbeing of their employees.
Very poor staff morale in certain departments.
This was not always the case,early years very happy place to work. Management knew work life balances employees felt valued.
New management need to be trained as their inexperience and lack of knowledge has put pressure on their department.
Pros
Share save scheme
Cons
Undervalued as an employee
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging
Handyman/Maintenance (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London10 September 2017
Normally I get my jobs on my email agenda with the apoimants from my superiors from there which i have to attend mostly are repair and defects or inspection which has to be made, I learn loot especially how to work with the customers, management it depends from on place to another the hardest part of this job is dealing with tough customer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Site Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Battersea, Greater London1 August 2017
Good company. Good work ethic. Plenty of overtime for all workers. Only reason leaving is contract on site has run out and therefore no more work meaning another job is required to look for.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company
/acting Manager (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton7 June 2017
A good company to work for with superb training and career prospects. They have many loyal staff which shows they are a good firm. They are a family based company with great understanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company
Concierge (Current Employee) –  London18 May 2017
The site where I work has below average salary, but work conditions are fairly good. 12hrs a day, 4 on 4 off work-long hours, but pretty good if you want to get away for a few days only without wasting annual leave.
Pros
Pretty secure job
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere
Self Employed (Former Employee) –  Corby, Northamptonshire14 May 2017
Not a bad place to work, strict on health and safety but it's essential when working on building sites, anything you need with regards to health and safety is provided. Good working atmosphere and facilities.
Pros
Good working hours
Cons
Dusty environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and always busy
Part time Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol3 May 2017
There's always something to do! Which I love. A busy and fast paced environment. A big and enjoyable team to work alongside. Great first job, product knowledge and training days we always good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent pay and benefits
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Southampton, UK28 March 2017
Savage company to work for but benefits are very good to compensate the high stress levels. Products are over priced. Sales targets are very high and not realistic to the market. Too much work is put on the advisor which is not and/or should not be their responsibility. Such as gardening, watering plants, litter picking and snagging properties for completion and handover but given no formal training. Properties signed off by directors that should not be signed off. You are most definitely a number and are reminded of that continuously. You will be told straight, it might not be very nice but at least you always know where you stand. Prepare for an absolute savage roasting. Firm but fair for the most part but really big blame culture here, which naturally filters down to the lowest ranking employee, the sales advisors. For such a big company they are not very organised at all but when they get round to training it is good but unfortunately mostly online.
Pros
Excellent salary
Cons
Profit before people
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work mates
Bricklayer (Current Employee) –  Morpeth, Northumberland16 January 2017
Easy going and not a bad company to work for good lads good hours not to bad pay it am just looking to get some more out of work and feel like I have getting far as I can now
Pros
Good working experience
Cons
Runing out of materials so cant work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Assistant Site Manager (Current Employee) –  Glasgow9 December 2016
Excellent company and everyone worked well as a team to make sure the client got the best care and attention before and after the received their keys to their home.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Pressure on lead up to hand overs
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company fun to work for
Construction Labourer (Former Employee) –  Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire22 November 2016
my typical day at barratts would consist of making sure all tradesmen would have the correct materials and enough materials to keep them going thoughout the day. i was also responsible for keeping the site clean and tidy. and making sure all waste materials went into the correct skips.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forest has brushwood
Labourer.walfare,handy man (Former Employee) –  London31 October 2016
work program imposed mandaTory long without days off,70 80hours per week,Saturday and sanday until 6 p.m paid as during the week except sunday
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An intense work schedule
Fork Lift Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  London21 October 2016
Good company and had the pleasure to work with some great colleges in office. Gained great experience in house building. Would recommend them to any trade.
Pros
Good money
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Bricklayer (Former Employee) –  London17 October 2016
I learnt so many things at barratts. Literally everything involved in bricklaying. The management team were mixed depending on what site i was on. Co workers were also mixed as in barratts they send you out to different bricklaying companys so sometimes i felt un welcome. I throughally enjoyed the job but the hardest was in winter. The cold got to everyone. Most enjoyable was defientely some of the people i met. Friends for life. Helped me so much on site.
Pros
Paid train fares
Cons
Outside
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Handyman (Current Employee) –  London29 June 2016
It is a good company to work for but the management on site is changing very often which creates uncertainty and more pressure than necessary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Barratt Developments PLC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 57 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.4

Barratt Developments PLC Reviews by Location