B&M Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad people. Rubbish salary, They will underpay you.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Enfield, Greater London11 November 2017
Nice people among the company, this can sometimes include management. Minimum wage for all workers, rude customers only want everything sold for 10 pence. No progression. Underpaid significantly.
Pros
Some staff
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible, but had it's ups and downs
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  East Kilbride, South Lanarkshire6 November 2017
+ the staff make the job good.
+ Two 45 mins breaks
+ Can be fast paced at times
+ Learn how to deal with customers
+ Very easy job

- except to have your shift gave to you the day before.
- managers are hopeless and have their favs. They take 2-3hr long break at the same time.
- hours are too long, especially for weekend staff. Expect 11hr shifts, even on a Sunday - weekend staff only.
- overall stressful

My time at b&m was mixed. But I would not advise anyone to work there unless you had too.
Pros
Two 45 mins breaks on a 8hr shift.
Cons
Management and pay could be better, since
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad pay
Manager (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh1 November 2017
Horrible atmosphere never good enough. Underpaid and understaffed made to work long hours for no praise. You can never be good enough to be working here.
Pros
None
Cons
Loads
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Shop Floor Assistant/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Orpington1 November 2017
The work hours were fairly flexible for a weekend shift.
The day typically involved long hours standing behind tills or stocking shelves.
The hardest part of the job was the repetitiveness of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Picker (Current Employee) –  Middlewich, Cheshire1 November 2017
Good place to work but the transport there is the problem to me because I need to travel in total one hour daily to get there or sometimes take me longer
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager a Bully
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Shropshire27 October 2017
Well the store I work in has had several managers in 5 years the last one before the one it has now was a really b... breaker when he first come to the store but once settled he was sort of actually ok he totally changed the store working methods and culture and we all enjoyed most of the time there as we knew what was needed and most had learnt a lot from him and given responsibility and he never passed the blame if he had a bad visit from his bosses he took it on the chin. The new manager is new to the company where as the previous one I think he'd done 5 years or more. The new manager is way unfit to work in this store or B&M (if you know what I mean) as you have to be a work horse not a hippo, he blames everyone for mistakes he has caused due to poor management and no communication, try to change things before even know how they work, insults, lies and put EVERYONE down but behind their backs, the worse thing is he has assaulted staff but they don't feel it can be reported as the AM sucks up to him and HR what a joke they are. The girls are a little afraid of him too as bit creepy. He says he was only put in store to check the rumours of bullying going on but was employed weeks before he came to this store and only got it as manager left. B&M culture is work hard, little pay or be punished and treated like a slave, behind the times with systems plus still living in the dark ages. The new manager openly states he don't care about shop lifters as its not his stock but the staff go out of their way to prevent theft which is funny to watch sometimes.
Pros
nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Idiots work here
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Belfast, Westwood Retail Park, Northern Ireland.27 October 2017
B&M is a mediocre store run by mediocre people the vast majority belong on benefits.
Customer service varies from good and friendly to rude and zombie like communication from staff.
Pay is minimum wage and the staff are mostly under 25 to save on wage costs so there are many teenagers acting like zombies walking the store floor looking for fresh brains to eat cause they haven't got one off their own.
Pros
None
Cons
Working for B&M
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Floor Manager (Current Employee) –  Hayes, Greater London26 October 2017
Pay rate should go up . Good place to work nice and friendly people to work with. I enjoy my role as a Floor Manager and I'm looking forward to step up as a deputy manager in the following month
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked under paid
Sales Assistant / Replenishment (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Leeds24 October 2017
For the work that you put in it will never be enough, especially at the place were I worked.
Management look out for themselves and don't really care as long as they are looking good.
You get no benefit for working holidays.
I learned most of the stuff that I needed for the job by myself.
The shops tend to be dirty.
Pros
Over-time at Christmas
Cons
Minimum Wage, over worked, demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Liverpool23 October 2017
long hours and days and nights but the pay is good and the holiday benefits are great, some of the staff are great to get on with nut some of the management were too strict with meeting orders
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Warehouseman (Former Employee) –  Hyde22 October 2017
Staff were great to work with, everyone got on with each other and were very helpful to one another, management on the site were really friendly and easy to take to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best but job is a job
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Swindon, Wiltshire18 October 2017
Worked here for a short time I will no longer work for these again magement is horrible not friendly at all will be treated like rubbish somewhere down the line
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun
Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Widnes, Cheshire18 October 2017
I liked my time there as i was able to learn loads of new things and improve my skills in talking to customers and talking to staff members when i was stuck i was givin roles to complete on my own
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some real positives, but also opportunities to learn
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  East Anglia16 October 2017
No day is the same with B&M. There are times you can feel great job satisfaction . There are also times that you don’t..
best part of the job is the autonomy that the company gives you. Freedom to chase after the product a create great sales. If you’re an operations manager then this is the job for you. If your more a people style manager then this really isn’t a great place to work. They still haven’t grasped the concept of staff emotional loyalty. The hours can be long, but that’s down to your planning and productivity. The company can bombard you with activities to complete with a certain time frame, which obviously put pressure on you and the team. Their not great with the middle management either, there’s no real development training in leadership. I’ve noticed that it can be a FACE FITS environment which can mean under qualified managers running the store. Because B&M is very operational and all about making £££ there never seems to be time or tools to spend training staff. The company can put pressure on the team and expect real high standards at all times. We do however have total freedom to showcase our product how we like no micro management and that sounds fantastic, but some general assistants have no idea and aren’t retailers so you feel like your either spoon feeding them or fixing issues they create. at time it’s more of a hindrance than help. Distribution can be a real problem. As deliveries can show up when they like with completely different scheduled loads. Real criticism would be salaries from general assistants all the way up to management. I know Not
  more... everyone is driven by money but to have a real competitive edge on other companies they need to consider what they pay. The pay does limit the caliber of staff they recruit or who even applies. There are some great managers and staff who work for B&M who put an awful amount of effort in. I’m not convinced the pay reflects this. Rewards and recognition isn’t always great and changes from store to store. Communication has improved and you can see the company has invested money to improve this but this still has a way to go. Overall yes you will work hard. Yes there will be times of frustration but if you enjoy running your own shop and having total autonomy then this is the place for you  less
Pros
Real autonomy to run the shop
Cons
Pay isn’t great, not really a people focused business
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting summary
Checkout Operator (Former Employee) –  Ipswich12 October 2017
I would say that My experience of working for B&M is not unlike anyone elses. a typical day would involve clocking in, doing your work and leaving. simple
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Till Assistant/ shop floor (Former Employee) –  Hunslet9 October 2017
Horrible place to work management are rude, don't care about your rights as a member of staff, horrible place to work do not care what the store looks like and just does not care where stuff go. Management put you down on your work even though you work your but of for the store, not appreciated at all.
Pros
Gaining friends
Cons
Rude management, unhelpful managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok but
Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester9 October 2017
The only problem is week bu week rota so you can never plan ahead and the work you very hard never get xmaz bonus and tou work boxing day and new years day
Pros
Hours of work
Cons
Never know what day you have off next week
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
store assistant
Customer service adviser (Former Employee) –  Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire9 October 2017
my role at B&M was to help with stock controle weather that was in the warehouse or on the shop floor. assist customers on the shop floor and help clean down the store on an evening after the shop had closed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
retail assistant
retail assistant (Former Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire8 October 2017
a typical day at work was: stocking shelves, helping customers, pricing products.

I learnt a lot from this job which was: being more confident while speaking to customers, how to face up properly

management was there if I needed them at all they was always there to help with any questions

the most enjoyable part of the job was doing delivery making sure the stock was out correctly
Pros
you can have a laugh with team members
Cons
not enough hours to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Coventry, West Midlands6 October 2017
I did my school work experience at b&m. It was not the best as it was long hours with a short break and you are stood up for all of your shift. However it is not the worst job. It was easy enough and the people there are nice.
Pros
Long hours
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at B&M. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 513 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Salary/Benefits
2.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.8
Culture
2.9