BMW Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganised
Staff Member (Former Employee) –  Hailsham, East Sussex19 February 2018
No communication between departments, no support from managers and a very unpleasant, negative environment to work in.
It is also very frowned upon to take your full lunch break so best eat quick! Also you wont get any recognition for good work or staying after hours etc.
Pros
Product is excellent (BMW)
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Less surportive than expected
HR Administrator (Former Employee) –  Scales15 February 2018
Busy, was not offered an op[portunity to learn unlike others. Management not supportive and . Work culture discriminatory, lots of cliques closed to those they don't consider as same. Hardest part of the job was getting support as a new comer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met some good people
Maintenance Technician at Fairfield (Former Employee) –  Leigh-on-Sea12 February 2018
Work was varied and not predictable. Enjoyed working with a number of good people and learnt new things in the course of most days. I particularly enjoyed contact with customers who always seemed appreciative of courtesy and service shown to them.
Pros
Company uniform provided
Cons
As is often the case job stability seems very dependent on company turnover.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall not the worst place to work
Car Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Doncaster, South Yorkshire22 January 2018
Management far from great but most sales staff lovely. Fast paced environment where people can be quick to through you under a bus dog eat dog world in the car industry
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interesting
Vehicle Technician (Former Employee) –  Bristol21 December 2017
Spent a week work experience at this company and was very interested throughout my time there. Wish I could do more work experience like this in the future.
Pros
Nice cars
Cons
Loads of standing up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Tunbridge Wells, Kent19 December 2017
I enjoyed working alongside a large team of service and sales advisors. a typical day at work was busy but incredibly rewarding. i learnt how to remain professional in any situation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Flyer disputer (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London3 December 2017
I really enjoyed working there and such lovely staff to work with. I wish I could of stayed but I had other obligations so I had sadly leave BMW :(.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Wet weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace, just not correct job for me
Retention Consultant (Current Employee) –  Stevenage, Hertfordshire27 November 2017
My time at Specialist Cars BMW has been brilliant. Great facilities and the people are very bubbly and friendly. I have been on multiple training courses which has helped me become better at my role. The hardest part of the job was cold calling customers.
Pros
Drive BMW's, collegues are great
Cons
Long hours, weekends always busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast moving but repetitive.
Vehicle checker/loader (Former Employee) –  Oxford27 November 2017
Planning loading of train wagons for export vehicles. Liaising with production personnel. Loading and securing vehicles, reporting any faults on vehicles. Assisting with export paperwork.
Pros
Pleasant work colleagues
Cons
Poor facilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bmw
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Canary Wharf, Greater London27 October 2017
A very organised and enjoyable place to work, very good team work and assistance. good hours(shifts) to work plus a good commission. I wouldn't be more pleased to have worked for this amazing company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didnt like the way they treat you
Production line Operative (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire10 October 2017
Working for BMW is like being a slave you have to keep things to yourself otherwise the staff just make fun out of the situation which can be very inconsiderate at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Test Driver (Current Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire10 October 2017
The only thing bmw cares about is numbers, you aren't a person to them only a number. Shifts eat into personal life until you cease to have one. Working there was my main cause of my depression.
Pros
High paying
Cons
Bad shifts, poor management, staff treated badly
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok to work for
Domestic Engineer (Former Employee) –  Leicester3 October 2017
had a few problems in this place as i was pregerent and i found it hard to do a few of the jobs that i needed to but management would not work with me
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Character Building
Car Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  Colne14 September 2017
BMW employed me during summer whilst I was on break from University.
The management were considerate and my colleagues showed me all aspects of working for BMW

I was lucky to work for such a prestigious company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work enviroment
Manufacturing Engineer (Former Employee) –  Sunderland6 September 2017
Face paced production line. learnt how to operate a number of machines. a lot of work to be done. machines break a lot of the time so a lot of waitng about for machine repairs. management don't want to know anything. if you hit your targets and go the extra mile there is no thanks at all. if u miss the targets they will force ya out of the company.
Pros
discount on car
Cons
to many.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking place to work
Valeter/Driver (Former Employee) –  Crewe, Cheshire5 September 2017
Worked here for 6 months, as a agency worker.

Staff were treated like dirt
Wages were minimum wage!
Benifits were non existent and staff were expected to work overtime for nothing
Pros
Non
Cons
Long hours low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company to work for!
RRNM (Current Employee) –  Chichester, West Sussex21 August 2017
You are number one to the company! Great holiday entitlement, company car scheme and also great family and health benefits. you will not want another job!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Assembly Operative (Former Employee) –  Redditch, Worcestershire21 August 2017
turn up early for daily meeting then off to my station to continue my daily duties on the assembly line staggered breaks over 12 hour shifts week ends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for.
Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire20 August 2017
Working for North Oxford BMW is an great experience.
I am very proud to be able to represent such an amazing brand.
It is a very busy and vibrant environment to work for.
It is very challenging and rewarding. I do enjoy interaction with customers and other members of staff.
During my time in North Oxford BMW I have improved my customer service skills. I have also gained a knowledge about the product and the operation of BMW dealership.
Pros
Great brand and product
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and sociable workplace
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Enfield, Greater London18 August 2017
My position in this job was a 'casual receptionist'. Whilst I worked at the company I felt I built up healthy relationships with employees and got to know my role fairly easily. The only issue for me was lack of hours.
Pros
Fun workplace
Cons
Lack of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BMW. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,716 reviews
5716
4515
3321
295
169

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture