BABCOCK Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Forklift Driver/Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire4 November 2017
It is a good place to work
Managers are good
I know what I have to do in my job
I am asked to do my job clear so I can carry out my duties
The team I work with are very helpful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal muy amigable y atento a la hora de enseñar a nuevos empleados
mecanico de mantenimiento (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen4 October 2017
Todos los trabajadores de la empresa que he conocido se prestaban rápidamente a explicar todas las dudas que surgiesen tan rápido como se lo permitiesen sus ocupaciones. El ritmo de trabajo es muy asequible sin llegar a ser opresivo.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depending where you work will depend how you are treated
Trainer (Current Employee) –  Wiltshire4 September 2017
Depending where you work will depend how you are treated.

Sometimes the leadership is confused

Military culture doesn't suit everyone

Snr management all from high ranking military positions

A little monotonous
Pros
Good people at lower levels
Cons
Poor leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hold those hand rails
Aviation (Current Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol23 June 2017
The place is health and safety maad. They are a very sensitive company and tipedey toe around all subjects that may offend even a blade of grass, seriously I've been on many training days involving actors giving scenarios of do's and don'ts.

Plenty overtime, shift work annoying, changing shifts without notice, holiday entitlement good but never time to take it. Culture of pompous arrogance from senior hierarchy, but I don't care I'm just a playaa getting paid.
Pros
Tough one! Think i'd have to say The Best Of The Beatles
Cons
Parking does my nut in, get blocked in all the time and ended up being late for my 6 oclock nap, naps are important!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Plymouth21 January 2017
Good company to work for, they give fair wages and leave and conditions and are good to reservists who need extra leave.

Start early but finish early approximately 37 hours a week with as much overtime as you want generally.
Pros
Leave entitlement
Cons
large organisation
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgusting company
Assistant Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  York12 January 2017
I am not allowed to say. That may give an indication of the culture that prevails. Employees do not matter. Truth, integrity and honesty are forbidden words.
Pros
35 hour week
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good all round company to work for.
Control Room Operator (Current Employee) –  Heathrow, Greater London11 January 2017
A company that inspires a productive team work to get the job done. with plenty of opportunities.
They give good customer service along with looking after staff members & are mindful of the saying.....
Home safe every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place To Work
Training Delivery Instructor (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire9 December 2016
Easy place to work with a good working relationship between management and staff. Very rewarding instructing and training young engineers.
Pros
Free Gym
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Accountant (Current Employee) –  Leicester10 November 2016
Training focused
Customer Serviced Focus
Good management
Good progression routes
Variable locations
Team spirit
Can be difficult to get work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the job for a young person to have a career with.
Electrical engineer (Former Employee) –  Wittering11 October 2016
Was a great starting job for my experience to build in multiple sectors. I did not enjoy the work though as productivity in a day was very low. I volunteered for redundancy.
Pros
I managed to build my skills and qualifications very high.
Cons
Boring.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant Project Manager
Assistant Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Bristol7 October 2016
Operational responsibility
Project Delivery
Performance Management
Stakeholder Engagement

APMP course
Financial and business acumen.
Pros
Flexi Time
Cons
Career Development
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good
Painter and Decorator (Former Employee) –  Bicester12 June 2016
Regular daily targets achieved and successfully completed to standards monitored by management. Completed highly skilled projects that other operative had problems with to required standards.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working envorment
Facility supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lyneham25 March 2016
good working, always will to train their staff,very good at communicating with their employee's, they run a good pension and share scheme
Pros
shares in the compnay
Cons
can be long hours at times
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the career choice but not the unrealistic targets expected of me.
Vocational learning adviser (Former Employee) –  Kent18 March 2016
Although I enjoyed the job itself, the thing that let the job down was the pressures to meet unrealistic targets, which left me feeling a failure at my job. The support and guidance was not there when it was needed and led to me becoming unwell. In the nine months I worked here I learned how to assess the diploma's, how to make up lesson plans for the diploma's and functional skills. I invigilated the tests for the functional skills. I managed my own diary using outlook, communicated by phone, email and face to face with carers and their managers within the profession and also within the company. The hardest part of the job was to keep up with the targets of the company to sign up new learners, complete them within the course timescale and book in the learners within the four to six weeks allowed with a large database of learners.
Pros
Well paid
Cons
Unrealistic targets
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as they seem
administration (Former Employee) –  UK18 December 2015
Accounts office/HR function now relocating to Portsmouth....17 months after moving from Nottingham to Birmingham. In total will be re-located 6 times!! Management don't care and are happy to make people redundant after asking to seriously consider re-locating to Portsmouth. What happens next year when they feel like moving again. Have made sure you can TUPE over at lower salary than those will be employed at. In general house prices lower in the Midlands so will be out of pocket again.

Most of the senior Managers are located in Portsmouth and surrounding areas so seems to be over indulging to make sure it's all moved to them with no real reason other than that. Management are not giving any real information to the staff so people are finding jobs and now leaving so great talent being allowed to go due to no real information being given. All very odd in how it's all been handled and reasons for moving not being given other than being told it is not a cost cutting action. New staff not yet in place and staff expected to work in terrible conditions with not knowing what is going on and no further information being given. A complete waste of shareholders money.

Take the job for what it is and don't expect any respect from Management as when it suits will uproot and move away at a moments notice.
Pros
Great people in your team, feeling of belonging
Cons
Management don't care, poor salary, unable to connect with staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent company to work for
Technician (Former Employee) –  Wakefield, ENG13 December 2015
Excellent company to work for, employed as maintenance engineer technician ,a leader with regards to health and safety training and specific skills training of its employees.
Excellent management at all levels ,always approachable and ready to help.
Fellow co-workers always a pleasure to work with everyone got on well together.
Never found the need to struggle.
Was always a pleasure to go to work as my attendance record would show.
Pros
good training and salary
Cons
contract work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall opinion
HR Administrator (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, ENG25 November 2015
I am unable to comment on Babcock as a whole as I worked in a division of the company. I found the team to be unfriendly, unwelcoming and my line manager to be indifferent. All in all, not a great experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  rosyth21 October 2015
sometimes a long day but was good when you had a steady job.
learned to braise.
management could be better.
co workers were all good to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Technical Training Instructor (Former Employee) –  Reading28 August 2015
Babcock has it's priorities centred on shareholders and profitability.
Safety concerns for the welfare of the employee are high.
Promotional prospects are limited and when opportunities arise one must check all the small print as they like to rewrite terms and conditions.
Pros
Steady work -
Cons
No prospects
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technical
Avionic Fitter (Former Employee) –  Suffolk3 August 2015
A typical day involve electrical fitter roles. A lot of team work is required. The roles are very technical and require a lot of attention and focus.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BABCOCK. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 96 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5

BABCOCK Reviews by Location