Bannatyne's Health Clubs Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor management
Cafe Bar Assistant (Former Employee) –  York, North Yorkshire15 November 2017
No coordination between managers
I wanted a job for a considerable time scale and lasted 5 months. First month I wasn’t paid. Second month had to put in a formal grievance. In the 5 months I was there, there were 4 grievances and a shocking staff turn over.
Staff are over worked and not looked after. Manager never learns from his mistakes. Everything goes round in circles
Pros
You stop caring about your job fast and don’t feel bad about it
Cons
No breaks. Low wage. Asked to work 7 days a week bcos they don’t hire enough staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
second home
Domestic Assistant (Former Employee) –  York, North Yorkshire11 November 2017
This company was good to work for, regional (NE) highliting CM as my regional manager,,,,,, what a guy,,,,,,amazing , who seriously needs promoting.
Job was hard work but rewarded with satisfaction.
I learned about COSHH and many more.
Exciting new foods available from re-furbished restaurant at staff prices.
Pros
free gym
Cons
early mornings
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Domestic Assistant (Former Employee) –  Barnsley, South Yorkshire7 November 2017
I worked here and it was nothing short of awful. You would put a lot of work in and get nothing back in return. No thanks, no pay rise, absolutely nothing. No chance of progression and the days are very long on poor pay.

Management only look out for themselves allocating the best shifts to them and you would often get talked down on the job by the fitness manager and the general manager.

I would not reccommend working here at all.
Pros
Free gym membership
Cons
Poor pay, bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful
luton (Former Employee) –  domestic23 October 2017
Do not apply luton place awful low pay disorganised very clicky and management are joke amaterish avoid like plague get no thanks slave labour no incentives treated total disregard has high turover staff sums that up
Pros
awful
Cons
lousy set up
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst mistake of my life
Front of House Staff (Former Employee) –  Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk12 October 2017
Management or abusive and neglectful health and safety is completely ridiculous you only get half an hour breaks and you never have a social life and Behind-the-scenes is Awful
Pros
Free gym
Cons
Leaving at home time
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Club to work for
Spa Therapist (Former Employee) –  Barnsley, South Yorkshire5 September 2017
Excellent, loved working there, yes the weekend work is frequent but when would i book for a spa day? Its to be expected. Lots of massage but a good crack and the management is fair to everyone.

Only left due to relocation
Pros
Gym membership and good manager
Cons
weekend work but expected
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company
Ex pt/fitness advisor (Former Employee) –  Wakefield, West Yorkshire25 August 2017
No disrespect to the domestics but we pay all this money to become qualified and we get the same pay as them. Commission is a joke, nothing gets fixed the members aren't listened to the whole set up is a complete joke.
Pros
Get to focus completly on cleaning yeh
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking mangement members nice thats it
Cafe Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London8 June 2017
Min wage no social life shifts to suit managers eg put u on weekends bank hols etc . Clicky atmosphere. Hard work no thanks ring u on your day off to cover all staff tired
Pros
Free gym
Cons
Long days shifts no thanks
Was this review helpful?Yes 42No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better for out of school kids or avoid like plague.
Domestic (Former Employee) –  East Sussex28 April 2017
Great job if you have no life and If you don't mind so called Rota's being changed so much that you can't plan anything.

Pay is minimum with no overtime available. Don't expect to put something in and get anything in return it won't happen, would avoid this company like the plague, they don't want to spend to improve or repair it's a bodge job or nothing.
Pros
Free gym
Cons
Poor company
Was this review helpful?Yes 40NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place for an honest PT
Fitness Instructor/Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh29 March 2017
Worked for as a fitness advisor/PT for a couple years and although my team was amazing (bat when it came to the daily tasks for some). The company is awful to work for.

They charge competitive PT rates to clients and the PT doing the actual work sees pennies of it. The amount of work you are expected to do for minimum wage it shocking. At what point with all the cleaning, admin, inductions and classes are you actually meant to be doing your TRAINED FITNESS job on the gym floor!

I spent more of my time at reception sorting appointment problems and in the plant rooms sorting poll/ spa problems as well as admin tasks. Hardly did the job I signed up for at all.
Pros
Free gym memberships
Cons
Typically doing to any actually fitness work
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Position needs more thought.
Maintenance Operative (Former Employee) –  Kent14 March 2017
No career progression.

Have to use own vehicle to cover a large area with minimal fuel expense covered.

Continuous issues with pay.

Unprofessional department managers.

No communication between clubs or managers.

Travel time not included in the day. If your working 2 hours from home you'll do a 12hour day and be paid for 8.

Your expected to know and be able to do every job and have numerous qualifications and experience but be paid the bare minimum.

Free gym membership but due to long days your unlikely to use unless you have no life or family.

Having pointed out the bad parts it isn't a bad place to work. The majority of staff and some managers are really down to earth and have been a pleasure to work for. It's a shame the job isn't planned out better, with some thought it could be better than my personal experience.
Pros
Free gym memebership
Was this review helpful?Yes 43No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Domestic Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Manchester7 February 2017
It's a tipycal day that you are at work, where all staff people are English, and they are help you to improve your English language and you can learn the tipycal things about their culture.
The hardes part of the job, it's when you need to clean all the gym, but the little things that you need to clean but you can because it's difficult with a lot of people.
Pros
You have half an hour break and you have 2 days off.
Cons
It's 8 hours and a half all days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 31Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated 10 years to be unfair dismissal
Manager (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, Cumbria28 January 2017
As stated above not child single mum friendly
Bullying culture unprofessional behaviour lack of procedures followed by management
Shame as previous years managment excellent productive
Cons
All take little back in return
Was this review helpful?Yes 47NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful awful awful
Spa therapist (Former Employee) –  Barnsley, South Yorkshire24 January 2017
Terrible environment to work in. All for taking from you but will never give anything back. Would seriously reconsider applying to work here
Pros
Free gym membership
Was this review helpful?Yes 64No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team work
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Durham, Durham7 January 2017
Though short shift tough work but team work brings you through it greatly. Customer feed back for our work made it all worth it team welcome you and work together
Pros
Team work
Cons
Tough work in short time
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
looking for 40 hours contact
Cafe Assistant (Current Employee) –  Redland, SCT11 January 2016
Been with the compnay for 4 years and been asking for a stepping stone in my work to go higher with the company, i believe i'm a great worker.
They cant offer me 40 hours only 32 hours, However just moved and need to look to be able to pay for bills etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 41Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bannatyne's Health Clubs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.4
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.1
Salary/Benefits
2.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.4
Management
2.1
Culture
2.1

Bannatyne's Health Clubs Reviews by Location