Allied Bakeries Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place I've ever worked. HGV Class 2 driver
HGV Class 2 Driver (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, Lincolnshire2 January 2018
From the moment I walked in the door I was made to feel really welcome. Every single person I've met has been really friendly and helped me out. I got my job through the agency on a temp to Perm basis and I had only just passed my test. They sent me out with other drivers and on my own in a company car to review the route I was going to be taking on. There was no being thrown in at the deep end and every effort was made to look after me. I feel really lucky to have found such a nice place to work. The pay is good for the area and although the starts are early (2am for me) I am used to the hours as I was a Baker before this job. Full PPE is provided once you get taken on permanently and the vehicles are very well maintained by a brilliant VMU. Management are approachable and open to suggestions. My route used to start at 3am but I asked for an earlier window and was granted it as they realised it made sense. Didn't matter that I was a newbie driver they still listened.
If you get a chance to work here, take it.
Pros
Good pay, good managers, friendly environment, good hours, cheap bread.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All round poor company to work for
Driver (Former Employee) –  Tilbury, Essex12 December 2017
I worked for the milling side of this company as a class1 bulk tanker driver out of tilbury, disgusting people to work for, lying bullying managers, you have been warned, don't go there large turnover of drivers,
Pros
Pension
Cons
To many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great
Despatch Operative picking and packing (Current Employee) –  Walthamstow, Greater London5 December 2017
There's never enough staff. The pay is not bad £7.50 per hour.

The managerment team are friendly but they don't do anything to help when someone is getting bullied.

Members of staff are not nice, very horrible experience with some, but there are nice people there.

I liked working there but recently I hardly worked for 2weeks. they need staff yet there not calling anyone in.

There's more night shift people then theres day shift. It's sad
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Driver (Current Employee) –  Lincoln2 September 2017
Very nice place to work apart from the unsociable hours and so times lack of organisation
Overall not to bad of a place the managers are always approachable
Pros
Cheap bread
Cons
Unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here.
Bakery Operative (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent7 June 2017
Treated like rubbish. The management never stick to what they say. I would not recommend this job to anyone. I worked at the liverpool road site in newcastle under lyme. The good pay isnt worth what you have to put up with. If youve got 7 pairs of hands then this is the job for you as they want you doing everything at once. Dont get a thank you or anything when you work your socks off. Avoid this job at all costs. Shocking company.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 25NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All department
Customer service department (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands1 June 2017
When I worked at Allied bakeries I worked in nearly all departments from finance department to customer services. I improved my skills in all departments and I learned how important it is to work in a team to reach your targets
Pros
meet new people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work as it was shift work
Prodution (Former Employee) –  Stevenage, Hertfordshire16 May 2017
I enjoyed my time there I was a production operative an got promoted as a dough maker which ment I had to use the big mixers with correct ingredients in also it was a good team to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting company
Temp PA to MD and Sales Director (Former Employee) –  Maidenhead, UK15 May 2017
I worked for the MD and sales director at a time when the company was undergoing great changes. I found this a very interesting company and goals were constantly moving.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good for me
Packer/Picker (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff12 April 2017
Nothing I can mention that would shed positive light on this position
Learned - how bad my back was
Culture - not good
Hardest part - all of the heavy lifting
Enjoyable - very little.
Pros
None
Cons
Work / life balanbce
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Claustrophobic atmosphere with poor management
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Bootle5 April 2017
As a multi-million pound company, on the back of an umbrella company, it fathoms belief that the factory is of the same century as this one. The one shining feature, which unfortunately is exploited by management and head office, is the people. Of the ones who work their way up the ladder to management positions vs those who walk into the job from outside and graduate schemes, there is a notable difference. One manages to ensure the best of everything and supports their teams, the other sees an opportunity to progress and thus allows others to carry them onward. The sad truth is that there are many who obtain higher positions by exploiting their staff and reaping the rewards. In my time working with the company there was a distinct divide between those who worked in the offices and those who worked on the lines, with many of the HR staff completely clueless and lacking interpersonal skills beyond what was provided to them in the manual. Similarly the new managers which are on a fast track to a great salary, have no idea what they're doing, and noticeably so from an internal perspective. In my experience it was often the second in command, the deputies, who did most of the work and the shift managers who reaped the benefits. The idea instilled in all who work from the bottom is that there is recognition for hard labour, though unfortunately, beyond the words this is rarely proven and more often those in charge are sourced elsewhere. I saw many family men and women fighting for small opportunities after years in the company, only to be beaten by a post graduate with no experience  more... whatsoever. Managers from all departments will look out for each other, so it is wise to be wary of them and keep your head down. The divide between HR and line staff, ironically, is that the HR tend to look upon the line staff as lesser or with pity. Thus communication between the two can involve a lot of condescension and patronising. The occasional training meeting, a rare time when both sides meet, is a particularly interesting one for this kind of behaviour.  less
Pros
Union, better than average living wage, job security, 4 days holiday will amount to 12 as 4 on 4 off shift pattern.
Cons
life/work balance is poor, management is exploitative, poor development system in place, outdated facilities, hard going for sleeping patterns-as any other shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 21NoReport

Want to know more about Allied Bakeries?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just like working camp
Bakery Operative (Current Employee) –  Belfast, County Antrim23 March 2017
Terrible place to work !!!!people are only numbers treated like rubbish .company no following their own procedures just when it's sweets them.Alan Brown production manager treat people like rubbish just because hi think is better than everyone else. Terrible place to work. Not recommend to anyone
Pros
Nothing at all
Cons
No personal life
Was this review helpful?Yes 29NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work camp
Line worker (Former Employee) –  Belfast, UK21 March 2017
fast work, lifting heavy crates. Racist managment.
minimum wage, maximum expectations from worker. work there only if theres nothing better around....
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Bakery Assistant (Current Employee) –  Newcastle1 March 2017
This job have 12 hour shifts. Shift starts at 7 and ends at 7. Is a good place to work because people there are very friendly.
Pros
Break after every 2 hours
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work
aa (Former Employee) –  aa17 February 2017
job was ok but the managers are very clicky and dont follow their own rules but expect everyone else to. good hours and work is ok but they play games
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable work place
Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Chester, Cheshire9 January 2017
I had many good memories working for this employer, from working on my own to working as part of a team i enjoyed every moment.
Pros
Free Bread
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure Job If you dont want to progress further
Manufacturing Technician (Current Employee) –  West Bromwich, West Midlands25 November 2016
The job is secure and a good job if you are happy to stay in the same position and just plod along. if you want to progress its not so good. The hours are ok and the four days off is nice the salary is also good
Pros
4 on 4 off
Cons
no career progresion
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Place
Hygiene Operative (Former Employee) –  Stevenage13 November 2016
Poorly run factory so you better get out while you can. Managers have no clue what they are doing and workers are lazy. Worked plenty of jobs before but nothing is as bad as this place
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 32NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Territory Sales Manager
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Field Sales2 November 2016
Senior management offered no direction and we all did our own things hence we all were made redundant as there was no focus and no way of measuring results, if used effectively as a team we could have really made a difference. Promotion was never an option as Grads were the way forward apparently. Commercial decisions were made which were disasters but were always covered up by senior management. "Allied" a company with no direction.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bakery life
Mixing operator (Current Employee) –  Bredbury4 October 2016
fun place to work, good experience's to learn, something different everyday. Everyday is a challenge, nice to see good products going out the bakery to customers
Pros
long hours
Cons
good collagues to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Kitchen Environment
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ealing Broadway Station19 September 2016
I worked within a local café to ensure that delicious baguettes were made and customers were served in a friendly and approachable manner, and ensured that all areas of the shop were kept clean, tidy and hygienic. I wash up various pieces of equipment, cleared tables as required and, sterilised tables and chairs weekly, I replenished condiments, prepared a range of baguettes ensuring that all baguettes were prepared in accordance with the companies recipes and standards. I prepared all food in accordance to food hygiene regulations and ensured that ingredients were stored in accordance with use by dates. I enjoyed working with my co-workers whowere cheerful and always helpful
Pros
Having a regular job
Cons
Pay was very low
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Allied Bakeries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 72 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.8
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.7
Culture
2.8