BMW Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace, just not correct job for me
Retention Consultant (Current Employee) –  Stevenage, Hertfordshire27 November 2017
My time at Specialist Cars BMW has been brilliant. Great facilities and the people are very bubbly and friendly. I have been on multiple training courses which has helped me become better at my role. The hardest part of the job was cold calling customers.
Pros
Drive BMW's, collegues are great
Cons
Long hours, weekends always busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast moving but repetitive.
Vehicle checker/loader (Former Employee) –  Oxford27 November 2017
Planning loading of train wagons for export vehicles. Liaising with production personnel. Loading and securing vehicles, reporting any faults on vehicles. Assisting with export paperwork.
Pros
Pleasant work colleagues
Cons
Poor facilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bmw
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Canary Wharf, Greater London27 October 2017
A very organised and enjoyable place to work, very good team work and assistance. good hours(shifts) to work plus a good commission. I wouldn't be more pleased to have worked for this amazing company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didnt like the way they treat you
Production line Operative (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire10 October 2017
Working for BMW is like being a slave you have to keep things to yourself otherwise the staff just make fun out of the situation which can be very inconsiderate at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Test Driver (Current Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire10 October 2017
The only thing bmw cares about is numbers, you aren't a person to them only a number. Shifts eat into personal life until you cease to have one. Working there was my main cause of my depression.
Pros
High paying
Cons
Bad shifts, poor management, staff treated badly
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok to work for
Domestic Engineer (Former Employee) –  Leicester3 October 2017
had a few problems in this place as i was pregerent and i found it hard to do a few of the jobs that i needed to but management would not work with me
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Character Building
Car Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  Colne14 September 2017
BMW employed me during summer whilst I was on break from University.
The management were considerate and my colleagues showed me all aspects of working for BMW

I was lucky to work for such a prestigious company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work enviroment
Manufacturing Engineer (Former Employee) –  Sunderland6 September 2017
Face paced production line. learnt how to operate a number of machines. a lot of work to be done. machines break a lot of the time so a lot of waitng about for machine repairs. management don't want to know anything. if you hit your targets and go the extra mile there is no thanks at all. if u miss the targets they will force ya out of the company.
Pros
discount on car
Cons
to many.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking place to work
Valeter/Driver (Former Employee) –  Crewe, Cheshire5 September 2017
Worked here for 6 months, as a agency worker.

Staff were treated like dirt
Wages were minimum wage!
Benifits were non existent and staff were expected to work overtime for nothing
Pros
Non
Cons
Long hours low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company to work for!
RRNM (Current Employee) –  Chichester, West Sussex21 August 2017
You are number one to the company! Great holiday entitlement, company car scheme and also great family and health benefits. you will not want another job!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Assembly Operative (Former Employee) –  Redditch, Worcestershire21 August 2017
turn up early for daily meeting then off to my station to continue my daily duties on the assembly line staggered breaks over 12 hour shifts week ends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for.
Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire20 August 2017
Working for North Oxford BMW is an great experience.
I am very proud to be able to represent such an amazing brand.
It is a very busy and vibrant environment to work for.
It is very challenging and rewarding. I do enjoy interaction with customers and other members of staff.
During my time in North Oxford BMW I have improved my customer service skills. I have also gained a knowledge about the product and the operation of BMW dealership.
Pros
Great brand and product
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and sociable workplace
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Enfield, Greater London18 August 2017
My position in this job was a 'casual receptionist'. Whilst I worked at the company I felt I built up healthy relationships with employees and got to know my role fairly easily. The only issue for me was lack of hours.
Pros
Fun workplace
Cons
Lack of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing training
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Boston, Lincolnshire18 August 2017
Working for such company you always training to keep up to date and always learning new stuff. Everyday is similar but always different. BMW's computer systems are one of the best.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very focused on high customer standards
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Bolton, Greater Manchester12 August 2017
This is a family run business and has a real passion for customer service, I enjoy working here as I have built my knowledge though the years, I do feel that the management support you with work issues and personal, as long as you do your job I'm left to manage my own work load,
Pros
Long service awards, Pension, child care voucher scheme
Cons
high standards
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun productive
Line Associate (Former Employee) –  Oxford10 August 2017
awesome place to work
the agency GI not such a good company to work under as they world lay you off after 3 or 8 months and you have to keep an eye on your hour as it seemed they took money out of your wages under paid in other words not correct.
BMW on the other hand nice company to work for.
Pros
lunch was good
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Test Driver for Mini (Former Employee) –  Oxfordshire10 August 2017
It was a good company to work for while i was there.I learned alot from my colleagues and supervisor.The only reason i left the company was that the was on temporary basis.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Parts Manager - Local Dealership
Parts Manager (Former Employee) –  Sunderland2 August 2017
Initailly a trainee coming from a Workshop Technician role in a differnt organisation, the role helped me to understand stock control and rotation, the various ordering systems and processes for internal, trade and public charging and invoicing requirements
Pros
Good management foundation for the motor trade
Cons
backward career step to move upwards
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production line
Production Operative (Former Employee) –  Swansea, Swansea28 July 2017
it was contracted to 6 months work and my contract has now ran out . It was shift work patterns . It was a very busy part of the factory and always on go which I prefer as time go better/
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable work
Car Valeter (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands11 July 2017
nice place to work keeps you busy all day nice environment and people around. good hours never had a problem here always something to do.Is good for those people who like to see different types of cars.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BMW. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,600 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8